Subaru Impreza 1.6i - Tips to Increase FC

Gim_ong

ha ha ha...bro...you say it liao...ang mo drive from sg to genting....but you driving in sg stop and start traffic leh.... [;)]

Actually ,

I found that I have enough speed to enter gear leh

Do not have much PINGing from the Gear and Engine.

when I do that.

Any old bird and Grand master can advice?

Gimmy

Bro, IMHO if you have enter the next gear at a very low rpm, you would be straining your engine as what Bro Sony had said [nod][nod][nod]

Long term wise it would do more harm to your engine rather than FC savings [nod][nod][nod]

wow, 620 for that box.

isnt it a bit too expensive. even you are a supporter of the ezstab. their entry model should be ok with your TS. furthermore, for a manual car, i dont see a lot benefits from it, other than brighter light/colder air.

I did what you guys advice,

down slope conering with 5th gear instead of Neutral.

Actually Felt no difference.

Thanks

will just stick to the 5th gear.

Gimmy

go thru the corner with the correct speed. have engine brake if you need be.

You may have AWD but can your tyres take the forces when you take the corner. Drive like what a safe driver does. Enter with with sufficient engine brake, and pick up speed as you exist. It will be better for your suspension and less body roll as well.

maybe the initial post TS put up is on a unstable starting ground.

And at times, despite concern on the free-wheel issue, he's not convinced.

But if you follow my post with him, I think i have been mild and been of some contribution. [angel][laugh]

actually free-wheeling is not really that big an issue. u only cannot accelerate but braking power is still there all the time. the fact is that the brake is so strong that it can overpower the engine in braking anytime, not really that dangerous if u ask me unless one does hard braking in the middle of the corner, but if that happens whether u have engine brake or not u still buang [sweatdrop]

and another fact is that almost ALL ppl on autogear do that everyday without knowing. why? because theoretically an autobox does not engage engine brake on cornering and downsloping (except few intelligence ones on downslope only). don't tell me the autobox in its overdrive can give u any kind of engine braking through the corner or downslope, neh... wait long long unless u are travelling at more than 3k - 4k rpm on overdrive?? well not in singapore context as the fastest u can go here is 90 km/h and in no way can ur overdrive be in that kind of rpm here. so does that means most of the ppl here (me included) with an autobox is driving dangerously everyday because our autoboxes do not provide any kind of engine braking at corner or downslope? [sweatdrop]

anyway, it's good to see more and more constructive comments here [thumbsup]

2) I always change gear @ 1500 - 1700 rpm. I entered 5th Gear @ 60km/hr speed.

Wah change gear so early ah

Assume you changed gear at 1.7k after change around 1.4, 1.5k still can have enough torque to acc.. without knocks ah [shocked]

Knock sensor working very [thumbsup] hope that the engine can last you 10 yrs if you intend to keep it otherwise the next buyer will be damm unlucky to have burnt cam shaft [shakehead]

Edited by Boxster

Actually ,

I found that I have enough speed to enter gear leh

Do not have much PINGing from the Gear and Engine.

when I do that.

Any old bird and Grand master can advice?

Gimmy

Bro, IMHO if you have enter the next gear at a very low rpm, you would be straining your engine as what Bro Sony had said [nod][nod][nod]

Long term wise it would do more harm to your engine rather than FC savings [nod][nod][nod]

yep u would have saved a whopping $3,000 on your petrol consumption! wow. but the bill for the engine repair would have cost a hefty $5,000. LOL

Ya lor, change gear at such a low rpm is a bit too exaggerating and extreme already. He put a brick underneath the accelerator pedal???

I do not understand why drive car must drive until so extreme to save that little of fuel. [hur]

maybe the initial post TS put up is on a unstable starting ground.

And at times, despite concern on the free-wheel issue, he's not convinced.

But if you follow my post with him, I think i have been mild and been of some contribution. [angel][laugh]

actually free-wheeling is not really that big an issue. u only cannot accelerate but braking power is still there all the time. the fact is that the brake is so strong that it can overpower the engine in braking anytime, not really that dangerous if u ask me unless one does hard braking in the middle of the corner, but if that happens whether u have engine brake or not u still buang [sweatdrop]

and another fact is that almost ALL ppl on autogear do that everyday without knowing. why? because theoretically an autobox does not engage engine brake on cornering and downsloping (except few intelligence ones on downslope only). don't tell me the autobox in its overdrive can give u any kind of engine braking through the corner or downslope, neh... wait long long unless u are travelling at more than 3k - 4k rpm on overdrive?? well not in singapore context as the fastest u can go here is 90 km/h and in no way can ur overdrive be in that kind of rpm here. so does that means most of the ppl here (me included) with an autobox is driving dangerously everyday because our autoboxes do not provide any kind of engine braking at corner or downslope? [sweatdrop]

anyway, it's good to see more and more constructive comments here [thumbsup]

You are giving a rather wrong signal here. In auto car, there's no engine brake, thus the safe manner of driving is to apply brake before entering bend/corner... I'm sure your many years of driving will tell you that corner at high speed without any form of brake will only result in some nasty situation if the car cannot hold well.

Moreover, there's a difference between free wheeling and having your car in gear. If you are in gear, when the driver sense that the car is losing grip, he can do corrective action by adding torque and not jamming the brake. If it's on freewheel, what do you think an inexperience driver will do?

You need to differentiate between freewheel and in gear as well.

BTW, the above don't apply to gentle driver.

ha ha ha...bro...you say it liao...ang mo drive from sg to genting....but you driving in sg stop and start traffic leh.... [;)]

however, the idea is there. :)

Personally I always like to keep my rpm between 2 to 3k. I think some revs are good and more healthy for the engine in the long run.

Yup Bro [nod][nod][nod]

yep u would have saved a whopping $3,000 on your petrol consumption! wow. but the bill for the engine repair would have cost a hefty $5,000. LOL

Agree Bro [nod][nod][nod]

Furthermore, one will not be able to fully explore one's ride should one continue to drive in such a manner [;)]

Greetings to all Impreza Drivers and Lovers of AWD.

I will first start by sharing my tips to increase FC for my new car.

Currently my Impreza 1.6i MT is still under RUN in less than 1600 km

The Run in Engine Oil is very thick , thickest compare to Mineral oil and Full Syn oil

I have acheived 12-13.5km /litre of petrol with lot of careful driving.

TIPS

1) I have installed EZ-stab EXTreme. I have just Spend $620 on this Extreme. Very worth it

It aids in Power and Fuel Efficiency

2) I always change gear @ 1500 - 1700 rpm. I entered 5th Gear @ 60km/hr speed.

3) I always set my gear to NEUTRAL during down slope, enter 5th Gear and slowly release clutch when I am about to reach flat road. I do that everyday on CTE.

4) When I saw red light at a distance, I will set Neutral and let it cruise. I dare to do this because it is AWD. Very Stable. Not afraid it will skid or anything. AWD is the best.

5) Check and pump to the correct tyre pressure every alternate days.

I am hoping to bring this Impreza to 15km/litre. I am in constant process to search for good products and tips to improve on FC. anyway the petrol price have increased.

Since I have bought subaru cars, i do not think i will switch brand. I am aiming for a SUBARU Legacy for my next car.

I hope all the GURU out there in MCF will contribute on the tips of BEtter FC. I will humbly accept advices.

GIMMY

3) I always set my gear to NEUTRAL during down slope, enter 5th Gear and slowly release clutch when I am about to reach flat road. I do that everyday on CTE.

Jin lei chey leh....morever isn't this cheating? It don't really show the full potential of how fuel saving ur car really is.

U installed the 620 bucks thing...and yet drive like this? I don't know, it seems the thing isn't really worth that kinda money.

Can easily buy a set of rims wif that...

Cheers~

Got difference lo,

$620 just buy lo.

After I have been pamper with the EZ-Stab Extreme,

It is quite NO Kick to use their Entry Set.

Personal Experience between Extreme and Entry set is that

Extreme give me " Step abit of ACClerator then move liao," comapre to the entry set.

Maybe it gives me high torque,

i am not sure as well, no dyno test to test my car.

anyway pretty new to the product. Ez-stab Extreme is just one of my toys.

Gimmy

Edited by Gim_ong