Subaru Impreza 1.6i - Tips to Increase FC

Gim_ong

TIPS

1) I have installed EZ-stab EXTreme. I have just Spend $620 on this Extreme. Very worth it. It aids in Power and Fuel Efficiency.

how long have u been using this, how long after u got your car then u installed, this, did u check out your fc before and after installing this?

3) I always set my gear to NEUTRAL during down slope, enter 5th Gear and slowly release clutch when I am about to reach flat road. I do that everyday on CTE.

this is very dangerous

4) When I saw red light at a distance, I will set Neutral and let it cruise. I dare to do this because it is AWD. Very Stable. Not afraid it will skid or anything. AWD is the best.

this is very dangerous also, doesnt matter awd or whatever drive u have. u may have to switch lane and pick up suddenly due to road condition or maybe obstacle, dou think u have time to switch to first gear in an emergency

5) Check and pump to the correct tyre pressure every alternate days.

think only u will do this. pei fu

Sorry maybe bad communication.

I am trying to achieve 15km/litre.

I have not done it yet. this is just my goal

Gimmy

For this real reason,

I am always try to improve FC.

Getting a Drinker and try to make improvement on FC is my goal.

I admit I am a newbie and I will not deny it.

I am getting advices from the old birds

Gimmy

nothing new, you should see what (MCF) was like 5 years ago [laugh][laugh] drivers/car owner now are more educated liao [thumbsup][thumbsup]

u trying to imply last time we are not so educated lah.... [mad] .....all i can say is that nowsaday the topic is getting more and more silly...that's why alot of old birds never wanted to post much about it liao......

I'm sure u are trying to improve your FC...and I'm definitely sure it's about the new car that u are driving and trying to improve your FC....I'm even more impress by your spending of 620 on a device that proclaim that can give u good FC almost immediately...

I'm sorry but I have to agree with some of the guys that had already commented...if u are so concern abt FC when u are driving, might as well don't drive....take BMW (Bus, MRT and Walk) lah....Driving is definitely abt fuel consumption....then again if u are talking abt fuel efficiency, then it will be very much alot dependable on the manufacturer technology....what are they setting up a AWD and still claim to maintain FC??? I don't think so.....and how about this, why Jazz dare to claim their good FC...it's because Honda put in dough for the R&D to develop the engine....to have good FC, a simple rule of thumb....

Engine CC/ Weight/ BHP

Talking about a 1.6L AWD and Boxer Engine, I doubt u are capable of getting anything close to 15....and I will be very impress if u can get 13.5...how u do it? Super Duper Featherlite pedalling on the accelerator??? Then it goes back to my first point liao...might as well take BMW....save 620+70 petrol+road tax+car maintenance....one month less than 1K....pardon my response, but i very curious on why abt driving and u concern on FC and yet u chose this car and even more buy that proclaim definitely FC saver......

Old Birds are saying don't go Neutralling down CTE especially exiting slipways or watever la...

What colour is your car ah?

Then why dont you get a hyundai car and make it as fuel efficient as altis?That is more challenging.Not to be a wet blanket,pick up slowly,downslope with neutral gear,one day you'll get into accident.

Greetings to you Gimmy.

I drive a Subaru TS manual. FC about 10+ now.

AWD is not GAWD. (if u get the drift). :)

Just to share with you what I understand about the car.

by going neutral,the drive train lose power, there is no power to 'drive the car to the direction that u steer', all u have is the car momentum and gravity. That will take away the AWD advantage and even worse that FWD.

u felt the car is stable thru the bend because the impreza CG is slightly lower, the springs are firmer. the lack of body roll made u think that is stable. plus the stock tires are quite alright. it is not the AWD that made the car stable if u go neutral.

All-Wheel-Drive means u need the 'Drive' to make it work. Neutral=No power=No Awd.

12+km/l is very common for the 1.6i, if u don't rev the car and if u drive highways most of the time. (i used to do that my TS).

the dilema is driving it light takes away the fun of driving an impreza. the engine is happy to go 5k+ rpm, I hope you don't miss out that part of fun. :)

approaching the red light in neutral is ok coz the speed is not too fast , but for your own safety, avoid neutral in cruising on highway, u are not only losing braking power from the engine, u also lose the AWD to steer the car.

There is no way u can drive 2000rpm at 100km/h in a manual simply because the gearing ratio is made such in the gear box.

Hope that helps.

Greetings to all Impreza Drivers and Lovers of AWD.

I will first start by sharing my tips to increase FC for my new car.

Currently my Impreza 1.6i MT is still under RUN in less than 1600 km

The Run in Engine Oil is very thick , thickest compare to Mineral oil and Full Syn oil

I have acheived 12-13.5km /litre of petrol with lot of careful driving.

TIPS

1) I have installed EZ-stab EXTreme. I have just Spend $620 on this Extreme. Very worth it

It aids in Power and Fuel Efficiency

2) I always change gear @ 1500 - 1700 rpm. I entered 5th Gear @ 60km/hr speed.

3) I always set my gear to NEUTRAL during down slope, enter 5th Gear and slowly release clutch when I am about to reach flat road. I do that everyday on CTE.

4) When I saw red light at a distance, I will set Neutral and let it cruise. I dare to do this because it is AWD. Very Stable. Not afraid it will skid or anything. AWD is the best.

5) Check and pump to the correct tyre pressure every alternate days.

I am hoping to bring this Impreza to 15km/litre. I am in constant process to search for good products and tips to improve on FC. anyway the petrol price have increased.

Since I have bought subaru cars, i do not think i will switch brand. I am aiming for a SUBARU Legacy for my next car.

I hope all the GURU out there in MCF will contribute on the tips of BEtter FC. I will humbly accept advices.

GIMMY

Edited by Slayer

HYundai, does not have AWD.

this is the feature which I like ,the best of all.

And Hyundai does not have the Quality that we Japanese have. If you can get a Jap car for almost the same price. Would you pay for Korean car?

For Jazz only the iDSI version can have Fuel Economy. the Vtec version does not imporve FC.

Gimmy

there is this angmo already done it. he drove up and down to Genting from SG, in just 1 tank of petrol in a impreza 1.6l u may just want to consult that advise. fuel saving tips is not new. What make it hard to achieve is just driver discipline.

Sorry maybe bad communication.

I am trying to achieve 15km/litre.

I have not done it yet. this is just my goal

Gimmy

True. nowsaday price of korean cars are almost on par with jap cars. no wonder hyundai is losing market share.

I do not proclaim it as a Fuel Saver,

@ stock Impreza is a drinker.

I am looking for ways to improve it, it is more of my hobby and a goal to solve the challenge.

Impreza have a wieght is pretty heavy, AWD sure take in Fuel more than a LIGHT weight Honda Jazz iDSI. They are 1.4cc . Why don't you compare Toyota IST and Honda Jazz which are about the same? In fact Toyota IST , can match Jazz's FC.

Impreza is 1.6, Altis is 1.6, Lancer is 1.6, Avante is 1.6. All are 1.6 Sedan Car.

------------------------------------------------------------------

Well need to compare cars in terms of benefits it give me.

With Impreza cheaper than all the rest, yet give me the feature that is AWD boxer Engine. The other option for boxer Engine is Porche.

After all we need to consider resale value of car when you try to get rid of it.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

From choosing a Korean made fuel drinker and a Japeanese Made Fuel Drinker, which one would you choose?

Well I guess it is Urban legend that TOYOTA VVTI is Fuel Saver, ONE fine day the MADE in THAILAnd breaks down on you. Drinks up all the fuel.

YOu guys trust Thailand products? Currently there is political instability. With an unstable nation, do you think that the product quality and performance will not be compromised?

For HEAVEN Sake Please do not buy a MADE in THAILAND. Get a PI for AXIO instead of Altis. Will not even touch HONDA CITY for it is MAde in Thailand.

Well persnoally I know someone who has a 5 yr old Toyota 1.6 Gen 9 Sedan who has his VVTI break down on him . now He only do 9km / litre of petrol. Cannot repair,Cost too much, no choice.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Methodology and modification is needed if I want to improve the FC.

Yes I would be constanly in search on ways and driving tips to improve my FC.

I welcome modification, not for power but for Fuel Efficiency. Some modification give the driver "feel " the power.

Some driver TURN Crazy and then Floor Accelerator to race after feelign the power?

Some driver knows that after the power have been felt, the know that they need not floor so much to reach optimum.

Thankx for all the advice thus far.

Gimmy

pls post ur number plate so that everyone on expressway will avoid dangerous neutral jokers like u

+1

I use CTE every morning. Maybe car model/colour will do. I try to siam. [laugh]

I have my ways to cover traces.

my Unlce is mechanic.

Anway, All agent wants to earn something from car user so the wants to make sure you come back to them for service.

IF not VOID warranty. They charge more than outside. says that it is the best.

If you investigate and chat up with the mechainic @ MI.

You will find some of them are ITE on the job training technican.

Man you are paying 50K plus for your car and you are letting such inexperience people MOLesting your car.

Try missing Servicing - change oil etc .

and you will see MI will void your warranty right away.

Dun you think it is a poly to make you pay more and more?

Outside, if you know, you get all the OLD bird mechanic which are at least 20yrs experience.

They Charge Cheaper.

Gimmy

You mean you will take out before servicing, i get AE to install the ICE and the pivot for me i was told the warrenty wont void by them. I read from the surabu club forum, non of them can claim anything from MI, even paste decal will void the whole car warrenty. Can go case?

i think ppl's gripe with u is in yr quest to get better FC, u are endangering yourself and others on the expressway with yr freewheeling stunts. So maybe u can continue your quest but don't go neutral on the e-ways, else pls post a big pic of yr car so ppl can siam far away from u..