Slayer Clutched November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 Wow that was quite some effort to write up this huge post in your spare time. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zcold 2nd Gear November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 bro.. u rotting at home arh.. write jc physics paper... hahahahaa jus kidding... but i did learn smth good frm u ... the calculation of the gear ratios.. was always wondering wads the method to calculate... anyways.. this a bit old thread the TS dio shoot a bit liao.. i.e. neutral = dangerous and be it AWD or FWD or RWD no diff... anyways i do occationally rev my ah pek jee poon 1.6l car to 4.5 to 5k rpm on an empty road to clear the carbon... yes... i am a believer of that... yr petrol wad ever grade will leave carbon built ups in the system... reving it is like blowing out the stuff... try standing behind the exhaust pipe of a car which is seldom rev-ed.... at 4.5k rmp if u try driving on NSH... at three figure speed ... yeah... u do feel the car gettin wee bit smoother... could be the 'blowing' effect or could be the shell v-power petrol (paiseh.. normally in sg use 95 nia) .. i dunno but certainly the car feels smoother aft that... phychological? .. maybe... maybe not... anyways have fun shopping for a new car... its really an enjoy headache ... get a jazz or corolla ... if u are concered abt fuel prices.... cost shld be ard the same... ... jus curious.. wads the thing that attracts u abt the TS 1.6? AWD? if performance.. or u are planning to track... get the SSS even if its FWD... i tink it'll definately be betta in terms of performance no offence to TS owners.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ayuready 1st Gear November 28, 2007 Share November 28, 2007 hehe still running in my 5 days old wrx 2.5 mt first tank got around 481 km using 48 litres, around 10km/l measurement method = drive till low pump back to full (auto stop) not very accurate but ball park figure should be around 10 or slightly below! hehe doubt after run in can get such FC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Russ 1st Gear November 29, 2007 Share November 29, 2007 Well, I get 14.5km/l on my Legacy .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear November 29, 2007 Share November 29, 2007 Is your legacy also 2.5 ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_young_once Neutral Newbie November 29, 2007 Share November 29, 2007 hi gim, i read until page 5 but too many posts to read liao, but here is my bit: 1, i used to be like you, free-wheeling down expressway slopes, going to flat ground then enter 5th gear, but one day on lornie road raining, i did that, i experience "different wheel go at different speed", then cold sweat, skid a bit, but managed to throw in 4th gear and gain control, please dont do that; freewheel neutral to stop at traffic light is still ok, freewheel to go down expressway slope is dangerous, and as some other already mentioned earlier, AWD needs power input to work, if put neutral you totally by-passing the AWD, it isnt helping at all 2, keep within the power band, ideally for most cars, 2-3k rpm is nice, like some bro mzr (dont know what nick, paiseh ah the avatar picture is his mz3 with gauges one.....) mentioned, 2-3k is healthy for the engine 3, related to 2, you say you dont hear or feel any 'pinging', (actually the word should be 'lugging'), but i used to drive the way you do also; change to 2nd ----20+kmh change to 3rd ----30kmh etc..... etc etc, entering 5th at 60kmh, and let me tell you, premature clutch and gearbox problem, song boh i ask you, around 90,000km change my clutch, now i drive 'normally' with rpm 3k then change gear most of the time, or sometimes rev until 4+ 5k, and i have to say, power increase alot, more shiok, treat the engine better, and fc?? only worsen by 0.3km/l or so bottom line is, for modders, mod hard hard hardcore, bore-up, lup turbo, extractor, ecu re-map, whatever, sure gain many bhp, lose out in fc, but its shiok for power to go tracking-----poser then play on roads, so dangerous but if just a normal day-to-day transport, dont waste money put funny funny few hundred dollars gadget, those "save fuel, gain power" rubbish all bohong one, just stay stock, drive sane and proper, you will get moderate fc, and car will last you long long time OTHER PENNY-WISE POUND FOOLISH FC SAVING TACTICS: -waiting for 5-10 minutes off engine; come on, every 5 minute wait you off engine, the saving in fc not enough to pay the damage engine and added stress on starter motor when they cxxk up -off aircon when driving slowly, on aircon on e-way your compressor cut in cut out, when air con cxxk up then merry christmas to you, ps, i also been down that route, a/c compressor and coil broke down before, now i on a/c all the way, not worth in the long run, save a bit, spend a bomb Lastly, im not from ITE, but i dont think you should put down the ITE attachment students working at workshop, they are still students, need to gain exposure, and if they carry out work at workshops like MI or any other, im sure their supervisor or i/c will check on them or final inspect their work student need time and space to learn also, you overnight become expert ah? also need training-grounds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched December 6, 2007 Share December 6, 2007 bro, wrx 2.5 manual doing a 10km/l is not doing justice to the car leh. :) its too light on the throttle already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ayuready 1st Gear December 6, 2007 Share December 6, 2007 (edited) haha Bro, i only rev abit (~3.5-5k) for fast pick up during traffic light, or over taking haha dun dare to drive like mad man and endanger everybody lei, some more i dun speed >110km/h the good thing about rex is having power on tap when you need it ! hehe but sometime cannot control, wuahahah Edited December 6, 2007 by Ayuready Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched December 7, 2007 Share December 7, 2007 its amazing to get your FC driving like that. My driving style about like yours. never near that kind of fc. 8+ only. my route has many start and stops though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dascrew Neutral Newbie December 7, 2007 Share December 7, 2007 Greetings to all Impreza Drivers and Lovers of AWD. I will first start by sharing my tips to increase FC for my new car. Currently my Impreza 1.6i MT is still under RUN in less than 1600 km The Run in Engine Oil is very thick , thickest compare to Mineral oil and Full Syn oil I have acheived 12-13.5km /litre of petrol with lot of careful driving. TIPS 1) I have installed EZ-stab EXTreme. I have just Spend $620 on this Extreme. Very worth it It aids in Power and Fuel Efficiency 2) I always change gear @ 1500 - 1700 rpm. I entered 5th Gear @ 60km/hr speed. 3) I always set my gear to NEUTRAL during down slope, enter 5th Gear and slowly release clutch when I am about to reach flat road. I do that everyday on CTE. 4) When I saw red light at a distance, I will set Neutral and let it cruise. I dare to do this because it is AWD. Very Stable. Not afraid it will skid or anything. AWD is the best. 5) Check and pump to the correct tyre pressure every alternate days. I am hoping to bring this Impreza to 15km/litre. I am in constant process to search for good products and tips to improve on FC. anyway the petrol price have increased. Since I have bought subaru cars, i do not think i will switch brand. I am aiming for a SUBARU Legacy for my next car. I hope all the GURU out there in MCF will contribute on the tips of BEtter FC. I will humbly accept advices. Cheers GIMMY ts optimum gear shift is ard 3.5k rpm.... I have installed EZ-stab EXTreme. I have just Spend $620 on this Extreme. Very worth it It aids in Power and Fuel Efficiency...its all in the mind... 3) I always set my gear to NEUTRAL during down slope, enter 5th Gear and slowly release clutch when I am about to reach flat road. I do that everyday on CTE. - very unsafe 4) When I saw red light at a distance, I will set Neutral and let it cruise. I dare to do this because it is AWD. Very Stable. Not afraid it will skid or anything. AWD is the best.--- any car is stable if its going straight and on a slow speed.. awd useful for corners, but tires etc got to also consider.... what realli matters for FC is ur right foot.... my 20cents worth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear December 7, 2007 Share December 7, 2007 http://www.aas.com.sg/features/archive/f08041.htm this guy John Talor drove up to Genting and back at 19.8km/l on an Impreza 1.6i he shifts by 2000rpm. but upshifting too early will cause your engine to lug and that causes FC to drop. so feel ur engine. i have to disagree with the other bro's comments OTHER PENNY-WISE POUND FOOLISH FC SAVING TACTICS:-waiting for 5-10 minutes off engine; come on, every 5 minute wait you off engine, the saving in fc not enough to pay the damage engine and added stress on starter motor when they **** up -off aircon when driving slowly, on aircon on e-way your compressor cut in cut out, when air con **** up then merry christmas to you, ps, i also been down that route, a/c compressor and coil broke down before, now i on a/c all the way, not worth in the long run, save a bit, spend a bomb this is old mentality. you won't damage engine if your engine is already warm and you have done proper/regular oil changes. your starter motor should be able to withstand that kind of start-stop conditions. cutting off your engine when idling not only saves your $$, it saves the earth. i'm not even talking about the stop-start method that hybrid cars or green junkies practice. as for aircon, you may be correct. what I do is to clutch in when cruising and turn it on, then slowly ease out the clutch again. this minimizes the mechanical impact on the a/c compressor clutch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ayuready 1st Gear December 7, 2007 Share December 7, 2007 hi bro, but 10km/l also quite painful as i travel quite alot. hehe i around 70-80 % highway, that why it possible i think but sometime even high way jam... then really jialat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wesfox Neutral Newbie January 9, 2011 Share January 9, 2011 Hi there, Impreza TS 1.6 does anyone know how much gas left when the reserve light is ON? from my observation it is approximately 10L, anyone can confirm this? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ssbcc 1st Gear January 9, 2011 Share January 9, 2011 You're right, it's 10 litres according to the manual. Although I have a feeling it is slightly more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wesfox Neutral Newbie January 9, 2011 Share January 9, 2011 (edited) You're right, it's 10 litres according to the manual. Although I have a feeling it is slightly more. Thanks Bro, recently did 2 mods and noticed that the FC is better, getting 455km now and the reserve light is not yet ON (any time will ON the needle is at the lowest end now) before only got 420km reserve light ON already. Wanna know how far I can travel after the light is ON. I personally feel 10L reserve gas is a bit too much :) Edited January 9, 2011 by Wesfox Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ssbcc 1st Gear January 9, 2011 Share January 9, 2011 What mods did you do, if you don't mind me asking? How much does it cost? I also get about 420 km on my 2004 TS when the light comes on. The most I have driven is 500km before I chicken out and pump petrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wesfox Neutral Newbie January 9, 2011 Share January 9, 2011 I changed the air intake to Open Pod Apexi and change to Operated the pipe. I bought the items second hand cost me about $350 for both. My car is 2006 TS Wagon, just took over this car less than 1 month. Based on the reserve 10L, I think it is quite safe to say I can get 550km Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ssbcc 1st Gear January 9, 2011 Share January 9, 2011 Thanks for sharing bro. Not sure if I want to spend that kind of money on my old girl. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...