Vit4wd 1st Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 Greetings to all Impreza Drivers and Lovers of AWD. I will first start by sharing my tips to increase FC for my new car. GIMMY Why would anyone want to increase the fuel consumption of their car and make it drink more petrol? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 (edited) aiyo so anal about improving fuel efficiency until lidat, life is tuff enuf. the car shd serve the master, not the master serve the car. want something more ultimate? install a stopper at the gas pedal so that one cannot depress more than 1" on the gas take out all the interior fittings, front+rear passenger seats, dashboard, spare tyre, roof lining, a/b/c-pillars to reduce up to 200kg excess weight Edited July 27, 2007 by User12343 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icetrap 2nd Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 (edited) I agree with you. I feel that Impreza TS Drivers should not worry about fuel efficiency, after all you have 4 Wheel drive. At the trade of fuel efficiency, you get a safer driving and better cornering ability. The car is a heavy car, but it's more stable when it's slightly heavier! I'm sure you guys do research before buying the car and I'm sure you guys know it's going to use more fuel compared to lighter and 2WD cars. But hey, how many 1.6 litres cars have AWD right? If you really want to save fuel, don't drive out so much! My 2 cent of advise, not targeting anyone. Just want everyone to feel happy and proud about their car. Edited July 27, 2007 by Icetrap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungryforcar 1st Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 Fun part of the car is the cornering. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 one thing for sure, a AWD drivetrain will sap more power from the engine than a FWD lor. engine needs to work harder to overcome this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungryforcar 1st Gear August 1, 2007 Share August 1, 2007 true, something like 2 ppl share 1 meal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windcruiser Neutral Newbie August 2, 2007 Share August 2, 2007 Hi Gimmy, I respect your "experiments" to cut down fuel consumption and increase mileage efficiency. However, please do not compromise road safety and endanger lives of other road users with your "Neutral" gear driving habits. From the way your spoke about spending $$$ on gadgets to improve FC, I believe you could afford a Defensive Driving Course to learn about the correct driving techniques. While I do believe you are sincere to learn some great tips on FC by starting this thread, in years to come, it is the safety records that you will be proud of, more than the number of tanks you've saved. Happy driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie August 4, 2007 Share August 4, 2007 Broquet, MI is selling it as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mdvic Neutral Newbie August 4, 2007 Share August 4, 2007 Hi Gim Ong, I'm doing at 460 to 500km for one full tank $90 bucks for my Leggy is it consider ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Author Share August 6, 2007 (edited) Dear Sir, let me do the assumption for you Assumption a RON 98 fuel @ SPC cost $1.84, and you get 10% discount = $1.656 http://www.petrolwatch.com.sg/ Total No. of litres purchase by $90 is 90 / 1.656 = 54.34 Litre of Ron 98 petrol Let's say We take an AVERAGE of the KM travelled you have said. $480km travelled. Fuel Consumption per lite is = 480 / 54.34 = 8.83 Km / litre. Bro, this is Bad FC , because a 2 Litre Engine Car can normally do ard 9.5km to 10.5 km/litre. I were driving a Merc E 200 yield like 11.2km/litre. Cannot really compare, I installed EZ-stab back it those days where people do mass installation at Kallang. I think if I dun put it I may just yield only ard 9.5-10km /litre. I suggest you go and change AUTO Trasmission Oil, and Engine Oil If your Auto transmission Oil have not changed since day 1 , there should be a lot of tiny metal particles in your Day 1 Oil. ( Run in Auto Transmission Oil) anyway , I love Subaru, and Hate Motor Image. This kind of stuff should be change by MI to protect our gear box. I love my subaru , and then I change the Gear box Oil to the elf one. My is manual, Dman Shiok feeling, feel damn smooth in the gear change. I advice you to get the TOP notch Engine Oil and A/T Oil , elf Lubricants ( http://www.elf.sg ) or the Long Old Branded German Oil , Fuchs (http://www.fuchs.com.sg) Castrol , Mobil 1 and even the sutpid Shell Hylix cannot compare to the above 2 Engine Oil. Becareful if you get Shell and mobil one Engine Oil cheap, like $50/ 4 litre. Becareful to check if they are Recycled Oil from Malaysia as RUMOURED. Hope that's helps Cheers Gimmy Edited August 6, 2007 by Gim_ong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 i am just curious , when one purchase a subaru, it also say that one has sign off to the statement in the fine print :"... therein after, throw the FC in to the longkang.. " In the quest to best FC, also say that it takes away the driving part. of couse, how one enjoys driving is totally subjective. (no need to argue about that). :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie August 7, 2007 Author Share August 7, 2007 (edited) Dear Sir, The beauty of a good product is to have Both Power and Fuel Efficiency. In the quest of doing so , Using better Engine Oil better parts and component, And take into consideration the Weight to Power Ratio etc. The ideal is to both power and Fuel efficiency. I am in constant look out for such a product. Maybe the Honda S2000 will be a good one. NON-Turbo, it can have 300bhp. Pretty amazing.... FC .. i dun know yet. All Hail S2000,.. Cheers Gimmy Edited August 7, 2007 by Gim_ong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched August 7, 2007 Share August 7, 2007 It is contrarary to why most people look for in good FC. ==> save cost. to lessen total $$ expense in maintaining a car. for your car, I suppose the FC is about 12+ to 13km/l? I am getting about 10 to 11km/l now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prodigysaint Clutched August 14, 2007 Share August 14, 2007 can any bro here wat is the "power" button on the 1.6i AT impreza? does changing gear oftenly will spoil the auto gearbox? installed superione st555, sd888 and broquet in line and in tank still gg at 9.5km/l.. haha waste of my money... anyone wanna buy?? bro.. i'm driving the auto too.. but my fc has been above 10km/L most of the time.. highest was 11.49km/L.. stock condition.. only changed my rims to 16" 205/50/16.. 60%HW and 40%city.. tire pressure at 235 at every gas top up.. wow.. u installed so much gadgets to boost ur FC.. i think ur gadgets might have compromised each other.. anyway where u live affects FC too.. CTE jam all the way.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin53 Neutral Newbie August 14, 2007 Share August 14, 2007 those gadget no use..m tire is 205/45/16 but 70%city 30%hw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged August 14, 2007 Share August 14, 2007 (edited) Edited... I tot why would you want to increase FC. Silly me... Sorry. [blush] I guess there are enough suggestions on how to improve your car's FC. Edited August 14, 2007 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie August 16, 2007 Author Share August 16, 2007 Hi , I am following an example that I have came across an Ad from my Media division of my Uni. SEX!!! now I get your Attention.... Heh heh Cheers Gimmy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...