Weber carb vs su carb

So_nice

good for with it's performance if u can maintain in good condition. Nice sound come out when step on acc

ic..

the major concern is about the loan. some tricky parts i have overlooked. like agreement fees for the loan and stuffs..

================

Ya loan especially for older cars, they try to add additional charges like football money & I guess they now call it agreement fees. [sly]

Try not to pay these charges & b prepared to walk away. Mostly they will call u back to negotiate this additional charges. I usually just give a small sum as 'coffee money' for the dealer.

2nd hand dealers r very sneaky on quoting a low price to get u interested but will add all sorts of charges when u r ready to sign. They will tell u these r "standard" charges. I just tell them it's BS.

If u do add up all those additional charges, u might just find your loan interest has gone up X2 times even.

Don't let the Weber carb influence u too much in your decision to buy. Look over the car very carefully cos it was prob whacked very hard by the earlier owners.

I prefer to buy a fully stock car, driven by a 60 year old school teacher granny. Guaranteed never gone faster than 90km/h. [sly][laugh][laugh][laugh]

mines i tried before with 1e engine whole car stock lah, full tank can go abt 580km but the 'e' light pop out dun dare to off the engine find a nearest to refuel. [sweatdrop]

===================

Normally when the low fuel light comes on, u still have about 10 lit of reserve petrol left. Enough to drive >100km.

U want to confirm? Just buy a can of 5 lit spare petrol & put in your boot. Run till the engine dies & check how far u travelled from time the light came on till engine die. U will b surprised. [sly]

last time singapore got dealership to find parts for those gasket and jetting for weber now if any spoil u have to go north or far far place to find it. So i think best to stick to something can be done at our local or nearby only maybe jaybee. [:)]

===============

Yah. Last time weber very common. Parts easy to get. Polymotor got sell spares & jetting sets.

Now where to find????? Go JB sure kenna [knife] & also no guarantee u can find.

Twin webers r great if u enjoy racing but true the Fc will kill u if u drive alot. Sound is almost as unique as the sound of a Harley.

But if u got a very good & experienced mech in SG, he might b able to maintain your webber in very good condition for you.

Now i'm happy with all stock in my car cos it's so easy to maintain & any mech can repair. Last time engine was so "different", some mech even refuse to touch cos they not sure what is what. [dizzy]

SU stands for the guys who invented it..Skinner's Union.

i never heard of SU carb before..

whats it stand for? is it a carb that can fit on any carb cars?

SU carburettors (named for Skinners Union, the company that produced them) were a brand of sidedraft carburettor widely used in British (Austin, Morris, Triumph, MG) and Swedish (Volvo, Saab 99) automobiles for much of the twentieth century. Originally designed and patented by George Herbert Skinner in 1905, they remained in production through to the 1980s by which time they had become part of the BMC/British Leyland Group. Hitachi also built carburettors based on the SU design which were used on the Datsun 240Z, Datsun 260Z and other Datsun Cars. While these look the same, they are different enough that needles (see below) are the only part that fits both.

Need to clean it. The engine bay isn't exactly sealed from the environment. The moving parts need to be clean to enable smooth operation.

still like de carb much more cheaper n easy to maintain..... no OBD or dignostic needed.

True twin weber good for racing and the sound best....... if u got a veri gd old mech

tat take care of the webber tuning will be the best. Twin webber alot of tuning not like

single web. Jettting tunning must be balance then can unleash it's potenial not like

single web.

Try Loh Heng Motor@Sin Ming Autocare 3rd Floor........they're Fiat specialist fer old Fiats only. [nod]

All my old Fiats were maintained by them. [thumbsup]

===================

Thanks for the update but I don't have weber leh.

Fiat used to use weber as standard. That's why I used to go Polymotor.

Actually Weber don't run out of tune that much leh. But definitely more "maintenance" then those other carbs.

True the older cars r much more easy to repair then the newer cars with all the electronics. Don't get me wrong. Electronics r great when they work, but when they give trouble, then it's [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

And old cars, parts can b serviced & repaired. New electronics will need to be changed once it has problems & the replacement parts can b very ex. [jawdrop]

Tuning multiple carbs is easy with the tuning meters which measure the pressure of each carb with a meter or steel balls in glass tubes. Just tune till all r lined up & it's done. But still needs lots of skill & experience to do it perfectly.

Carbs r great for WOT cos that's when they unleash awesome power. Fuel injection gives a flatter torque curve with more usable power in most of the power band. Better for day to day driving & good FC.

Twin carbs (Weber or even other brands) r great for power but the FC is killing & with the price of petrol nowadays [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop] .

mines i tried before with 1e engine whole car stock lah, full tank can go abt 580km but the 'e' light pop out dun dare to off the engine find a nearest to refuel. sweatdrop.gif

===================

Normally when the low fuel light comes on, u still have about 10 lit of reserve petrol left. Enough to drive >100km.

U want to confirm? Just buy a can of 5 lit spare petrol & put in your boot. Run till the engine dies & check how far u travelled from time the light came on till engine die. U will b surprised. sly.gif

But the modern engine using petrol pump to pressurised up the fuel before injecting into combustion, if run until dry and air sucked into fuel line, will it be difficult to prime the system of the air-lock? sweatdrop.gif

Need to clean it. The engine bay isn't exactly sealed from the environment. The moving parts need to be clean to enable smooth operation.

I see..... I maintain them using carb spray to clean internal while engine running, and once in a while silicon spray to lube the springs and moving parts....so far so good. smile.gif

The fuel pump will overheat and burn. It is cooled by the petrol itself.

That is why you cannot run an EFI car until it is empty.