Yuan 6th Gear July 2, 2007 Author Share July 2, 2007 Bro, thanks for the advice too..... I am thinking very hard..... To change to a branded brake stopper or go for better brake pads and stainless steel braided hose. I am a constant brake driver. Like to tap on brakes anytime on the road whether car in front or not...... My bad habit. So much so that I am those guilty tap brake drivers and cars behind me usually hates me.... Hehe. If I go for better brake pads or stainless steel braided hose, and with my constant tapping of brakes, dunno whether the brake pads or stainless steel braided hose can tahan or not..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 Are there cheaper options around apart from Ralliart? Maybe you can check out other brands like Cusco, HKS, Apexi, etc.... I'm quite sure there are other cheaper ones around.... just that you need to look for it. Persoanlly, I'd put the brake stopper as a secondary option.... go for the better pads and steel braided hoses first.... if that doesn't give you the firmer feel that you like... then only do the brake stopper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 Actually for your normal daily use kind of braking, I don't think u even need a brake stopper. Same for the SS braided hose & high performance pads. Just save your $$$ for a nice makan of chili crabs with your family. If got $$$ left over, invite me for some chili crabs lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chromas 1st Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 Get the CUSCO ones. Should be around $250 or less. I think Garage R got sell. If you want the Ralliart one, you can try Creative Sports, located at Paya Ubi, near IDAC. They deal in Mitsubishi stuff. Look for Eugene over there. Tell him that Colin, the red S15 tell you to go one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 2, 2007 Author Share July 2, 2007 Chilli crabs... I love crabs too. Shall we have it at Melban at Ang Mo Kio? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 2, 2007 Author Share July 2, 2007 Thanks bro for the contact. I have been actually looking for workshops that sell the Cusco stopper. Wah! Red S15.... Haha! Yes. I have contacted Creative Sports last week. Find the price expensive. Nevertheless I was supposed to go down this week. However, due to work commitments, I am unable to do so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 So does that mean u decided not to get the additional mods? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 2, 2007 Author Share July 2, 2007 Not mod... Hehe! This is called enhancements to stock setup....Haha! Might get a cheaper one. Then leftover $$$$$, we go melban eat chilli crabs..... Wahahaha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 So when shall I meet u there? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chromas 1st Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 Hmmmm... I guess Ralliart stuff ain't cheap then... For proper mods, I'd rather go for the real stuff, although they sometime cost more. But even for my S15, I mod it up slowly with stuff from Cusco, ARC, etc. Most impt to to understand what each mod does for your car and then weigh the pro's and con's to installing it. eg. Good coilovers = better handling = harsher ride (that's just one example) Got anything on cars, just ask away, will try to answer those I know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chromas 1st Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 Agreed... spend the extra $$$ on good food and chill out is the best... ... lots of places with Chilli Crab Duck rice at the end of South Buona Vista Road also very nice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 2, 2007 Author Share July 2, 2007 (edited) I understand the purpose of the brake stopper. Hmmm.... I am figuring out the pros and cons..... Cons seem to be more expensive and with the amount spent, I could go and do better brake pads and stainless steel braided hose. Thereafter, can save a bit and change to slotted rotor or upgrade to better caliper or rotor. But that can only change the front. As my rear brakes are drum brakes, I cannot do anything much and it is dangerous to change to rear disc brakes. My philosophy is this. If want to change, change everything. If not, don't do anything at all. Pros is I leave the stock braking system untouched. Improve pedal feel only. What stop the car ultimately is still my tires. But my tires and stock pads and brake system so far has been so good. Also my driving habits is within road speed limit. I don't cheong. The purpose I am doing all these is for safety of my car. Also, I brake very frequent. So at least my stock pads and rubber brake hose can tahan my constant and consistent tapping of brakes.... Dunno whether stainless steel hose can tahan or not..... Hmmmm... Scratching my head..... Edited July 2, 2007 by Blacklancer224 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 2, 2007 Author Share July 2, 2007 Anytime but not this week and next week..... Haha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 3, 2007 Author Share July 3, 2007 Quote Get the CUSCO ones. Should be around $250 or less. I think Garage R got sell. If you want the Ralliart one, you can try Creative Sports, located at Paya Ubi, near IDAC. They deal in Mitsubishi stuff. Look for Eugene over there. Tell him that Colin, the red S15 tell you to go one. You got any contact in Garage R? I am trying to find its location and the contact number..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 3, 2007 Share July 3, 2007 Hahaha. Just kidding you lah . Save your $$$. Don't spend unnecessary on this & that without much or any benefit at all. For normal driving, your stock brakes r more than sufficient if they r properly maintained. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched July 3, 2007 Share July 3, 2007 Huggable got a brakestopper custom-made for less than S$100. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chromas 1st Gear July 3, 2007 Share July 3, 2007 You can find them at:- http://www.hks-garager.com.sg/ Even though I'm driving a S15, I still drift with stock brake setup. My rear rotors were changed to Project Mu cos the old stock ones were worn out and the price difference wasn't much. For brake pads, I use Ferrodo in front and Project Mu in the rear. They're just regular street pads and again, they only a bit more than the stock ones. Other than that, my brake lines are still stock, and I don't have a brake stopper either. The most important thing is to drive safely and responsibly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 4, 2007 Author Share July 4, 2007 Agree with you. Drive safely, responsibly and defensively. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...