Yuan 6th Gear June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 Anyone knows if the master brake cylinder stopper can affect or damage the master brake cylinder? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 so much for stock car yea? anyway not much chance of it afaik Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 How to damage leh ? The brake stopper basic function is to brace the master cylinder and firewall so that your firewall dun flex during hard braking and have a more positive feel. In normal braking situation, you will not feel it. You need to stomp it hard for you to feel the effects of the brake stopper. A good addition to the brake system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 29, 2007 Author Share June 29, 2007 Thanks for the advice. I have it in my system. I should say good addition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 what brand, fit where, how much, and no picture no talk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueSi Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 Just have a shop weld a few steel bars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 30, 2007 Author Share June 30, 2007 Mine no brand. Did it at D1 Spec FabulousX. But 2 e brake situations and the stopper got some crack lines. Looking to get one from ralliart. Though the price is expensive. Found that it works well especially during hard braking or e braking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 30, 2007 Author Share June 30, 2007 Mine is welded the steel bars together. Workmanship not very good. Have a few crack lines already after a few e brakes...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear June 30, 2007 Share June 30, 2007 Kakee weld one cannot compare with those specially manufactured. EG workshop can replicate the part...but will the bending and welding alter the metal strength? A properly design piece from the manufacturer would have gone thru stress testing to ensure that during its supposed duty, it does not crack or fail under pressure. Give you another example... Ikea furniture also chipboard with laminate but why those you ask carpenter to make one always the laminate peels off after a few years of usage ? Ikea made in factor...the pressure applied is stronger and consistent where as carpenter make for you one is manual....so consistence is not there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 30, 2007 Author Share June 30, 2007 Well said! That is why I going for ralliart one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueSi Neutral Newbie June 30, 2007 Share June 30, 2007 The thickness of the steel plate or beam that you use should be at least as thick as the aftermarket ones out there. If you are seeing cracks in your weld joints, the welder must have did a very poor job on it. A weld connection well almost always be stronger than any bolted connection you can come up with. You should see failure in the plate / beam before you see failure in the weld connection. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 30, 2007 Author Share June 30, 2007 For my stopper, it is the welded joint at the top that has a deep crack.... Haiz...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 30, 2007 Share June 30, 2007 Ikea furniture also chipboard with laminate but why those you ask carpenter to make one always the laminate peels off after a few years of usage ? Ikea made in factor...the pressure applied is stronger and consistent where as carpenter make for you one is manual....so consistence is not there. ========================= I think more like Ikea has better QC & use a better quality of materials. I have quite alot of stuff from them & their quality is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 30, 2007 Share June 30, 2007 Maybe get a good welder to re-do the weld? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 30, 2007 Author Share June 30, 2007 You got lobang? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 30, 2007 Share June 30, 2007 Sorry. Welding I don't have but u can check with those ws or panel beaters as they sud have. U can also try those industrial welders. Maybe do a search in the yellow pages. Maybe all u need is to weld back. Cheapest & easiest option as far as I can see. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 Save the $$$ for welding job... and use it to get a proper brake stopper lah.... Some more... when you wanna sell it off later when you de-mod.... also easier since it is branded. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 2, 2007 Author Share July 2, 2007 Bro, thanks for the advice. The ralliart brake stopper is about $500 dollars. With this amount, I can change my brake pads and go for stainless steel braided hose. The reason why I go for brake stopper is because I want to keep the braking system in my 9 months old car stock. Not to mention I am a strong believer of stock. Dunno what to do now... Go for ralliart brake stopper or go change pads and braided hose? Cost is about the same. Any bros can comment? Hehe! Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...