Nitekid Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 DC5 Type R. There's this time when someone... invited him for a run at North South Highway with RS4s, 300+BHP GTis and Porker 997s but he did not turn up ----------------------------------------- OH, hmmm, i See and i thought he has a Super Fast Car, fast enough to criticize other cars as S.L.O.W. Wahahaha What a joke.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 Quote The 8 cannot be turboed well. Their compression are too high and their rotors weaker to reduce weight. I've seen many blow their 8s trying to turbo them. Nothing is impossible given enough time and money, but its not a simple bolt-on job. The 8s are 8s. They are not the 7s. They were meant to be a milder 4 door 4 seat version in the RX family, so they shouldn't be compared side to side. Just my 2 cents worth. though RX-8 has got 4 doors,but i think it is classified under coupe. the rear doors are for aesthetic in my opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 NPNT. Liping24 said she drove a swift sports. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitekid Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 Hmm , i guess he is probably piss at the word "Poser" being use for his Rx 8 ride but then again, who wouldnt be piss at that kind of comment.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 Yeah NPNT. I have a 12 inch dick when limp. Anyone wants to see the pic? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 yeah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Armored_Saint Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 (edited) "because RX8 guys are merely posers" I beg to disagree!!! Edited June 29, 2007 by Armored_Saint Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legendary Clutched June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 Dun know why pple like to stir up Shi.t Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rliewky 1st Gear June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 just curious how is the insurance for RX-8? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pyro Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 (edited) Quote wah,you talk as if you are very rich and others can't afford to own the RX-8. no la bro...its not that...I am just pissed at comments like this. everyone buy cars for different reasons. does not mean good looking car but not fastest on road is poser car...correct? if like that, then all the so call body builders who did not win awards or take part in body building competition is poser also? train so nice for fark?...just my 0.01 cents...hope i did not offense anyone...i just find that these word will most likely come from pple who sour grape or really NATO... Edited June 29, 2007 by Pyro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dynaway 1st Gear June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 Quote DC5 Type R. There's this time when someone... invited him for a run at North South Highway with RS4s, 300+BHP GTis and Porker 997s but he did not turn up dc5 type-r beri fast meh???? i think the EK9 or DC2 fare much better.... B20B vs K20A... K20A really cmi.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueSi Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Author Share June 29, 2007 Quote The 8 cannot be turboed well. Their compression are too high and their rotors weaker to reduce weight. I've seen many blow their 8s trying to turbo them. Nothing is impossible given enough time and money, but its not a simple bolt-on job. The 8s are 8s. They are not the 7s. They were meant to be a milder 4 door 4 seat version in the RX family, so they shouldn't be compared side to side. Just my 2 cents worth. though RX-8 has got 4 doors,but i think it is classified under coupe. the rear doors are for aesthetic in my opinion. The rear doors, no matter how useless, are however still there. The doors together with the rear seats still add weight. The RX-8s were designed for a different market. They were meant to be an economical youthful ride that still holds the RX badge. They should not be compared with the 7s, which were alot more purposefully built. The 7s however were not for the majority of the market. Rotaries become very temperamental when turbocharged. They are very unforgiving when not maintained right. Therefore their "reliability" as a turbo car were seen as inferior to other piston turbo cars. Maybe one day Mazda will revive the 7s again with a new model, but till then the 8s are not their replacement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcff_1980 Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Share June 29, 2007 (edited) definately nothing to sour grapes about RX-8 should never be compared to 7, its simply nowhere near IMO Rx-8 is classified together with the likes of Sillycar, sorry i mean Celica, and Tuscani nice to look, not good to eat. Bimbos (similarly, look pretty, no substance) think they are fast. after all, some cars are best driven, some are best posing in the school carpark Edited June 29, 2007 by Mcff_1980 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueSi Neutral Newbie June 29, 2007 Author Share June 29, 2007 (edited) I'm sure the 8s are fun cars to drive. I've never driven one, but from what I heard, they handle pretty well. I think they are well balanced for their power. There's little you can do to up their power though from a bolt-on point of view. Boosting and 8 requires careful tuning and a good standalone. Currently I don't see them with much high boost potential, but then again few cars these days respond well to high boost right off the factory. Edited June 29, 2007 by BlueSi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oflyboy Neutral Newbie June 30, 2007 Share June 30, 2007 The 8s are nice. The Tuscanis are nice. Why must everything be about power? I don't think drivers of these cars should have an inferiority complex for whatever reason. Personally, I like the looks of the 8s. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pyro Neutral Newbie June 30, 2007 Share June 30, 2007 No...we do not...it is just that we choose form and other factors over power...if we want power...for the price of 8...most 8 bros can also buy rexs or evos...the 8 is not the best car out there...has its own set of problems as well..but we love it for what it is...for me...it is the "sports car" for the family...(I have kids)... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged June 30, 2007 Share June 30, 2007 For what its worth, the RX8 posted an identical lap time to both the 350Z and BMW M3 on Top Gear's test circuit. Of course, on other tracks the gap will be different, depends which circuit favours what layout. But it shows it can be quick, hardly befitting the "poser" tag. If you are aware of the nomenclature, the RX8 wasn't intended to be an RX8 replacement, even if it carries on the rotary engine tradition. Succeeding RX7s have been called Series II, FC and then FD RX7s. If the RX8 was meant to replace the FD RX7, it would have been named as such. Think of it, then, as a grown up RX7, one that grew up from being a 2-seater coupe (or 2+2 in some models), to a GT sedan that accomodates a family. For sure, it is no longer as focused as the RX7, it is larger, heavier, and less powerful, but that doesn't mean its not good at what it does, carrying 4 passengers in comfort, retaining swoopy coupe styling, while still being a sweet handling car. Neither does it return 200-300km on a full tank of petrol, nor does it require constant mechanical attention (something that modified RX7s seem to need). Have you driven an RX7 before, and then an RX8 to compare? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear June 30, 2007 Share June 30, 2007 I don't drive the RX8 or Mazda for that matter, thou I wouldn't mind getting caught in one. Of course The RX7 is more powerful, with its bi-turbo & such. But IMHO, the RX7, especially the banana taillight isn't a particular good looking car. The RX8, thou, has overall good reviews overall, witha balance of looks & power. I don't think Mazda create the RX8 to be "a world beater" kinda car, its more a grand tourer kind of car, more refine & stylish, less "street racing" kind of car. Much like 350Z or Ferrari 599GTB for that matter. And so far the RX8 has been a sucess story thus far for MAzda. I believe a potion of potiential buyers will stay off the RX8 if is a "AH beng" car that get challenge ever so often on the trafic lights. If u want huge power upgrade, there's always turbos cars like REX, EVO, silva or GTR etc. Different stoke for differnt folks lah. On a side note, I maybe getting the new "ah beng" evo X or XI in future, mainly due to its 4 doors & decent boot. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...