Parallel-import cars attract lower taxes

Ahyoo2002

Again the Bank wins again being the middleman.

These rules are making the bank richer u noe

Higher COE, Higher OMV..

When one take a loan, all these are taken into consideration

Yes u can get back more when u scrap your vehicle but did u noe how much loan u pay for that cost ?

er..why cant the ADs keep their mouth shut and 'move on'?? if they reduce their HUGE profit margins..then can be more competitive liao lor..

nowadays its getting difficult to cheat the govt liao!!!!

is there a time when the gahmen can be cheated easily?

today's ST got it mah.... gahmen is very near to take action against a "BIG" PI liao... hoh seh liao... those who buy from that "BIG" PI please wait.... after the PI pay the fine, your OMV will adjust accordingly....

[gossip][gossip][gossip][gossip][gossip][gossip]

End of "cheap" cars from PIs and someone in Hyundai would be happier.

Regards,

i deinately think so.... korean price is going up soon.... better buy now [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Axio is 1.5 but they compared with Altis 1.6,

what sort of comparison is that?

=========================================================================

Exactly.. Thought parallel-imported Honda Fit's is 1.3 whereas Jazz is 1.5 by Honda distributor Kah Motor. [hur]

jazz is not 1.5, it is 1.4. both jazz and fit is with 1339CC. just that one round up, the other round down. it is a fair comparison IMO. [:)]

is not about the AD complaining. it is more of the writer. remember last few week, the name of PI who got the most complain in the CASE blacklist for the past one year? is the same person who write it. i think that writer got cheated by PI before. that why he keep writing the bad of PI. [laugh]

jazz is not 1.5, it is 1.4. both jazz and fit is with 1339CC. just that one round up, the other round down. it is a fair comparison IMO

================================================================================

====

OIC, thanks.

If Singapore is a free market, then how can LTA set the OMV value based on the AD paying price?

I believe the PI cars are considered 'second hand' in Japan.

Where its registered for one day and deregistered the next so that it can be exported from Japan as 'used-car' status.

I may be wrong on the above understanding.

If the above is correct, then what is wrong for the PI to pay cheaper price for second hand goods?

Even in Singapore the car price depreciate 20% the moment you drive it out the showroom, why can't it be the same for the PI's car?

Lovely babe,

PIs register cars and de-register them the next day for ease of registering in Singapore. This step is required if the PI wanna prove that the car complies to emissions regulation in a country that has stricter regulation compared to Singapore and it also proves that the car is brand new at the point of registration in that country (be it Japan, Germany or UK and etc).

Its not done based on the reason you stated.

Also... Authorised Stealers get their cars direct from manufacturers so the declared OMV is taken as a benchmark or "true" value as it is direct from manufacturer. Of course we know this isn't true. All OMVs are suppressed to a certain extent even for Authorised Stealers' cars.

Comprende se

Edited by Porker

Thanks for the clarifications....but it the eye of Singapore law the PI cars are still 'second-hand' or 'recon' right?