Terence_oh Neutral Newbie June 23, 2007 Share June 23, 2007 (edited) Share my pain! Accidentally scraped the curb while trying to insert a cash card at a car park exit. Surface of the (forged) rim has certainly been affected, but there are also what seems to be paint deposits from the black-and-white curb. My rim is a British Black Prodrive GC-05F. The question is, is there any way to remove these paint deposits without harming the surface of the rim any further? Or do I just go back to the dealer of the rims and see what they can do? Images of the damage below: Edited June 23, 2007 by Terence_oh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear June 23, 2007 Share June 23, 2007 Bro, you can try Yew Lip for rims repair Heard many good reviews of them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legendary Clutched June 23, 2007 Share June 23, 2007 Yew Lip boss not keen to do such rims repair. Will have to wait a long time... I usually sand the damage myself.. no one can tell the difference after that.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear June 23, 2007 Share June 23, 2007 Heard their waiting list is pretty long though Maybe can send to another workshop call 'City Auto' at Sin Ming area cos heard from Mazda Club Bros that they too could do rims repair but at a shorter waiting time as compared to Yew Lip Have not tried their service though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reuters Clutched November 26, 2007 Share November 26, 2007 Have you fixed the scratches on your rim? I got one of mine scratched today also.. and i was wondering if you have restore your rim and if the repair is up to your expectation.. Let me know which workshop you went to for the repairs if possible.. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adawang 1st Gear November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 (edited) I kena this b4, sent to a tyre shop 2 types of repair 1)patch with putty n spray- when u change tyre, the tyre mounting machine might scratch out the putty area as it goes round the rim 2)grind out the whole circumference until smooth then spray. u will notice a flattened edge Edited November 27, 2007 by Adawang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 i just use sand paper to make it less obvious Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adawang 1st Gear November 27, 2007 Share November 27, 2007 ts can try as his damage is not deep then follow with a spray onto the affected area Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear December 3, 2007 Share December 3, 2007 any grade of sand paper ? can share method ? wet or dry ? mine also got some marks... :( mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeus73 Neutral Newbie December 4, 2007 Share December 4, 2007 It's the stupid placement of card reader at the carpark... Some readers are placed at the left turn... Got to drive really close to the curb in order to insert the cashcard without opening the door... An example is at "Choa Chu Kang Centre" (after Lot 1)... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Petergo Neutral Newbie December 4, 2007 Share December 4, 2007 feel sorri 4 u brudder, mi will feel same pain too. hence, din change mi rim, now rim got same scratch like yr n juz leave it as it iz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terence_oh Neutral Newbie December 4, 2007 Author Share December 4, 2007 (edited) I kena this b4, sent to a tyre shop 2 types of repair 1)patch with putty n spray- when u change tyre, the tyre mounting machine might scratch out the putty area as it goes round the rim 2)grind out the whole circumference until smooth then spray. u will notice a flattened edge Did Type 1 repair. Wouldn't do it again as this sort of thing happens too easily! Why do carparks put a 30cm curb next to a cash card machine that requires you to insert the card?!! Edited December 4, 2007 by Terence_oh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ordix 2nd Gear December 4, 2007 Share December 4, 2007 Share my pain! Accidentally scraped the curb while trying to insert a cash card at a car park exit. Surface of the (forged) rim has certainly been affected, but there are also what seems to be paint deposits from the black-and-white curb. My rim is a British Black Prodrive GC-05F. The question is, is there any way to remove these paint deposits without harming the surface of the rim any further? Or do I just go back to the dealer of the rims and see what they can do? Images of the damage below: can understand your pain... go to. 4001 Ang Mo Kio Ind Pk1 #01-03 Singapore 569622 Soh Tyre Battery Enterprise (but i vaguely rem it was soh something...) Tel: 64549071 (Look for Frankie, the tau kay) He very friendly one but u might need to wait few days or 1 or 2 weeks (if rain cannot go cos the spray might not dry according to him) when he is free. I personally think that he earn really very little on rims repair... in fact only like money to buy kopi. He treated me those packet drinks when I waited for my rims to be repaired :) 1 rim $5, balancing $10 i repaired 1 back rim (back tyre dun need balance) but he charge me 10bucks, fair enough, am i am more than happy :) else 5bucks he earn really 2 cups of kopi only. If I wanna change rims sure go there one although the shop across seems to be so much popular even JB cars comes and go... :) [inline tyrefix.jpg] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear December 4, 2007 Share December 4, 2007 I have had worse kerb rash. When I changed tyres at South East Tyre (Kaki Bukit), Ah Hoe used a grinder to grind down the gouged area. Because the rims were silver, no further repainting was needed. No charge. So if you can tahan until change new tyre, they might throw in complimentary rim refinishing for you. If not just drive there and ask him how much to dismount and grind back. If you go at a busy time he might not be interested. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear December 4, 2007 Share December 4, 2007 yeah... nearly got "hit" there too... also the ticketing machine seems to DIE often there... mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear December 4, 2007 Share December 4, 2007 $10 for rim repair + spray paint is cheap leh.. very very reasonable Thanks for sharing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ordix 2nd Gear December 4, 2007 Share December 4, 2007 super cheap. his rims prices are reasonable too! ^^ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxngck 1st Gear December 5, 2007 Share December 5, 2007 hi! my rim oso scratched. mine is abit grey/ blackish shining type. are they able to repair? so sad ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...