Just need a place to rant...

Bellaraphon

Pls bear wif me, fellow forummers. Not usually one who complains and rants but I was extremely perplexed by the actions of this driver. Up till now, I am stil seeing white flashes of light in front of me. Here is what happened.

I was driving along CTE at 9.00pm today toawrds Yishun. After passing the exit to Yio Chu Kang, i passed by this white Integra with black rims (18inch i think) on lane 2. I was driving on lane 1 and as I passed by the car, I couldn't help but notice that the high beam of the car was switched on.

Now, we all know how low an Integra is. If the beams from the headlights are blinding your eyes, obviously the driver has switched on the high beams.

K, when i was at the slip road going into Lentor Ave, this beautiful car came into the same slip road and was behind me. Mine, was I blinded almost totally as the high beam was still switched on. [jawdrop] Continued to control myself along Lentor Ave and this beautiful caar was following me whichever lane I took. I was trying to get the hell out of the blinding headlamps but the driver was following me. Finally, he decided to move into the lane turning right that goes to Yishun Stadium. Now as I was also turning at that junction, our two cars came side by side at the traffic light.

When the signal changed for us to turn, we turned. Now what I do not understand here is this:

(1) The driver was not speeding at all from CTE all the way to Lentor. Why did the driver decided to step on the accelerator and speed up the moment the lights changed green? Trying to impress me the power of your car? Obviously my Toyota Altis could not have outran you.

I wanted you to know that your high beams were on, therefore, I flashed my high beam at you once. WOW. The car went from lane 2 to lane 3 and decided to slow down to my speed. OK, i take it that you realised that you were going too fast as seconds before you changed from lane 2 to lane 3, you nearly rammed into a motorcycle in front of you. The car even escorted me all the way back to my residence where I have to turn right into my house after OCC. Close behind me, there was a heavily modded green Gen2 with balck front and back bonnet, which I happen to know where the owner stays as well as how pwoerful it is.

My way of informing you may have caused you to have a wrong impression of my intentions. There is no way my puny Toyota Altis could have outran you, and I think you know that, judging my the loudness of your exhaust. i myself definitely know that.

After that, we went on our seperate ways and here I am, typing this out.

Just want to make known something. I actually respected the driver of the car a lot as he was not speeding even though he could have done so on so many occasions. Minus the high beam, I actually thought that you were a calm and cool-headed guy who simply loves performance cars. All these were totally shattered at that right turn.

So the very next time, please remember to check your headlamps if they are at high beam location or low beam location. It will definitely make everyone's driving much more pleasant at night.

Peace.

PS: No offence to Integra drivers. It is a wonderful performance car and at the same time, I have the utmost respect for all drivers on the road, until something that they have done irks me.

Edited by Bellaraphon

(1) I would have turned on the hazard light to show that his high beam is irritating me.

(2) If this warning is ignored, I would find a good chance to jam brake for him to kiss my backside.

totally agree with u [nod] .cant understand y some drivers juz turn on high beam when drivin at nite [hur] ?as though sin is not [sunny] enough to drive at nite.for me,i will slow down to wait for him to over take me [sly] ,n will high beam [whip] him back....

now a days don't know why so many cars the head lights so bright like they high beam all the time.. and with the HID, can't tell if the high beam is on or not.. so sick.. don't understand why they must use high beam?? is singapore road like country side no lamp post??

(1) will try the next time.

(2) no point. it will only make myself busy. Dun wanna ply on more headaches for myself. Plus I have a child at the back most of the time.

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

but seriously, what is the point? we dun have to stoop to their level or do what they did to us.

Coach Carter taught me this;" Show some class, even if u r at the receiving end of some f**ked up nonsense."

HID is truly a revelation for traffic safety. But I'm talking about those factory-fitted, not those aftermarket-fitted ones.

I treat high beamers like illegal HID installs, just slow right down, let them pass, problem solved. If you feel like it, flick your high beams on and follow him.

I kenah a few times of the same experience too. Really damn irritating & most of the time it's their alignment of the headlights. Purposely adjust higher so light can illuminate further. Sometimes really feel like installing a reflective blind on the back windscreen so those who likes to highbeam or adjust their lights higher will get a taste of their own medicine.

i was thinking of installing those scrolling message boards they use in hospitals and shopping centres where it provides information.

it'll have this msg: You are blinding me wif your headlights. Be careful, jamming brake now coz getting blinded.

but seriously, i find no point with it coz it'll never have an ending. i'm just doing wat he did to me earlier.

did that wen i was younger. of coz more kwai lan back then. but now more matured (doesn't mean not kwai lan anymore) [laugh] and too many variables to consider liao. wat's the point?

hi Bellaraphon bro ,

..i'm not sure if u've noticed that most of our Rearview mirror can be flicked,

so as to dim down those glaring beams from our rear. below illustrates the "lever" to flick... :

rearviewfk1.png

u can try that if u encounter such drivers again..

here's how it works..

trust me...mayb some of them didnt even realised that they were on Highbeam at that time.

perhaps they have accidentally pressed down the signal-stalk too hard when he was trying to signal lo..

it happened a few times to myself...& i oni realised it at a later time oso... wink.gif

slightly OT.. i was going back today on the CTE towards AMK from city. I filter to lane 1 as i usually do as i stay up north and the traffic becomes lighter after ave 5.

anyway this BMW was on lane 1 behind me when i filter from lane 2. there was a gap so i signal and filter. from the rear view i saw the BMW speed up and high beam. I am sure that car was too far away to even slow down because of me, really kuku.. this was before ave 1 exit. then as i reach ave 3 & 5 exit, the traffic become very much lighter and pick up speed up to 90 to 100. cars in front were moving faster than me. when i check the mirror, i see the BMW road hogging the other cars behind him/her and there was a large gap of maybe 100 meters between me and the BMW. As I pass ave 5 flyover, i don't even see the BMW behind.. really road hog until so far behind.

Why got such kuku driver? BMW is a driver's car, but this BMW is now driven by someone who is a

1. kiasu - high beam people for cutting into their lane (safely of cos), and don't give way

2. kiasi - road hog and travel slowly, not even at the speed limit

Depends what u driving then. Some drivers simply do not want 'slow' or 'smaller cc' vehicles cut in front of them, his ego as big as his BMW lah.

Hi GTTi bro,

thanks for the info. now i gotta check to see if mine has 1 or not? never taken note of that lever b4.

normal in nowadays roads.

i ever have an evo-inspired lancer forcing me off lane 1 at 100 and speed up in front of me, then dun dare to force the EG which was also on lane 1. in the end, he was sandwiched on lane 1 cos the EG continued at his own speed with me on lane 2 beside the evo-inspired lancer, with both of us escorting him all the way along the expressway.

again, no offence to drivers of any makes of cars and models. it's always the person, not the car.

Edited by Bellaraphon