Investment Banking

classmate (she) got an offer from another bank at 18% higher. should she negotiate for higher of just accept the offer. anyone tried negotiate when offered? Heard from advisor, there is a danger, if you want to nego, but first u need to say don't accept the offer. Then it's up to the investment bank to revert to counter offer or rescind the offer,sometimes, it's possible, instead, the bank offer the job to the second best candidate. [flowerface]

How? sis & bro, anyone ever dare to take the bull by the horn and nego with this potential risk of the job offer rescinded? pls share your views? [gorgeous]

if you can't even decide what to do in this situation how will your clients trust you with their money? [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] better look for another job [:p]

hi mate

Sorry to sound a bit ahpek. In our days (the 1980s), when we were offered a job at a top US bank (not investment, but institutional banking), we immediately accepted graciously. It was the overseas training opportunities in NY that enticed, certainly not the quantum of increment, nor the dollar value. I think it would be wise for your friend to just accept the offer, since it is an investment banking job (so much higher pay than our institutional banking job I presume). Sometimes, it is better to have something truly in hand, then to chase after something still "out there". And like you suspected, banks DO have choices. just my humble 2 cents, as a former bank fella.

bless

tashi

if your friend has a damn good reason for demanding more, then go ahead, what's there to be afraid of? be confident and ask for more. no venture no gain.

classmate (she) got an offer from another bank at 18% higher. should she negotiate for higher of just accept the offer. anyone tried negotiate when offered? Heard from advisor, there is a danger, if you want to nego, but first u need to say don't accept the offer. Then it's up to the investment bank to revert to counter offer or rescind the offer,sometimes, it's possible, instead, the bank offer the job to the second best candidate. [flowerface]

How? sis & bro, anyone ever dare to take the bull by the horn and nego with this potential risk of the job offer rescinded? pls share your views? [gorgeous]

18% still wait for what ????? Quickly grab liao. [nod][nod][nod]

My annual increament is only 2-3% constant every year. Will take me many donkey years to reach 18% [:|][:|][:|]

Such scenario must consider the 'push' and 'pull' factor...

Does your classmate feel contented working in current company? How is the prospect of current company? Colleague good? Boss good? Work load vs personal commitment acceptable?

How is the job prospect of the other bank? Is the culture there different from the current one, if different will she be able to adapt to the different style? Is the job scope much more demanding as compared with current one? Comparing the new with the current job does she need to sacrifice her personal commitment to certain extent? etc...

I think there is more to consider than higher $$.....

Thanks Taishi, me thot too, when it's in hundreds per annum, 18% is quite OK to accept. Cause been informed by the snr mgt were marginally decided over her & 2nd top candidate. the vote was hairline finish btw top & 2nd best. [sweatdrop] Ok, will action, tks [nod]

Management always tell the candidates that its a very close fight. Standard trick in the book.

Not totally relevant but...

I was given a review after confirmation and management asked for a price (open discussion) and I stated 50% increment. Got a 25% increment after that discussion.

Sometimes... you need to be open and ask in a polite tactful manner. You never know what you're gonna get.

Thanks Porker.

Wow, interesting! Btw, u didn't nego on the offer rite when u accepted it? It's only upon confirmation review you go for the killer! hehehe! Will bear this in mind, tks for sharing, learned something from you.

cheers

18% still wait... if she still considering and dun dare to ask for more dan only got 2 choices...

one is say no and keep to her current employment, the other is accept it wif gracefulness... a gal somemore, accept tings wif gracefulness if u dun dare to fight for tings which maybe she tink she's worth more...

PS: many successful people did tings more unusual than normal people can do...

in the 80-20 rule, be the 20% people...

In IBs, you don't look at your monthly basic. It's the yearly package that counts.

If 18% increase, take it. Aim for the bonus, not your basic. Unless your friend don't intend to stay long (<1yr)

Hard to advise lah...I think first of all she got to ask herself how much she think she deserve to get? What is her background and how many offers have she got so far? Benchmark herself against those in the industry with similar background. If this is the highest offer so far then mai tu liao, grab it mann. Sometime cannot be too greedy.

Firstly, if your friend need an answer from a forum and have no idea what consitute an negotiation, then I think it's a sad case.

but to answer your question, we need to ascertain if she have made any indicative price in her interview or this is the 1st time they are talking $$$.

She can always check informally with the HR or headhunter if there's chance of them offering more.

Otherwise, counteroffer them. If the bank is keen, theyu will discuss. if they are not keen, then it's wise to look for another job.. If I want a person, i would be willing to pay them what they ask for.. if that person is not worth the trouble, then bye bye