What is lowest resonant frequency (aka fo) ?

Elfenstar

Hey guys maybe you can help me out here. I've blown the 17yr old mids in the Sera and i'm looking for something in 4inchs to but nothing top of the range as the car is going at the end of the year when i head back home (but i would like some music between now and when i leave [:p] )

Most of the 4 inch speakers have a 90/100Hz-20/22kHz ranges except for the pioneer and kenwood units which start at a low 45Hz. The pioneer specs show a 127Hz lowest resonant frequency and i'm wondering what that is.

I know 4 inch's arent very bassy but i would like to maximise this. The highs arent of any real significance as the factory tweets are pretty good. Any suggestions besides being able to explain what fo is?

Perhaps u would like to explain more about your setup and how the 4" is used? I think using the correct drivers for the intented application is important here. Having fancy figures and specs is just not the end-state we should strive to look out for.

Sorry hehehe... I really don't know how to explain it well, but i'll try. I'll leave out the unnecessary bits. I'm not really a car audio buff so something "normal" but a tad bit on the bassy side would do.

I have a VDO daton HU that puts out 4x55w. The car has a "uprated" factory system which means 20w door speakers (now blown) with tweeters (still gives better highs than every co-axial i've heard). There are no amps linked to the speakers although there is a crossover that splits the signals.

I've been looking at 4inch speakers with a rms of around 25-30w with a low attainable frequency. What i'm wondering is why the pioneer and kenwood units can hit 45Hz while other brands only go down to 90-100Hz. Also does the lowest resonant frequency affect the sound quality (i.e. is the bass boomy or sharp)?

Although i'm selling the car at the end of the year before i come home, i'm not willing to put up with the ultra crappy sub-10w speakers i can get for $20, as such i'm looking at speakers at the bottom end of mid-range priced speakers. If you have any suggestions, it would be most appreciated.

Edited by Elfenstar

No need to be sorry lah...It's what the forum is for right? Seek some advise mah...emm...4" is too small for factory speakers..I doubt it's 4". More likely to be 6.5"...otherwise it's 5.25"...And 4" dun go that low normally...pioneer and kenwood can hit 45Hz? which models? well, if you intend to just use your HU to drive the speakers, any aftermarket ones will normally out perform your factory speakers..just take note that it's 4ohms and has a higher sensitivity of >90db. This you will have no problem with inadequate power to drive your speakers. However, do note that you will normally not be able to buy just the mid speakers alone as they come in components...

Edited by Kermit

dun worry i'm sure its 4 inch. for the kenwood its the KFC-1050S i'm looking at and Pioneer its the TSG1010R http://www.strathfield.com/ViewProduct.asp?ProdID=926. Sorry i can't find a direct link to the kenwood but if you go to their website and follow the links it will come up. They both have a 45-22000Hz range.

Out of curiosity what does higher sensitivity of >90db mean to me? I also hope you're right about the sound coz the SLSS system in the car was supposed to match if be better than sound systems in those days.

Because of the sound layout, i should be able to use any speaker for the doors although the factory crossover would cut off the higher freqs to them.

higher sensitivity means your speakers are easier to be driven, since u're not using external amps.

I looked at the link you provided, and as it doesn't provide you with a frequency response chart, u'll never know how much roll off is at the low freq, i.e. maybe the speakers can hit that low, but you won't be able to hear it cos it's playing that range of freq so softly...if you search ard the www a bit, you can learn more about speakers' behaviour, what each spec means, and how physical size limits its ability to play full range....a 4" can never play that wide a range well....no matter how expensive it is...just like a human cannot run 100m in 5 sec, no matter how long your legs are and how fit you are....

yoyo,

can get us a picture of ur door? see whether possible to somehow stuff a 6" inside.

4" is pretty limited in terms of performance.

assuming u want better sound, my opinion would just to be fabricate a small pod for a 6" mid range and get a proper tweeter.

this will be enouigh to make u soong liao.

aniway, thats my recommendation man.

cheers

Can fit. The hole in the metal is big enough with a high enough mount, but the speaker mount is not even 6 inches wide [laugh] just that i need to fabricate a speakermount from MDF. Not too hard but it means abt an extra 2-3hrs of measuring and cutting. tools are at the bottom and at the back of a 3 person tool pile [:p]

if i could only just get 2 sera subwoofers coz they're 4 inches too but the drivers and magnets are extra large [laugh]. I asked abt custom made speakers with those drivers and it would cost me at least $80 each but i'm keeping my budget around $100-120. No point going more since i'm selling the car. As for the tweeters, lets just say that i can get to sufficient highs so clearly that i don't want my highs to get any higher [laugh]

Eh btw since i've got you. Do you know anyone who's interested in getting a carputer?? I'm thinking of starting a car business thingy when i come back (so much for the psych deg [:p]) and although its not even going to be the focus, it would be a good showcase on what i can do, and it will be at least partially sponsored. I'm talking abt custom screens, custom and practical boot, full hogged windows xp/vista/linux that u can surf wirelessly, gps and even word processing with a proper upgradable CPU.

Edited by Elfenstar

i wouldnt be able read the frequency chart [laugh] but thanks anyway. i know there are limitations to freq ranges (in particular to the bottom end) with 4 inch speakers but i'll be happy to have something in the group with a lower than average bottom end that isnt boomy.