Tow Rope

Flaser

Tried doing a search but couldn't find any info on Tow Ropes in the forum.

Would appreciate if anyone could advise on where I would be able to find a tow rope for cars?

I know towing can be very dangerous and causes damages to the car or injuries/death if not used properly. This is meant as an emergency and last resort. In remote areas across the causeway it may not be possible to get a tow truck so easily.

Intention isn't to tow another car on the road, more to get a stucked car out of a particular situation, e.g. sand, mud.

Also, does anyone know how to calculate the specs for the tow rope? E.g. for a 1.5ton vehicle to tow another 1.5ton vehicle, what specs of rope is required?

Appreciate any advice and sharing of experiences in this area of towing. Thanks!

Mustafa sells. I think autobacs also have. If it's just to pull a vehicle out of mud, i think you can improvise using a metal chain and small rebars. I used this method previously when I couldn't find any rope.

Edited by Biting

find those companies in kelantan lane/ jln besar selling lifting ropes.

calculate difficult leh.

if vehicle is stationary, the load is actually acting downwards spread across all the wheels (assuming floor is level) but u need a turning inertia to overcome the stationary vehicle resistance. once it moves, newton law of mass x acceleration applies.

but if vehicle is sloping downwards and away, then gravity has a different angle.

4x4 dun use nylon rope, they use winch with stainless steel ropes strapped to front of vehicle.

Try those shops selling fishing equipment. Those ropes are vey thick and strong. I've towed Class 4 vehicles previously.

Nowadays, in Sg, rope towing is not allowed, if not mistaken. Only tow bars!

I have this type of tow rope.

Bought years ago when overseas. Had a 4x4 at that time. This type of "tow rope" is made of stretchy nylon webbing. The idea is to have it laid out on the ground nicely after connecting the towing vehicle to the towed vehicle. When ready and all clear, the towing vehicle does a running start at full speed, and then when the "tow rope" becomes taut, the momentum in the towing vehicle is transferred into stretching the "tow rope" and then SPROING the towed vehicle breaks free of the sand or mud.

Try local 4x4 shops for this thing.

It can be quite a bulky package (the box that held this was about the size of 2 telephone books stacked on top of each other).

Just look for the load limit of the ropes.

My friend selling climbing ropes to for mountain climbing...can take up to 2 tonnes. If you are keen...you might want to check them out...

http://www.allsports.com.sg

For towing outta mud...not so easy. I saw a tow truck having problem yanking a Picnic out of mud before...and it was not so straight forward.

Edited by Ghostrider

Thanks everyone for the info, much appreciated!

Hi YeoBH, I also found the Keeper website with the info on the tow straps. I'm actually looking at the Vehicle Recovery straps in http://www.keepercorp.com/prod/vrs.htm

Seems to be able to take much higher load.

Would the winch be quite bulky? A tow strap would be much more compact, can always keep one in the car?

better to keep very well clear when doing that.

snapping road can easily take off a limb or cause serious internal injuries. driver shd keep head down too. dun laugh hor, the rope could easily smash the glass if it snaps

i kena stuck in mud before. the tow truck just use an assortment of chapalang chains and hooked my car up and zua and zua [dizzy].

the torque produced by those diesel engines are simply astounding [thumbsup].

This info is quite useful, taken from http://www.keepercorp.com/prod/vrs1.htm

4HOW TO CHOOSE A RECOVERY STRAP

Estimate the weight of the disabled vehicle being towed or rescued. Then choose a Keeper towing product with a Max. Vehicle Weight designation greater than the total vehicle weight.

4MUST READ BEFORE USE

1. Working Load Limit - represents the maximum vehicle weight a Recovery Strap can safely

handle and still accommodate the added stress caused by sudden jerking, tire suction,

friction and angle of pull. For this reason Keeper recommends that the maximum weight of

the disabled vehicle not exceed the limit shown on the strap that you are using.

2. ALWAYS USE EXTREME CAUTION. Stand clear!

If strap breaks or becomes disengaged, it will snap wildly.

3. Not recommended for highway use.

4. Protect strap from sharp edges or heat. Replace if cut, worn, frayed, melted or abraded.

5. Do not use for lifting.

towstrapON.jpg
4OPERATING INSTRUCTIONS

1. Attach only to vehicle frame or hitch strong

enough for extreme towing stress.

DO NOT USE

PORTABLE METAL HARDWARE

such as hooks or

chain to attach strap to vehicle.

2. To attach to frame, form a loop around the frame

by passing one end loop through the other

(as shown in the photo to the left). Or attach to

tractor hitch pin or frame mounted tow hook

strong enough for extreme towing stress.

3. Tie a rag around strap to protect from sharp edges. Be particularly careful of sharp

edge on bottom of bumper.

DRIVE SLOWLY away from stuck vehicle until strap stops stretching. The strap will

recoil and free the stuck vehicle.

USE EXTREME CAUTION and STAND CLEAR.

5. To reduce potential whipping, lay blanket or coat over the strap after vehicle

attachment.

REMEMBER, if the strap is overloaded or improperly fastened,

it could snap loose like a rubber band and cause injury.

6. At stop or when slowing down, keep tension on the strap to avoid abrasion from road.

Welcome. Winch - very useful if you are travelling only in one vehicle

Edited by Yeobh