Biohazard 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Share June 18, 2007 Hi guys, 2 weeks back i went to my regular installer (Season audio) to get a quote on ICE for my new ride. Actually wanted to get him to install DLS components but he recommended Danish acoustics to me. Since his test car is @ Ubi, i could not find time to audition. Just wondering how is this set compared to DLS? My previous ride was on DLS and seriously I'm reluctant to switch brands. So need advice from gurus here. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched June 18, 2007 Share June 18, 2007 you damn funny leh, signature kena bitten by serpent but avatar vtec one danish accoustics, paging for bro protege... FR wanted Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Biohazard 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Author Share June 18, 2007 Funny? Bought a CL7R coz no $$ to get a Alfa mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Share June 18, 2007 DLS has so many models. So it all depends on which model you are comparing the Danish with. Anyway, I won't be giving a full review, just a short one. You can see more info about Danish at www.sgsoundsystem.com under component speakers discussion. For me, the Danish are sweet and detailed sounding. They are not overly bright and not overly warm. It all depends on what amps you match with. When I was using my Audison, I am losing details due to the warmer characteristics of the amp and the amp is also not as powerful. Once I switch over to the Tru Techs, the Danish sounds much more detailed, clean and the staging open up! To me, its a good value for money speaker. For your info, the tweeter is supposedly made by Seas Lotus with improvement over Seas Lotus design. As for the midbass, its very punchy and tight. Therefore, I would personally recommend this speaker even though there are plenty of better speakers out there. However, do compare the price you fork out for the Danish compared to the other speakers you are getting and then decide which sounds better to you. To me, trust the ears! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Share June 18, 2007 Wah bro, still can remember I am using Danish Acoustis ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Biohazard 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Author Share June 18, 2007 Wah liew! Any chance to audition your setup?? The way you describe makes me feel its the right components for me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Share June 18, 2007 eh.. can PM or reveal the price of the component of this danish? Happen to sit in a friend's car to listen this afternoon and I kind of like it as well but forget to ask the price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Share June 18, 2007 $700+ IIRC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Share June 18, 2007 wooo.. that's rather steep (IMHO)... but then, the sound produced is equivalent to the high end of Rainbox and Focal.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Share June 18, 2007 Audit my setup? Sure. Actually you can go down to Carsounds to audit. They have one demo car with DA speakers running on Audison amps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Share June 18, 2007 Bro, The price for Danish is consider average. Actually some people will classify as below average. For your info, high end Rainbow can cost more than 5K. As for Focal, their mid range stuff is 1+k while their top end Utopia BE is around 4k. Anyway I believe the Danish is pretty value for money IMHO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Share June 18, 2007 ah.. as you can see.. I'm nuts on ICE stuff. Guess I need to do more homework.. trying to find a suitable component for my Helix Amp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Share June 18, 2007 Bro, Take time to do research. To me, go surf the www.sgsoundsystem.com forum. they have pretty good info there. Their WTS section also have good stuff. Always remember proper matching will give you good results. Last but not least, listen to your ears to make judgement. A system that win awards but sounds bad to you is not a good system for you! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Share June 18, 2007 Ya.. I'm reading SGsound now.. Agreed that their WTS have plenty of good stuff.. But I'm not so much of a ICE person, so looking for ok stuff to match the helix.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Share June 18, 2007 To me, search wisely and search within your budget. The most important is to choose something that make your ear happy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Biohazard 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Author Share June 18, 2007 Audit my setup? Sure. Actually you can go down to Carsounds to audit. They have one demo car with DA speakers running on Audison amps. My installer also has demo cars with DA speakers. Just that I'm trying to hold myself coz u know lah. Once u kena the poison, there's no way turning back Anyway if i can rem, he quoted me 6K for my car and i was like but since he knows me pretty well, i'm quite confident of his taste just that I can't bear to leave DLS for another make as of now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Share June 18, 2007 6K? What does it include? 6K can get pretty good setup which can include HU, amps, speaker & sub. To me, I believe the DLS Iridiums and above are warm and sweet sounding. But the price is pretty steep. And I believe all the DLS are made in their Taiwan factory now, so wondering whether is it worth paying so much. For your info, I have frens who bought DLS from Taiwan )original) which is much cheaper than local price. Anyway, go with your ears and if you trust your installer, then you can go for his recommendation! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Biohazard 1st Gear June 18, 2007 Author Share June 18, 2007 Can't rem all. Just a small list, 01 set of DA components, 2 amps, 1 12" sub, P80 and sound proofing, oh ya i rem he was saying something about fabricating the panel for the components. Have to leave the car for 1 week for him to install, run-in and tuning ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...