Vans with Roof Rack

Yaoxing

Are vans allowed to install roof racks? I just saw one a few nights ago.... and with lots of stuff inside as well as on top of the van, travelling at about 80 km/h along CTE. hehehe.... took a boliao video of it using my car cam as usual... [sleeping]

y not

they come with original roof rack and mounting points

and yes

u are damn boliao

Edited by Furrynadz

Bolian van....already so much space inside to store stuffs..yet want to install roof rack to carry somemore.

They should get a 14ft lorry instead if they want to carry more stuff.

Just imagine during an emergency brake, any loose pipes/metal bars on the roof rack may fly forward and impale on another car, worst case onto a motocyclist!

erm...wat is wrong with van having roof rack and utilising it?? confused.gif better than some cars with roof rack but dun even use it for once....now that is wat i call bo liao...laugh.giflaugh.giftongue.gif

Yup agree with you actually. Can you help these vans owners speak to the factory & tell them it's bo-liao to have roof rack when there's already so much space. But you must first teach them the meaning of bo-liao ok bcos they sometimes are makes from Germany, French or Japan hor. Come to think of it...ppl who come here to surf maybe also all bo-liao & nothing to do hor? Many thanks...

Edited by Unfazed

i drove a van, yes it's boliao to install roof rack in SG [laugh]

unless u windsurf and ur surfboard is too long to even fit in the cargo hold. but vans like kangoo and perhaps berlingo, partner etc have roof flap to allow long items to stick out.

increase FC, drag, and chances of hitting the MSCP ceiling.. boliao indeed. [rolleyes]

i think roofracks are something of a fashion accessory here. much like the bull bars of SUVs and fancy but totally useless spoilers. [rolleyes]

roofracks do make a van look more purposeful. but there's not much u can put on a rack that u can't stuff into the hold.

on cars, they are plain ugly but no one uses them as decoration. usually used for bikes or extra luggage compartments..

This is my usual setup, with el cheapo digicam in front mounted on a tripod screw that's superglued to a CDR coaster which has two layers of non-slip mat underneath (one glued to the CDR, one placed on the dashboard), and my Holux GPSr blutacked to the dashboard, and Dell Axim PPC and Motorola V3x mounted on the cradles. Wiring (for chargers) is all by blutack, very unrefined.

post-1-1182259532_thumb.jpg

post-1-1182259533_thumb.jpg

These things are just for fun most of the time, but sometimes I feel they may come in useful one day for disputing the cause of accidents.

When I leave my car I bring along the PPC and phone. I only leave the GPSr and wires bluetacked to the panels. The camera is tucked away on my armrest, usually covered with a non-slip mat.

actualli...my goo has roof racks

but its more to accessories i suppose...

wink.gif

and def not bo liao like wad some said lor shakehead.gif

i drove a van, yes it's boliao to install roof rack in SG laugh.gif

unless u windsurf and ur surfboard is too long to even fit in the cargo hold. but vans like kangoo and perhaps berlingo, partner etc have roof flap to allow long items to stick out.

increase FC, drag, and chances of hitting the MSCP ceiling.. boliao indeed. rolleyes.gif