Boyboy 1st Gear June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 If the parking attendant is 100m away.. and headed ur way.. My lot in question is just outside bukit timah shopping center, parallel lots by the road. I saw the parking attendant and thought: DAMN! now do i wait until she passes, assuming she comes my way, or just chiong up n take the risk? actually, it was a blessing in disguise. I was actually leaving the car when I saw her. decided to tear off 50c. reason being that if she see me waiting in the car, she might know i'm waiting for her to pass or make me tear coupon anyway. i probably escaped a 50 dollar (or whatever amount that offence is worth) fine today btw, the cheque was for a maid agency on the 3rd floor. i took my own sweet time, and was done in less than 10 min. if i chiong up, 5 min max ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 I take risk every morning when i am buying food. normally less than 5 mins.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 if attendant insight, put. not insight..haha gamble la! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boxster 2nd Gear June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 (edited) No choice lah attendent there must put even though some may say they give 5 min grace. If no attendent 5 mins get ticket is like but 4d and strike But I rembered once I buying things, I've already ordered and was waiting for goods. Suddenly someone say attendent is here a lot of ppl quickly went to their cars. I quickly go back to my car (within 20m) and 'guard' it when the attendent was here I asked for 5mins . The attendent carried on with other vehicles and I went back to the shop and collect my goods and leave happily Edited June 11, 2007 by Boxster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vince69 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 happen to me one time, parked at my dad's place but realised I ran out of parking coupon, I can drive to the petrol station across the road, buy coupon then drive back, or I can dash across the road, buy coupon and come back... I was lucky, I ask the parking attentant that I ran out of coupon and if I can just go across the road and buy then come back... she say ok just don't take too long... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mussorgsky Neutral Newbie June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 I encountered one time with the carpark attendant as I park my vehicle for 5 minutes on the motorcycle lots. He told me that I should put hazard light if I am going away for a few mins. So guys.. if you are away for a few mins.. just park at correct lots or double yellow lines and put hazard lights. It should be safe.. Actually that attendant slip his tougue when he told me this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alanswan Neutral Newbie June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 (edited) I actually encountered something similar.... Parked at a proper lot, but never put coupon. Just grabbing something from a shop 10m away. Attendant was nearby, but I didn't know, cos he was wearing a jacket. When I walked past him, he told me to put coupon, I told him only 5 mins... He wasn't very convinced, but after some negotiations, we compromised that if I not back in 5mins, he book me. I was gone in under 3 mins... Edited June 11, 2007 by Alanswan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 i will not put coupon, however i will on my hazard light. there was 1 incident, there was no parking space, so i stopped on the double yellow line with hazard light on do pick up some stuff from a shop nearby. i saw the warden coming and told her to give me 5 mins to pick up something. she said max 5 mins, else she will issue a summon. i return less than 5 mins and no summon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear June 11, 2007 Author Share June 11, 2007 (edited) ur case, it's usually fine. but i did hear of pple who were asked to put coupon or drive away while waiting in their car. which was why i didn't wait out the attendant edit: does anyone remember the case where two wardens booked a guy who was buying fruit? then they proceeded to park their bikes illegally and kena STOMPED by the motorist. some guailan kia wardens wun give face . with a bit of graciousness, 5 min w/o coupon shd be fine, but some pple just like to make life difficult for others. Edited June 11, 2007 by Boyboy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 I will not if i'm sure I wouldn't take more than 5mins. Most warden wouldn't give you a ticket striaght away. They will key in your car details and only issue a ticket if you are still not back after some time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 I simply switch on hazard light.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear June 11, 2007 Author Share June 11, 2007 ok.. next time shall switch on hazards and make sure under 5 min Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaer Neutral Newbie June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 I'll put on the hazard lights and do a quick one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 Better put. The attendant at Bukit Timah Shopping Center is very hardworking. No joke. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 I will take the risk ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 if they had those pro rated charges by cashcard , 5 min = only ten cents nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legendary Clutched June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 i kena at Serangoon Gardens DBS bank... juz went to withdraw $$ for 5 mins maximum, came back to the car, the attendant was in the process of issuing summon. I told her to stop, she bo chap me and carried on keying. Then she print out summon and stuck under wiper and replied me that too late, summon already issued. KNN Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged June 11, 2007 Share June 11, 2007 i thought those pro rated charge 10 mins exit free?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...