OPC Offender

Picanto

there is no way that the govt will withdraw the OPC scheme. Think of the petrol, season parking and road taxes that they stand to lose.

worse come to the worse, govt will implement a GPS system to track OPCs. cost will be borne by these owners.

I like that, then when my car kana stolen, can track where it is.

I suppose feedback unit or LTA. Someone brought this up several months ago but LTA's reply was the standard, often pointless, official one that does not address the question at all.

Be careful what u wish for. LTA may suddenly decide to extent weekdays to 8pm (-5hrs), then give u Sat start from 10pm (+5hrs).

Right now, those who need to travel every sat morn, they tear $20 per week, but if weekday change to 8pm, those who need to drive every weekday from 7pm, they tear $100 coupon a week.

is damn sickening dat if need it urgently then have to wait for singpost to open at 8am(think which is the earliest)

if tell ppl to stock up for the coupon then i think is stupid lo cos is not cheap lo

$20 per piece,mostly i only stand by 1 piece

Personally I feel that the 2 issues are 1, look at the change in bus lanes timing as example.

Also, since when govt so good give out things to us for free? They give things only when they want to take things. Eg, 7%GST+GST Offset Package, want more cars ownership+increase ERP, etc etc.

lots of OPC cars are not displaying coupons... very rampant on ECP and Pasir Panjang rd every morning. i'm usually out on the roads about 2-3 minutes before 7am, and sometimes it really irks me especially when the OPC cars are dashing madly and recklessly in and out on the roads trying to run against time. frankly, i doubt they ever make it to the location by 7am since they are still on ECP (just after Changi airport) at 6.59am or some worse minutes after 7am.

I not against OPC either but i feel tat dashing madly and recklessly in order to make to the destination on time is a NO NO attitute. should condamn this type of attitute. just tear a coupon lor if its over 7am. safety come first.

To all OPC owners,

say 1 keng the $20 coupon everyday for whole 1 year, his risk of getting caught is almost as good as 100%.

and for that $5000 fine, one can get over 20pcs day coupon per month for that year.

make it on average, you can drive 25 days a month..

so, why take the bill the hardway?

I choose to pay it in instalment, $20 per day.

if I don't drive for the day, I save.

bdw, $5000 is for 1st offend, can go up to $20k I heard.

do the math.

how TP / ROV will know where is his destination?

everyone get caught will tell, I wanna go the building next 2 lamp pole only..

lolz

The TP can display flexibility in such cases. The rule is hard as rock, but the human being acting for the rule can be compassionate.

The personnel on the ground can check the IC for the address or name card for the workplace address. If the offender was caught nearby, compassion and flexibility can be shown and the offender let off.

Just these two address should be taken in account. Other addresses of course, cannot be be verified so no chance should be given.

Bro, dun have to like tat leh! i used to drive normal plate car, from Mazda 121 to Vios but due to my working hours, drive to work park car for 8-12 hours, then drive home park at carpark! very low usage of car, then yearly road tax about $900 so after some calculation decided to switch to OPC cos suits me working hour except that i have to wake up early! I go out to work at 6.15am reach office before 7am then sleep in car till 8.30am (as my working hour is 9am), nite time leave office 7plus reach home 8 plus (due to jam)! then when on leave on weekday or sometime saturday morning need to utilise the car put $20 loh! the Pros is i save $17 k when buying car and $800 on road tax, Cons is have to wakup early and reach home late, bo pian mah! i poor mah! so downgrade loh! so if ppl all suggest OPC to follow bus lane timing to 8pm then win liao loh! blush.gif dun have to be like tat mah! So sad! smallcry.gif

OPC cars on expressway... take for instance on ECP, think it's unlikely for the driver to be only driving to east coast for breakfast and then walk all the way to say suntec for work... illogical sense.

Rules are rules, no argument about it. Compassion is only being exceptionally nice, while following rules is the way... compassion if used incorrectly is abusing the system.