Sgnick 1st Gear June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 (edited) To red-eyed folks they see: Non-cheating OPC on road = low-life pests Cheating OPC on road = terrorist So it's a moral obligation to report terrorist activites. Edited June 12, 2007 by Sgnick ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civicblade 2nd Gear June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 Agreed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 lets be honest la. all those who wan to report must be those who are paying for full fledged cars and thus jealous that others are cheating their way out. stop kidding ourselves... while i am not for the cheating part, i feel if people want to catch opc at 7.03am is plain ridiculous. there isnt a moral duty, just simply to make yourselves feel better. same goes for those who report window tinting, illegal mods, etc. etc. seriously, there are also other "crimes" to catch if u want to do so. morally speaking, selling all ur material possessions and buy a container of food for some of the starving children would be the better choice if u wana fulfil some higher calling for one's moral obligations. spiderman and superman nvr catch opc offenders lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Derrick Neutral Newbie June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 Well said. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan78 Neutral Newbie June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 Surprises me that it pisses so many people to see OPC travelling during day time to warrant them to check whether they did tear a coupon... And to conclude that one isn't civic minded or don't have any morals if you dun report it when you see one is way over the moon in my opinion.. Isn't the off-peak scheme meant to be a fair system where people who genuinely only use their cars during non-working hours don't have to pay hefty fees which are meant to control the usage of our roads during office peak hours? So if one decides to cheat the system (where he does bear the huge penalty if he ever got caught) and abuse its purpose, the one who isn't civic minded or have any morals would be him... when has it ever got anything to do with me if i happen to see him? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 I like how u put your point across. Hmmm...didnt know ppl can tag OPC cars with so many things. Ok...Lets see how bo-liao and stupid some of comments are. 1) 7pm onwards traffic jams are caused by OPC cars 2) not reporting a OPC offender is equivalent to not reporting a rapist and molest case. 3) OPC timing should change accordinglg to Bus lanes timing 4) Ambush a OPC offender and bang his car so that a) thier insurance kena claim, b) kena heafy fine c) re-do/paint the car for free. 5) tag OPC electronically as if they are all criminals 6) Not reporting OPC offenders will encourage more OPC to cheat the timing 7) Reporting a OPC offender reminded somebody he feels like spiderman and superman 8) 1/2 a OPC car can cause jam liao 9) OPC offender crime is the same as driving while talking with HP in hand, drunk drinking, jumping from standard seats to grand-stand seats in a rock concert. 10) Last and not the least...my favourite....Report OPC offender is a moral responsibility Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 Good summary! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flameevil Neutral Newbie June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 seriously i doubt anyone will stop that car just so he can report the driver to tp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitlander Neutral Newbie June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 helo newbie here. also a OPC owner. what r we discussing abt here actually? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silversti Neutral Newbie June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 My advise is Don't stop them..or you will might get into a situation of the taxi and the poor dead man who died recently..Don't pray pray ah.. BTW how to see if they tear the coupon or not? frankly I am a little suaku about this.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear June 13, 2007 Share June 13, 2007 Quote wah, this thread on OPC super long man.. i am not driving OPC but i cannot be bothered whether they put coupon or not. if they choose to take risk and risk fine of 5k-10k, its their business.. they buy cars at 17k cheaper and pay $800 lesser in road tax every year, its also their business. i wouldnt even bother looking at the OPC when on the road to see whether they have coupon display or not (unless its a chio gal, then i look at driver). why bother? we look at their car to see coupon, for that split second some idiots infront of me brake his car then how? if the OPC never put coupon then i super tulan, should i feel that i should be a good servant to LTA and report him? would LTA even buy me a cup of coffee for the effort to type them a letter, show them evidence etc? would that blood pressure boiling at that point be worth it? i would rather watch my own road, be happy for the rest of the day. certain i will voice, but this issue, i cannot be bothered. by nature, i am not a mild driver, i have F some drivers who really are axxxxxes.. i quarrel with them and F them (of course no fighting) i must agree with u 101% but then again, i'm not a green-eyed monster who feels like causing someone to tio heavy fine cos they save on some peanut $20. wanna report, report errant driving, illegal parking etc etc. I usually bao toh illegal parkers in my neighbourhood if they cause obstruction. OPC offenders in comparison, dun affect anyone, other than to make pple jealous Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear June 13, 2007 Share June 13, 2007 Quote Surprises me that it pisses so many people to see OPC travelling during day time to warrant them to check whether they did tear a coupon... And to conclude that one isn't civic minded or don't have any morals if you dun report it when you see one is way over the moon in my opinion.. Isn't the off-peak scheme meant to be a fair system where people who genuinely only use their cars during non-working hours don't have to pay hefty fees which are meant to control the usage of our roads during office peak hours? So if one decides to cheat the system (where he does bear the huge penalty if he ever got caught) and abuse its purpose, the one who isn't civic minded or have any morals would be him... when has it ever got anything to do with me if i happen to see him? indeed, the root of this is the OPC offender. no morals indeed! condemned to the furthest reaches of hell too!!! however, i fail to see that if i see OPC offender and choose to to look the other way, i have failed to do my moral obligation. alamak.. i already pardoned so many errant taxi drivers, can i look the other way if i see OPC offender? btw, i usually dun even bother to look at their coupon. so how? shirking moral duty? bro, i reply to u, but my sarcasm isn't directed at u hor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kerk Neutral Newbie June 13, 2007 Share June 13, 2007 Quote would any of you report to the TP/LTA if you happen to see OPC driving without displaying coupons? some may think its unfair for them to be on the road during peak hours cos they got $17k and road tax rebate already. you really have nothing to do rite.. OPC never put ccoupons you wan to complaint.. really dame boliao.. you might as well go and work as a TP and catch all those law-breaker. in SG got you this kind of ppl no wonder so many problem around... complaint complaint complaint. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged June 13, 2007 Share June 13, 2007 i agree.y must ppl complaint so much if it ain't their prob?is it in any way affecting these ppl's lives that they wanna complain abt opc not putting coupon?if u r soooo red eye abt these type of opc drivers...den...if u cant beat them...join them! buy i'm sure these ppl will say..."y would i wan an opc when i can/need to buy a normal plate car?"...den if that's de case...jus shut de hell up! we see law breakers almost everyday.so do we complain/report abt them everytime?jus take care of your own lives...n be happy wif wat u hv.don hv to bother abt wat ppl have or do. n by de way...i drive OPC.but so far...haven't had de guts to try n cheat.de fine is too much.but to those who wanna try their luck...den good luck to them! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moskito77 Neutral Newbie June 13, 2007 Share June 13, 2007 Quote Just wanted to share some thoughts. OPC vs normal car: $17K off normal car price, and $800 off road tax per year. Taking the car to the 10 years allowed for that 1 COE, that's $2500/year savings = 125 coupons/year. (ie, 125 'normal' day usage per year) OPC violation: Max fine:$20000. My views: If normal car users see OPC without valid coupons, it's their choice to act as they deem fit. If they feel that strongly enough to report the case, by all means, please do. OPC owners know the requirements/restrictions for the usage of the car under the scheme. The penalties of misuse/abuse is also made known to all. For those who stick to the rules, no issue. For those who chose to cheat; their choice, but also their risk. They will have to bear the consequences if they are caught. A car is still a car, we pay different rates for different usage plans. Just like internet connections and mobile phone plans. If you feel that you have a bad deal, CHOOSE to change. Don't blame others for having a better plan. well said. bravo! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moskito77 Neutral Newbie June 13, 2007 Share June 13, 2007 I think those complain-kings have the idea OPC car engine is made of paper and plastics.. hahaha.. 1 question, if you see a motorise bicycle on road.. how? LPPL, no license plate, never pay road tax, and best part no need license.. capture a picture of the fella and put out a wanted poster wif the fella's face?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged June 13, 2007 Share June 13, 2007 how abt standing outside the male toylet and ensure that every male who exits remembered to zip up or they will be outraging the modesty of the womenfolk... Be a Singaporean not a sinkaporean. The lightning gods are laughing their asses off because they realised this a long time ago... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benphay Neutral Newbie June 13, 2007 Share June 13, 2007 I will be driving my OPC from 9am this sat..need to run some errands..but will put coupon..see me on the road pls dun be angry ok!! I will try to keep clear of normal car FRONT, BACK, LEFT, RIGHT..I will stick to left lane..when parking, i will park level 6 of MSCP..I will give way to normal car.. Am thinking of putting a GIANT decal on my rear windscreen reading "I GOT TEAR COUPON!!" I understand that the initial discussion is whether do we report "OPC offender", but somehow this thread becomes "OPC is offender" haha..think only a minority of normal car have this "RED EYE" mindset..the majority are good drivers..they wont look down on OPC and will mind their own business.. To RED EYE drivers..checked with LTA..you can convert your babe to a OPC..just rebate the road tax back..but not entitled to 17K, not even pro-rated.. To NON RED EYE drivers..lets work together to make the road a safer place..down with impatient drivers..irresponsible drivers..reckless drivers..showoff drivers..give way to bikes..they may be sometimes reckless..but they are not protected..ultimately..its a life loss. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...