OPC Offender

Picanto

btw, for electronic tagging, imho, can start new topic if there's no prev topic discussing it [;)][;)]

Good day,

Base on what???

Km travel over 10 years again the car price....

On the assumption that most OPCs are mainly driven on weekend with occasional short trips on weekdays and base on the cost of the car itself. (That's the case of 9 out of 10 OPCs in my estate.) So OPCs with low-usage vs normal car with normal usage over a period 10yrs...the former actually cost more to own than the latter.

Good day,

If 1 to 6 is free, you should be correct.

1. The amount of petrol you paid.

2. The amount of parking for coupons and E-card you used.

3. The yearly road tax

4. Your working place parking cost.

5. ERP use paid

6. Your every interval (base on mileage) maintenance cost (Change all type of oil and change a lot of things written in your manual)

nothing can be free in this country. OPC saves on fuel, ERP, road tax, depreciation, parking. but if kena caught for cheating, years of savings on the above mentioned can go down the drain in just one fine.

I cannot understand why you are saying that I am being personal. I did not call you names of any sorts. Or did I? You mentioned electronic tagging and this insinuates that OPC owners are criminals as only criminals and the like are electronically tagged to monitor their movements for the security of the population at large. OPC owners or OPC cheats are no security threats. They want to cheat, they answer for it. I suggested that we do not treat OPC owners like criminals, illegitimates or second-class citizens. Nowhere did I say you said it. Did I?

You wondered and solicited for reactions. I gave you mine albeit it was a little "crude" for you to stomach. [:)]

Personally I do not see any need whatsover to improve the OPC system. It is working fine. It is a first class system devised by our authorities to alleviate the congestion problem and at the same time allow for more car ownership. If you have read the news a couple of months back, the Canadian Road Transport authorities are saying that this is a brilliant system for their congested cities and are contemplating implementing it. Of course it can always be fine-tuned. But the crazy frenzy over a few OPC offenders.....? [shakehead]

You will always find black-sheeps in every segment of society. People cheat a little here and there everyday. They feel good. Ego boosted. But do you all the time go around snooping on people to see if they cheat and report them to the authorities so that you don't lose out. Again that boost your ego and it makes your day? I don't believe so.

LTA can abolish the $20 day driving scheme and there will be no more OPC offenders.

But I dun think this will ever happen.

[laugh] Sorry, then maybe i was sensitive..but I must maintain that when i said tag, i do not mean in a criminal sense.

My intentions as I stated in the other thread, is to minimise this kind of conflict...Perhaps you would like to contribute over the other thread? Bro Sgnick came up with a good one...I wonder if you agree..

Sorry, I'm not like you...when I use parking coupon, I don't cheat for that 5 mins.

That's a serious accusation here. but u are a hypocrite as i shall reveal soon enough

But for whatever reasons I have, I might choose to make an effort not to put parking coupon at all...

So, you are worse than what u accuse me to be [shakehead]

sorry for making u look like a self-righteous hypocrite [rolleyes]

btw, if u return to your car even 5 min after ur coupon expires, that's an offence if u wanna be as anal as u seem to be.

so, my friend, please come off your high horse. that's my message to you. u wanna bao toh pple, there's a lot more worthy causes to bao toh. why not try to catch drink drivers, for one?

btw, i'm not targeting either parking offenders nor have i been defending OPC offenders.

my car plate is black [flowerface]

If you re-read my posting, perhaps, you will get what I mean. [laugh]

hi guys

stop quarelling over this issue. lets get back to the main point. i dun think there is anybody doing personal attacks, so if his/her views do not agree with you, it does not mean he/she hate you. we are adults, not kids anymore.

I agree, the topic is whether we as road users should do our moral duty of reporting an offence.

The answer lies in the whether you as an individual can spend the time, effort to continue thru if prosecution of that particular offender is being pursued by the authorities after you have made the choice of lodging a report.

There are many similiar incidents such as this thread. Like illegal modification of vehicles, handphone driving,illeagal parking etc. which are open to anyone wanting to lodge a report on that particular car and driver.

My personal feeling is.. if you can gather the appropriate evidence...is to make the report.

But I get the feeling that Sillyporens are generally the ' DON"T WANT LAH, not my business I do no want trouble lah' type of ppl.

Could this be a governmental system that has caused the ppl to be like this or is this a cultural shyness inherent of Asian ppl? [;)]

If you were to see this OPC almost at the entrance to a carpark at 7.03am, will you do your "moral duty" of gathering evidence, taking photos, reporting to authorities, presenting yourself as witness to make sure that the OPC offender gets at least $5000 fine in court? When at 7.04am the OPC was parked and idle until 7pm. Technically it was an offence.

Assuming I want to gather evidence, how to do so ah? I can always set my camera time to 8am, then take picture of a legal OPC on the road at 6:40am. Then send in to ROV reporting him driving at 8am. U think camera time is acceptable as evidence, then anyone can frame any OPC liao?

Unless I can get a picture of the car front clearly without coupon, plus the ERP gantry timing showing 8am also in the same picture. Very difficult to get this shot.

So far only way is to report, then wait for ROV to try to catch that person red handed.

Edited by Sgnick

hard to proof the timing in most cases. today saw another 2 OPC cars without coupons. one was a black hatch (think its a Getz) on the road at 7.15am without coupon. the car was driving along west coast highway and turning into pandan cresent. presuming his workplace is at pandan cresent, it will be easy for LTA or ROV to lay an ambush for him since chances are he's doing it everyday.

wah, this thread on OPC super long man.. i am not driving OPC but i cannot be bothered whether they put coupon or not.

if they choose to take risk and risk fine of 5k-10k, its their business.. they buy cars at 17k cheaper and pay $800 lesser in road tax every year, its also their business. i wouldnt even bother looking at the OPC when on the road to see whether they have coupon display or not (unless its a chio gal, then i look at driver).

why bother? we look at their car to see coupon, for that split second some idiots infront of me brake his car then how?

if the OPC never put coupon then i super tulan, should i feel that i should be a good servant to LTA and report him? would LTA even buy me a cup of coffee for the effort to type them a letter, show them evidence etc? would that blood pressure boiling at that point be worth it?

i would rather watch my own road, be happy for the rest of the day.

certain i will voice, but this issue, i cannot be bothered. by nature, i am not a mild driver, i have F some drivers who really are axxxxxes.. i quarrel with them and F them (of course no fighting)

gathering evidence requires time and effort. if they are going to charge the offender, the 'reporter' may have to go to court to be a witness. would anyone be willing to apply leave from work to do this?

and when the offender kena fined, there is no reward from the LTA at all.

If i report and TP catch that person red-handed, don't need any witness already.

Edited by Sgnick