OPC Offender

Picanto

True, the more little they are, the more thrill they feel.

In actual fact, the saving is so little as compared if they are being caught one day. If they are fine $20k at one shot, then it really defeats the purpose of having an OPC, plus all the trouble of buying coupons, topping up, tearing, timings, etc.

Not worth it at all right? OPC offender? [:)]

This OPC option is simply one of several measures the authorities came up with to deal with congestion...mainly, road space limited, singaporeans getting better off all wanna own car, this despite high vehicle tax and road tax..so...

COE comes along, Park and ride comes along, OPC comes along. The 'official' view is of course couched nicely, but from LTA's replies to public on OPC, they will always say its to address both needs, ie to allow enjoyment of car, + address problem of lessening road space...

Think most OPC owners are getting defensive over the posts here..The sentiment should be specified...it is not anti OPC. it is anti-OPC owners who abuse the system.

It is this group who seeks to benefit when they already have benefitted from the OPC system that should be held responsible...not the OPC owners who abide by the rules...

[nod][nod][nod]

So if next time more and more car on the road, rush hours extend to 10pm... then OPC driver can only drive after 10pm???? or rush hours extend to 12 midnight, OPC driver can only drive their car out for supper only..... sigh.... leave them alone, not as if they commit a serious crime like rape or murder..... they like to take the chance, so be it... if kena caught, god bless them, becuase the garment won't..... just like sometime people tear parking coupon, eat 5 min hee, 15 min there.... we are all taking chance, if kena, LL lor.... and ya, don't know why some of you hate OPC..... they murder or rape your family member???? or you simply hate the Rad color plate.......... sigh.....

Coolz...bro. To all who support that OPC timing usage to change to 8pm. After looking at all the discussions, I decided to intervene alittle. It's weird that the finger is pointed at OPC car to the congestion. Ask yourselves this, of all the car population, how many % belong to OPC cars? Let's say all of them come out otr on the dot at 7pm evenly spreaded thru out the island, will that be a big jam? And if they suddnely disappear, will the rds be so much less congested? C'mon Singaporeans, if wanna drive during peak hrs, dun complain jam. If wanna complain jam, simply dun drive. It is us vain Singaporeans who drool the moment we c cars like we have never seen anything in our life before, so car ownership bcomes a big big dream & this shows how little we are. Many ppl esp youngster who just steps into the working life bought a car. Ppl who dun really need a car also buy a car. some even just buy a car to drive to work, park then drive back. This goes to show how gd life or pampered Singaporeans are & how we like to complain. How many % of car owners in Sg really get a car bcos of a mutual need. I'd say most buy it due to a want factor more of a need factor so guys dun complain here that less OPC will have less jams.

Edited by Unfazed

Y normal plate people see red plate like see pests like that, see until eyes red red?

I been driving normal plate to work for last 6 years, every morning I will drive on expressway and contribute to the JAM. This year, I change to RED PLATE, stop driving to work.

Therefore, normal plate people, instead of see me as pest, I think u all should thank me for changing to OPC and lessening the JAM. [laugh]

And if I ever wash my car in MSCP, pls dun bao toh me can? Dun ask for OPC timing to 8pm, 9pm, 10pm can? Otherwise, I tulan will consider to change back to normal plate and we all JAM together every morning lor! [furious]

Edited by Sgnick

[replyAgree. The gov is the only one to benefit if we report. I think people who report it mainly do it out of jealousy which I find it's no better then those who scratch other car cos it's newer, better groomed, etc

Not same.

Reporting to TP is being a good citizen. [sly][thumbsup]

Those who scratch ppl's car are vandalism. [whip][whip]

Eh my ride got scratched by AD lor.. kns.. Can put up police report anot ah if its classified under vandalism.[/reply]

What has your car scrateched by AD got to do with the public? [hur] You go report if you wish. [laugh]

Oh, come on. Driving in MSCP is not contributing to the road conjestion.

You are right. Please note that under current regulations, you are not even supposed "to move" your OPC during restricted hours in the carpark, no need to talk about driving it to the washing bay.

I think it is not unreasonable to try and understand the logic of imposing similar penalties of driving OPC in car parks vs driving it on the roads, if the rationale of OPC scheme is to reduce congestion. Just sent the following to LTA to see what is their reply:

================================================================================

======

Dear Sir/Mdm,

Recently I was told by an LTA officer that using an OPC within HDB carparks (specifically MSCP) during restricted hours is not allowed without displaying a valid supplementary license, and is subject to the same penalties as using it on the roads. In the words of the officer, I am not allowed "to move" the car at all.

This means that I am not allowed to drive to a car washing bay even if it is just next to where I park my car, unless I use a valid supplementary license which costs $20.

I have some questions with regards to this that I hope LTA can clarify:

1. Since one of the rationale behind the OPC scheme is to reduce traffic congestion on the roads, how will driving within a MSCP contribute to traffic congestion?

2. If HDB car parks are also considered to be "public roads", how much congestion would it cause in the car parks for some OPC to drive to the washing bay?

3. Since we are not allowed to park in a washing bay, can there be some flexibility to allow OPC owners to drive within the car park? After all, the only reason I can think of to do that would be to drive to the washing bay to wash the car and then drive to park the car.

4. It is not stated anywhere in the LTA website that an OPC is not to be moved at all, even within car parks during restricted hours. This brings out a very different meaning to what is being stated on the website which is not "to use" the OPC, which is easily interpreted as not driving it on the roads. It would be unfortunate and perhaps, unfair to the OPC owner if such information is not conveyed clearly and he pays a fine amounting to thousands because of this.

While I applaud the spirit and rationale behind the OPC scheme, I hope LTA can finetune where necessary to make the system more sensible and beneficial to all.

Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you

Aiyah, dun chiu know, red plates can cause jam anywhere they appear? Dun talk about 1 red plate, half a red plate can also cause half a jam. [rolleyes]

....was thinking if like juz 2min past 7am i will also tio TP if i nv tear e $20 coupon? was thinking wa lao, wat if got pple need help along e road i stop down n help den i lagi worse miss out on e 7am curfew by juz a few min (like nt more dan 5min),...
I am sure some ROV will give chance if it's a diff of just a few mins and when you are already outside your destination. Cannot expect everyone to have a synchronised time..even ERP and other gov agencies are not 100% synchronised.

Wanna challenge the system, go ahead loh..warned u liao.

Do a search, I think some bros mentioned b4, there r 2 fella tat kenna tis b4.

one was bcos he drive down to the washing bay (MCSP) n kenna ambushed by tp, the other was bcos his car tio bird-shiate n he moved his car a few lots away n then kenna.

btw, u cant wash yr car other than the washing bay hor..(presuming u dun mind to carry pails of water up n down)[/reply]

I shifted my OPC car once during the restricted hrs due to painting work has to be done at the deck. If I have know it earlier, I'd avoid so somtimes situation like this leaves us with no choice thou. Sympathise those 2 which you have mention as they have no intention to gamble with the regulation.

Edited by Unfazed

juz hope wun run into tis kinda exceptional circumstances... lol...

Gremlin43, thanx 4 e email... but i wonder if they wld say anything like wat 1 person here in tis forum said earlier, tat some OPC might have e intention 2 drive OUT of e mscp but when bump into TP they give excuse say they go wash car. lol... but tis response, if given by e authorities, is easy 2 rebute n resolve. so letz juz sit n wait 4 e response!

IF pple c red plates they eyes red red, den my car also red le. even more of an eye-sore. lol

Actually to make it simple they can just put it such that driving anywhere IN the carpark, be it MSCP or surface is permissible. Only not allowed to drive OUT of it.

True, the more little they are, the more thrill they feel.

In actual fact, the saving is so little as compared if they are being caught one day. If they are fine $20k at one shot, then it really defeats the purpose of having an OPC, plus all the trouble of buying coupons, topping up, tearing, timings, etc.

Not worth it at all right? OPC offender? [:)]

the 17k savings to some is alot...at least to me. But to take that gamble is just not worth.

Agree it's not worth to take the gamble.

Actually those OPC offender is being very unfair to their fellow OPCs who abide by the law too. [:)]

Agree but seeing the discussion from OPC owners trying their luck to becoming personal & proclaiming OPC car contribute to jams really shows how far-fetched some MCFers can get. Read my earlier post...

What has OPC offender got to do with moral and conscience?

Who is the first place taxes the people so heavily for ownership of vehicles? Where did our tax money go to? Did our tax money goes to building more road to alleviate conjestions on the CTE? Was your tax money used to provide a comprehensive social security net for your fellow citizens? GST has to be increased to provide just $200 a year.

I will not report it. Doesn't endanger my life or make me lose anything....so it's ok with me. If they are not caught, then good luck to them....if they are caught..then they deserve it.

Me being an OPC owner too somtimes really shake my head to those offenders. All in all they are going against something that not even $ can buy, their conscience & their moral. This shows how little they are.

Edited by Civicblade

I think you have misunderstood me...I did not encourage nor condone behaviour like this. What has OPC offender gotto do with conscience & moral? I think very hard to explain to you bro & I dun think this is something profound too. Just like ppl shoplifting somthing that's only worth a few dollars but they can well afford it when u open their wallet. So it rules down to some ppl very pai kuan if you know hokkien. I think many MCFers here understand my meaning.

What has OPC offender got to do with other OPC car owners. What is the fairness that you are trying to bring across?

It is only about OPC offender against the authority, simple.

Edited by Civicblade

I, too, know of an OPC driving without displaying coupons. Evertime, I try to see if his coupon is hidden from my view. To make this matter worse, he usually does for a least 3 days per week. I did not exactly see him driving, he's not there in the morning but in the evening he's there. He picks up his kids from the childcare. His car is dented on the right front side and this damage has been there since a long time ago. So do you think he should be reported?

pple dun put parking coupon u think should report or not [rolleyes]

same principle, dun come n tell me $20 vs 0.50. or u never cheat even 5 min on parking coupon?