Crazy silver edix tailgating on highway during peak period

oomph

U mentioned u kept 3 car lengths during the morning rush hr...maybe he thought u deliberately keep such distances to edge him off.....just look ahead and don't look at the rear mirror....

yah

i just dont understand...how much faster can that edix driver achieve?

1 3 or 5 min?

will make a difference?

he go pang sai i think will take more time. [sly]

Edited by Vroomvroom

Er.. I dun quite understand. If he's behind you, how does he prevent you from fitering to the left??

Its 3 lanes aye towards town, morning rush hour traffic means everyone just move in tandem with each other - very tight, no overtaking for anyone... (yet this tailgater insists on smelling my exhaust smoke).

then reached CTE/ECP split 3-lane become six lanes, I'm in Lane 1 cars in Lane 2 filter out to ECP so eventually there's a space in the left lane today - its just because of all that additional lanes at this part of the highway.

if the left lane was clear, he could have overtaken. but he could not - at least until at this juncture.

of course i was going to filter at once there was a clearing, but as i said, you can tell that this guy was going to overtake from the left once it was possible.

the whole point is that there was no where else for us to go because of all the traffic - so why tailgate ? even if i tailgated the car in front of me where is he going to go ?

just to be clear i would have filtered to the left lane once the opportunity arose, but with this guy, I anticipated that he wouldn't give me the chance too - and I was right !

he tailgated my from AYE at ayer rajah all the way to the CTE split.

maybe when my sons grow up i'll hand them some lazer pointers to zap tailgaters right in the retinas of their eyes on my instructions lipsrsealed.gif

otherwise I think that I'll try the ABD (ahbengdriver) Method:

Step 1: Release yr throttle until 40kmh

Step 2: then step up to about 70kmh

Step 3: when he catch up again, repeat step 1

thumbsup.giflaugh.gif

if u mention step up until 70km/hr, then there is where ur mistake is..means u are road hogging...

I think this issue has been widely discussed before, why ppl tailgate and other party claim other ppl road hog....simple solution, if one cant keep up with the flow, pls filter to the left lane, let the sppedsters get summoned for speeding or watever reasons..

[reply]otherwise I think that I'll try the ABD (ahbengdriver) Method:

[reply]

For those tailgaters with fxxxxg bright HID lights and anyhow on fog lights, I have one extra step.

Step 3: when he catch up again, turn on my rear fog lights to counter his

Step 4: Repeat step 1

thx for supporting the Beng Movement [laugh]

Edited by Ahbengdriver

If i were in ur position and my OC n little princess not in car, i will play w him.

I will keep my speed same as my car on my left or right giving him no space to overtake.

if no car beside me, i will make sure my speed is so slow that will make him buay tahan n overtake me. I hate tailgaters. If u wanna die, go ahead n dun drag me along

are u joking or r u serious? ur posts always seem to be kinda humourous...

will u actually do it?

it kinda causes some lvl of inconvenience although workshops will provide a rented car etc....

*cos i do actually think of braking hard too especially when the driver drives extremely offensively....

Its 8.20+am Monday morning and you have the normal rush hour traffic on the AYE through to CTE and I have this Silver edix (no 4848 or 8484) tailgating me all the way from AYE to the CTE. Nothing I could do but keep my distance with the guy in front around 3 car lengths as I usually do.

No way to overtake until finally reach CTE where traffic on the left filters out to AYE and this bozo overtakes on the left. I exited at CTE Merchant Road exit to Boat Quay and ended up behind him again!

[hur]

Must be late for work, but why tailgate when theres NOTHING i could do about it. Unusually I decided to keep cool about it as usually i'll slow down/tap my brakes to shake him off my tail, but i didn't want to harard an accident (yes - he was that close) [furious]

what if i did tap on my brakes and resulted in an accident ? will he still be liable for all my damages even if i admitted to "tapping my brakes" (not that I'd want the complication) ?

[thumbsdown] idiot spoilt my morning drivetime [drivingcar]

I saw a decal that reads "The Closer You Are, The Slower I Drive".

Hoii simi joking, I ve done that to a blue jip car before along Thomson Road. I can see in my rear view mirror he lost his turbo boost. Took a while before the Tubo kicks in again.

You see these pee-ber drive like dat bcos they want to feel fast, and to them poking pee-ber tail is considered fast, the more stickers u have the faster ur car, the larger the exhaust esp slanted the faster(actually to me its like an oversized underwear), or the bigger the GT wing, the faster the car.

Nevermind to each his own taste and u can put whatever zhit on their car I dont care. Just dont tailgate esp with HID headlights and fog lights on, may cause accidents.

just to be clear i would have filtered to the left lane once the opportunity arose, but with this guy, I anticipated that he wouldn't give me the chance too - and I was right !

maybe when my sons grow up i'll hand them some lazer pointers to zap tailgaters right in the retinas of their eyes on my instructions lipsrsealed.gif

thumbsup.giflaugh.gif

if u mention step up until 70km/hr, then there is where ur mistake is..means u are road hogging...

I think this issue has been widely discussed before, why ppl tailgate and other party claim other ppl road hog....simple solution, if one cant keep up with the flow, pls filter to the left lane, let the sppedsters get summoned for speeding or watever reasons..

but of course !

in my case - traffic is so tight for everyone so why tailgate ? why don't you show me how to overtake at 8.30am AYE traffic tomorrow morning - i follow behind you (real close!) and learn

s'pore roads too many butt-kissers. they bring abt this attitude from work to the roads [;)]

i usually ignore them and just concentrate on my driving. no need to stress myself to shoo them off my back.

it helps to prevent high-blood pressure, heart problems, anxiety attacks, and wat nots. [:)]

If he's really tailgating, brake a bit, let him ebrake.. do that a few time and he will either keep a distance or filter off to overtake you.

But if he can overtake you, then I think you need to reflect on yourselves why he tailgate you. wink.gif

Agreed wholeheartedly.. not saying the TS is hogging tho'..

bro, if i were you...i would purposely slow down my speed and let him go even slower...untill he bey tahan...then i guess he would rather change his lane.

nowsaday alot crazy driver on the road.... [hur]

Then why you don't change lane and let him go?

The very reason why tailgater can change lane and move in front shows that someone in front is road hogging.

thumbsup.giflaugh.gif

Did you attempt to signal your intention to change lane or you presume he just want to eat your butt?

U mentioned u kept 3 car lengths during the morning rush hr...maybe he thought u deliberately keep such distances to edge him off.....just look ahead and don't look at the rear mirror....

Hmmmm .... I would have also tailgated him if he leaves a 3 car length gap on a Monday morning rush hour traffic. Especially so if every mothers' son is cutting-in infront of him and make me look like an idiot following behind.

thumbsup.giflaugh.gif

try my method..... tap the brake n speed off.... when he also start chasing give ur brake a hard jam.... sure make his balls go up the throat.... wahhaha....

:

In Reply To

Hmmmm .... I would have also tailgated him if he leaves a 3 car length gap on a Monday morning rush hour traffic. Especially so if every mothers' son is cutting-in infront of him and make me look like an idiot following behind.

wah lau - don't you'all read the thread or just repond to posts. its bumber to bumper traffic all lanes, packed by right lane travelling at 70kmh. no one is overtaking me. this guy has no where to go and is sniffing my bumber for a long time.

But what gets to me is that YOU ACTUALLY CONDONE TAILGATING i.e. you do it yourself ?

ARE YOU HIM OR DO YOU DRIVE LIKE HIM ?

If either, you should know that statistically you're running down your time and will get into an accident sooner than later.

Replying to : Sony

In Reply To

bro, if i were you...i would purposely slow down my speed and let him go even slower...untill he bey tahan...then i guess he would rather change his lane.

nowsaday alot crazy driver on the road.... Hur

Then why you don't change lane and let him go? The very reason why tailgater can change lane and move in front shows that someone in front is road hogging.

Again - let me repeat.

the whole tailgating is from start of ayer rajah to town CTE - this is quite a long route and the overtaking opportunity only took place at the end of this route when traffic cleared up to 70kmh.

i repeat again:

the whole tailgating is from start of ayer rajah to town CTE - this is quite a long route and the overtaking opportunity only took place at the end of this route when traffic cleared up to 70kmh.

and again:

and i paraphrase:

the tailgating occurred over a long time where there was no overtaking opportunity until the end.

get it now ?

I could not even filter to the left for the whole part of this incident because it was packed until the LAST PART...