Fluffy Clutched June 2, 2007 Share June 2, 2007 New VW 122 PS TSI Engine In Detail Text & Photos edited by Brian Potter Source: Volkswagen AG edited May 29, 2007 http://www.worldcarfans.com/news.cfm/count...ngine-in-detail Editor's summary: In addition to the current twincharged (turbo + supercharger) 170hp and 140hp TSI engines, this third engine is the newest addition to the TSI lineup. It retains the same 1.4 liter iron crankcase as the larger TSI engines, however, it is not twincharged since it loses the supercharger but keeps the turbo. Set to replace the current 1.6 FSI engine (85 kW / 115 hp), the new TSI engine at 122hp (90 kW) makes 200Nm of torque, 30% more than the 1.6 FSI, and reduces fuel consumption by 6 percent. Torque curve is impressive by achieving 80% maximum torque at 1250 rpm and then holding 100 percent torque from 1500 rpm to 3500 rpm. Full details in the press release below. Overview TSI Engine Offensive New TSI with 122 PS: Economical and Powerful Economical: New TSI consumes six percent less fuel Powerful: Maximum torque of 200 Nm in reserve at a low 1,500 rpm Maximum power with minimum fuel consumption ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear June 2, 2007 Share June 2, 2007 so this is a 1.4l TSI ? 1.4L is good but I guess our insurance will be loaded since its TCed ... at least it runs on 95unleaded. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steady Neutral Newbie June 3, 2007 Share June 3, 2007 Sounds too good to be bought in by CA, even if VW decides to give the engine to Skoda. And they'll probably charge us a zillion dollars to buy one unit. HA ha. But it is most impressive, I must say. Hoping VW SG will incorporate into the Jetta and import in s'pore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched June 3, 2007 Share June 3, 2007 btw, is the GT oso using this kinda engine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie June 4, 2007 Share June 4, 2007 I thought the GT WAS using the TSI....? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear June 4, 2007 Share June 4, 2007 how ur car so far? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qwert Clutched June 4, 2007 Share June 4, 2007 Yup, GT using TSI engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rtth84 1st Gear June 4, 2007 Share June 4, 2007 different tuning and the GT has supercharger. this new one tuned for economy and only has turbo no super Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicz Neutral Newbie June 4, 2007 Share June 4, 2007 Resale value has not much bearing nowadays. what the car dealers do is simply get ur paper value derived from the standard formula (would be easily available at LTA website) and plus a certain amount of the standard car body value (which goes fairly standard according to the overseas market - pretty standard that goes like eg. Corolla G9 gets $8k within 5 years, $6k after 5th years...Jazz get $6k within 5 years and $5k after 5 years bla bla bla... Huh... I think re-sale value is no issue nowadays, most importantly, u must like what we want to buy and drive, also we must be able to afford it and not over commit ourselves. This engine is one hell of technology, 1.4 TSI worth waiting for. I understand that its going to be around $85k or so.... a tad high for some. of course i guess its OMV is about the range of $25k or so, if i'm right. For VW siaw people, there is one more Golf R36 that tops all which will be the end of the Golf range for MK V before it gets its replacement. I guess MK VI should be standard TSI & 7-speed DSG throughout the range liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie June 4, 2007 Share June 4, 2007 Ah so....funny isn't it? On one end (read - s, rs...) they're dumping forced induction for larger cubes while on the other it looks like they're dumping chargers into everything they can find... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched June 4, 2007 Share June 4, 2007 how ur car so far? enjoying my ride .......still nuthing compared with "No replacement fer displacement". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djcoolmax 2nd Gear June 4, 2007 Share June 4, 2007 from what I remember, our local FSI engines require 98ron ratings (Any VW FSI owners can confirm this).. even though the specs say RON 95.. it also says it requires Super Unleaded.. do we have that in Singapore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear June 4, 2007 Share June 4, 2007 maybe that's why they are replacing the 1.6FSI engine ..... ? its now 1.4L, TCed, running on 95 ... hence, more with less ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Winq Neutral Newbie July 21, 2007 Share July 21, 2007 hi guys.. actualli i'm thinkin of buyin VW GT 1.4.. but just call the sales centre todae the sales lady told mi no stock.. the stock will come in nov this year.. and the price will be $103,200. any advice? hope to read up more review abt this car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched July 23, 2007 Share July 23, 2007 (edited) The article might have miss somethings out....he paid the 6 percent saving and cost of engine etc....outfront. Edited July 23, 2007 by Fortress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 23, 2007 Share July 23, 2007 The trend of TC 1.6L is catching on ie. BMW & Peugeot/Citroen joint developed TC 1.6L. The technology of European N.A. 1.6L engine seem to have gone past its peak. This time smaller engine like the TC 1.4L is targeted to meet rising emission standards in future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gkotody Neutral Newbie July 26, 2007 Share July 26, 2007 Try Vincar lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fingerfood Neutral Newbie July 26, 2007 Share July 26, 2007 (edited) different tuning and the GT has supercharger. this new one tuned for economy and only has turbo no super GT is supercharge AND turbo charge.. so hopefully for the new engine, insurance and price will be ... lowered? Edited July 26, 2007 by Fingerfood ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...