Is Shinco the cheapest GPS in SG now?

Whitecvt

seeing that people selling 2nd hand GPS for over $400...

since this is just $344 for a brand new set..... hmmmm

it even has SiRF star III chip which is the fastest GPS chip now isnt it? :o

specs:

http://www.shinco.com.sg/pdtCVAS.htm

http://beta.creaworld.com.sg/audiohouse/Up...y%20AHseDPS.jpg

anyone got this set yet?

reviews? :D

Edited by Whitecvt

No point buying a cheap GPS, if the map is no good. If it is just for SG roads, anything will do. If travelled out of SG, best to get reputable brands.

Regards,

Maps from Malsing only have support for Garmin and MapKing. What format is Shinco using?

you have to guess the first digit of the winning 4D number correctly to get the $344 price. and morever they give you vouchers for the next purchase, so not a direct discount.

get garmin or tibo(if your pocket is a bit deeper)....sometimes not worth saving a hundred or two and end up with something which u have problem with. Besides maps, u have to consider the reception, some antena of the cheaper gps may not work well even if ur car is solar-filmed, mounted near to your A-pillars or at area with slightly densed buildings.

I am using Tibo, so far so good.

Even Garmin (wif SURF III chip)oso got problem wif reception at CBD leh...is it bcos I mount it near the A pillar. My car using Huper-Optic (ceramic based) solar film so it shldn't be the source of the problem. [dizzy]

ya KNN almost kenna con into the cheap stuffs.. lucky got read the fine print.. duno how many aunties and uncles kenna.. CCB

come back to the topic.. i got the garmin... which is one of the top GPS.. if wanna go overseas.. just look for the maps and slot in the SD card.. anyway, got a few threads discussing it liao.

seeing that people selling 2nd hand GPS for over $400...

since this is just $344 for a brand new set..... hmmmm

it even has SiRF star III chip which is the fastest GPS chip now isnt it? :o

specs:

http://www.shinco.com.sg/pdtCVAS.htm

http://beta.creaworld.com.sg/audiohouse/Up...y%20AHseDPS.jpg

anyone got this set yet?

reviews? :D

Though the chipset is SiRF star III but without a good software, it's will no be good enough. Presently the PC is having a GPS war, this will be the next IN thing in here but an outdated stuff in US or CHINA. People are selling may be due to ,

Singapore is too small, a street directory is quite enough.

Signal is not very good when you are in CBD where a lot of tall buidling will degrade the signal and without a antenna booster, more or less the info on ur GPS might be wrong.

Last of all do take note of hot start and cold start problem. If not you might think that your GPS is spoilt.

Juz my 2cents

Edited by Africatwin

Garmin Nuvis are still quite in-demand on the 2ndhand market, with most keeping theirs for lack of anything better on the market. Now and then you get a few guys trying to offload foreign-purchased Nuvi variants at a significant discount of their purchase price, but few would buy them because a new local set is as cheap as if not even cheaper.

The local Garmin retailers appear to be selling their sets as fast as they can order them.

But you're right, for the most part, it is a toy, a novelty, but I no longer use the street directory now that I have a GPS. It also helps remind me of speed traps and red light cameras, as well as ERP gantries.

there's an offer going now for the packard bell gps.

i bought it yesterday at $788 (UP is $988)

works like a charm and extremely user friendly!

Even Garmin (wif SURF III chip)oso got problem wif reception at CBD leh...is it bcos I mount it near the A pillar. My car using Huper-Optic (ceramic based) solar film so it shldn't be the source of the problem. [dizzy]

It's the skyscrapers that is blocking the satelite signal. My PDA+GPS receiver also got problem receiving signal when in between very tall buildings.

Just like even the best GPS, go into tunnel, no signal. [laugh]

Garmin Nuvis are still quite in-demand on the 2ndhand market, with most keeping theirs for lack of anything better on the market. Now and then you get a few guys trying to offload foreign-purchased Nuvi variants at a significant discount of their purchase price, but few would buy them because a new local set is as cheap as if not even cheaper.

The local Garmin retailers appear to be selling their sets as fast as they can order them.

But you're right, for the most part, it is a toy, a novelty, but I no longer use the street directory now that I have a GPS. It also helps remind me of speed traps and red light cameras, as well as ERP gantries.

That reminds me if it can be a speed trap detector as well. Then it won't be just a toy but a most wanted gadget.