Verna24 1st Gear May 31, 2007 Share May 31, 2007 bros & sis, just wondering any of u witness the accident between a hyundai avante & a toyota white van yesterday(30/5)ard 1555hrs along woodlands crescent. just a minor accident lah, but had some prob with the insurance claiming. it was a two way road with only one lane on each side, and i was turning into the open carpark on the opposite side. i signal my intention, slowed to 20-30km, checked blind spot and prepared to turn. at this instance, a white toyota van moving at quite a high speed w/o any warning overtake from my right into the opposite lane. i tried to tilt back immed, but my right front fender still kanna, as i was already turning a bit liao. got down immed to clarify with the van owner but his 1st remarks is i did not signal and my signal light was not on after the incident. my colleague was in the car at that moment and she verified that i did signal(just that the signal auto off when i tilt back to my original path after seeing the van coming behind me at quite a fast speed),but as she is inside my car,she couldn't b my witness. therefore hope that any1 who happen to c this happening, pls PM me to discuss this matter pls. although the repair cost is only few hundreds dollars, but i just want to justify the matter lor. thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Safetyleo Neutral Newbie May 31, 2007 Share May 31, 2007 Just report the incident to your insurance, let them fight with each other. Unless really have a witness, saying how the movement of that van was, otherwise, nothing much you can do. Every driver has their own story. Even you have the witness, saying yr signal right was turn on, you still have to watch out the behind before any turning. From what I see, both also bear part of the liability...sad to say, good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Powerkeong Neutral Newbie May 31, 2007 Share May 31, 2007 eh.... got dent or not? or only some scratches? if it scratches, go get touch up paint from Komoco Motors... DIY yourself. No problem with your wallets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verna24 1st Gear May 31, 2007 Author Share May 31, 2007 fender had to be change lah cos if knock out will b visible at sm angle. total damage ard 500 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Powerkeong Neutral Newbie May 31, 2007 Share May 31, 2007 Ic... that's a huge sum to me. $500... good luck bro... [sweatdrop] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie May 31, 2007 Share May 31, 2007 Did the van driver admitted that he was travelling along the same direction as u and also you were AHEAD of him at that time prior to the accident? Forget about whether you had signaled or not.....the main issue will be that he was travelling on the same direction as u and also from your rear. The onus will be on him to keep a lookout ahead no matter what happened. Furthermore, he was overtaking you and according to highway code, DO NOT if in doubt. Hope these facts aids u in your insurance claims process. Highlight all these facts in your GIA report to the insurance company. Tell them these facts.......these will substantiate your claims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched May 31, 2007 Share May 31, 2007 Did the van driver file a claim against you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verna24 1st Gear June 1, 2007 Author Share June 1, 2007 his van only slight dent, dun even tin he will bother to repair it. but tat bugger keep sayin i no signal. when i m turning at tat time, he was ard 3-4 car length behind me lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear June 1, 2007 Share June 1, 2007 After reading so many 'horror' auto insurance stories, I think its better to proceed with insurance claim against the van....who knows the van driver maybe already processing the claim against you....if act later maybe in disadvantage... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Santarene Clutched June 1, 2007 Share June 1, 2007 Did u take photos? After the accident, any injury? If yes, go find a lawyer. Lawyers will take up ur case esp if they find that urs is easily won n claimed. May be a hassle, but at least teach that bugger an expensive lesson. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched June 2, 2007 Share June 2, 2007 (edited) I also had an accident some time back, the idiot also claimed that I did not signnal. But in actual fact I did signal else he must be blind, and he was driving fast on that curvy road where there are some blind spots due to construction of the Suntec MRT. He came down and was so confident to tell me I definitely had to pay for his damage since my car knocked on his rear door and rear side portion. Because he damn kl with me, I wrote to TP complaining his reckless driving. Even initially, my insurance company also said I should be in the wrong. After I forwarded my insurance company the letter that I wrote to TP, and explained in details why I had to knock onto his car, I did not even need to compensate a single cent to the @sshole repair cost about $3K. But too bad the TP wrote back indicated to me no evidence yet else I would have a strong case to claim against him instead. To play safe, it is better to report to your insurance because you would never know the driver can come out with what story if he decides to repair his van later. Edited June 2, 2007 by Speedsun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivanpaseo 2nd Gear June 2, 2007 Share June 2, 2007 (edited) Since u have say that its a single lane on each i think it is illegal to overtake on the right..... is that a continuous white line? Continuous white centre line markings must not be crossed and are generally used to prevent overtaking and reduce speeds in roads with poor visibility due to bends or the crests of hills. These are also used sparingly so that they are more effective and have more impact when they are used. There are criteria for the introduction of these markings based upon the speed of traffic and the visibility distances. It is also an offence to park in any section of road that is marked with a continuous white line. Continuous white lines may only be crossed by traffic that is turning right. Edited June 2, 2007 by Ivanpaseo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...