Lowering my ride - Superb

Echelon

NOT adviseable.trust me.

BUTT then again..what do I know?

Yeha..get that guy wz e new Jap babe out lar..

Suspension, $800 can probably get you a Bilstein/Eibach or Sachs/Eibach setup.

Why not just get Neuspeed (Since you're at Servo) or Eibach springs on your stock setup?

You won't lose the comfort that way [:p]

Nope ... the ones on the Passat will fit though [;)]

Edited by Conned

DUN tell me u still gg back there>,,, [hur] ..

so how's the Tomeis?..

Ya cos they pai seh keep taking money from me every month for repairs..so now change car liao they dont feel so bad bout it. No more money to donate! [laugh]

Mr Echelon, allow me a few words.

havnig the best suspension and NOT knowing how it handles versus the stock defeats the purpose of upgrading isn' it? every suspension has its own characteristics.

Even the best suspension will still induced body roll of some sort, the car is design to flex wz the CF force acting on it. the more gap n play( rebouncd rate of spring here) will induce more body roll. which is why pple use ARB & lowered until one finger also cannot go in between the gap. ARB do not make ur car uncomfortable or hard but what it does is to flatten & sharpen ur ride during cornering.which is why it is coupled to ur suspension. It also makes ur "turning radius" tighter.esp when u notched at Nbr 1 setting.

also u say ur car roll alot but did u or ur missus enter the turn at too fast a speed?

usually it's slow in , maintain the power n gearing durin the corner or apex n then power out. the SPB tend to understeer being a FWD car.U NEVER brake at the apex!

so understand more about why u wan to put in something, what it does for ur ride, does it escalate ur WTR( wear& Tear Rate ) esp on ur drive shafts, engine mountings..gearbox mountings..n once u understand more n wan it. then u go source for the products.

I do not beleive in using stock springs with aftermarket dampers.because of the uneven reboucned rate. Aftermarket springs are usually sports orientated sp it offers a short & quicker spring rate travel than your STOCK spring rate which is tune for comfort, thus having a longer travel. so after the sorts dampers has travel back to zero bounce, ur stock rates are still rebounding.which is why some will get a floating sensation n may even bottom out!esp when ur car is fully loaded.

Understanding yur car characteristics, it's design, limits, your OWN characterists & driving limits will go a long way to a more cost effective & happier car ownership.

for me, my limits are reached earlier than most drivers as Im scared of speed so I do not "chip" or attack corners, I drive under speed limits...t4 stock is best for me.

Hope it helps.

btw, the SPB, B5.5s will always have escalateed WTR on driveshafts because of its high torque at low spin( RPM ),being FWD n the weight n load factor of the engine on its axle.

My wife was not non-chalant to the performance and look of the car when I did minor upgrades, she could not care less, but she was adamant about the body roll, she does not know the term of it, but she says she notice the car suspension not stable when cornering. Problem is, instead of just slowing down, she slows down and tries to counter it by turning out which is quite dangerous, it is quite a normal human response. I have since advise her what was wrong and she should just slow down when she is not confident.

Anyways I told her I might be upgrading the suspensions she was quite supportive of it than any other.

My wife drives 80% of the time now, ferrying my son and daughter around, I want her to be confident of the drive.

I will check with Servo, but wanted the senior's advise here, thanks I am learning alot from these threads!

Edited by Conned

Best is don't change anything lol... I want my comfort back... Guess that's why I'm going around telling people not to lose their comfort [:p]

No worries bro, advise and comments are always personal view kind of thing, you thought the best from your angle/view. I appericiate it. [thumbsup]

agreed! I may not dish out cushy nicey words but I share my 2cts out of concern and empathy and experience, if pple dun like to hear it ,too bad. their plbm..they just have to deal with it!

Mr Conned, thanks for your insight and personal point of view appreciate your time for sharing.

That is why I like forums like these as you get to understand more about your ride more than learning it from some manuals or review site that is one way, in a community the sharing is more intense, more personal and more experiential. That is why I like this site as I get to learn from the seniors, [thumbsup] and more experience Skodians, appreciate it. I learnt alot from our Skoda community!

Ok, back to my earlier question before, one of the best thing about Skoda cars is either you ride it stock or; sought after-market solutions and modding. (one of the reasons why I chose a Skoda was the availability to mod it.)

Besides the chip up, which I am very happy for, as it gives the car just enough power on tap than before making it a more confident drive. Changed my rims(225/45/18) and next on my list was the suspensions and than brakes. This personalization of the car allows me the freedom to be who I am and what I like my ride to be. To each his own I guess. That is why I like to know what is the best solution for the springs(note on the life expectancy of it, meaning I would chose the best solution for it base on Conned's s).

Me and Mrs. dun drive fast either, (and we definitely don't break at the apex), we are within the speed limit all the time and usually I am told I am too slow

even got horned once for traveling too slow [lipsrsealed] (the chip up was more for a more confident drive than for speed.), just that on major turn offs on expressways you feel the float which was frustrating long enough that is why looking for something(suspension) with as limited compromise to the W&T(Wear & Tear) as possible.

Some people believe stock is best, some demand a little more out of their drive, little changes here and there to improve the overall driving experience. That's me. [drivingcar]

Edited by Echelon

perhaps. but seriously if power is something u are aiming for, then your car setup handling & brakes are the first u shd work on.

just my newbie 2cts.