Lowering my ride - Superb

Echelon

Save your money my friend.

You might want to look at the other stuffs(off the cuff) while embarking on the change;

a. Warranty

b. toe in/out

c. camber

d. higher tyre wear or change of tyres is required

e. structure change, chassis roll and integrity

f. higher bottoming out issue thus damaging your undercarriage

g. scrubing of the inner wheel.

h. Weight distribution of car,

etc

hi dear bro Fortress

Another senior here would definitely agree with you as well, mainly on those issues like weight distribution, due to the extended body and CG of the Superb body (compared to the Passat and Audi A6).

bless

tashi

Thanks for the sound advise. Aftermarket solutions are needed as the floating feeling is quite impossible [dizzy]. I did try to live with it for sometime, but getting a little frustrated with it, imagine going down Benjamin Sheares Brigde on the Marina corner....woah..once on the over taking lane going at about 90KM/H (Everyone on that lane was on that speed) when doing the corner(not hard corner but there is a 3-5 sec turning time at that speed) feel like the car going to bounce off the road and float to the left feeling. Actually come to think of it on almost every turn off I feel it, maybe it is the way I drive, but this is not the first time I heard Superb bros complaint about this.

Now I am torn between upgrading the suspension vs warranty issues.

You might want to try anti roll bars...and cross overs instead. Is the Superb a rear wheel drive, if so, it might the reason for that kind of feel....and had a little experience trying the car out, it doesn't seems to turn into corner, some thing inherent of the car

hi bro

The Superb and Passat are both front wheel drive. A close bro once commented that due to the extended wheelbase of the Superb (compared to the normal Passat B5/5.5), anti-roll bars can "potentially" create another sort of issue.

Not sure, just echoing his thoughts. Any advice?

Also, the issue is the Superb body is extended wheelbase but narrow, unlike the A6 which is wider. The physics is quite different apparently.

bless

tashi

Edited by Tashi

My wife was not non-chalant to the performance and look of the car when I did minor upgrades, she could not care less, but she was adamant about the body roll, she does not know the term of it, but she says she notice the car suspension not stable when cornering. Problem is, instead of just slowing down, she slows down and tries to counter it by turning out which is quite dangerous, it is quite a normal human response. I have since advise her what was wrong and she should just slow down when she is not confident.

Anyways I told her I might be upgrading the suspensions she was quite supportive of it than any other.

My wife drives 80% of the time now, ferrying my son and daughter around, I want her to be confident of the drive.

I will check with Servo, but wanted the senior's advise here, thanks I am learning alot from these threads!

Edited by Echelon

Its a good thing you ask around first before doing anything. Cos once you go down to workshop, they will ask you change every damn thing. [laugh]

Pardon me, nothing mechanical or upgrades can help with incorrect driving method. Drive within the limit and understand the limit of the car will be the best option.

Took my wife once on my track at 260kmh and making a 140 km/h turn with a little drift etc...., and she is now well verse with driving within limits.

Very true, driving slower will help .... but then again, how many of us really keep to the speed limit and isn't guilty of a little bit of fun now and then? [lipsrsealed][:p]

Understanding the car is another thing. When I first got my car, it was stock and running on 15" wheels. Took a corner in the tunnel at 80km/h and the car drifted 3 lanes with the turbo boost kicking in midway which made my heart jump out. I should've just slowed down and everything would've been fine.

Of 'cos I didn't do that ... I went out to modify the car and now I can take the same bend at even higher speeds with no problems... but erm ... I lost all the comfort from the car plus I've had to endure constant nagging from my other half [laugh][laugh][laugh]

hahah, dear bro, not everyone has the luxury you have leh! But yes, would be great to be a passenger in a car on your track anytime! After that sure have greater respect for everything!

bless

tashi

Ya cos they pai seh keep taking money from me every month for repairs..so now change car liao they dont feel so bad bout it. No more money to donate! [laugh]