Do we give way to a flashing ambulance?

Nhyone

wow sorry bout ur son uncle.. your first post so serious..

i didnt mean any harm actually.. was jus a harmless remark as you can see by the [confused] icon at the end..

no need to shoot back like that.. peace [flowerface]

Yes, we should. But I really hope they will switch on the siren for goodness sake. What's wrong with switching on the siren? Noise pollution? I feel it's better for them to switch it on....at least that will give drivers more time react and give way to them.

If ambulance in other countries can switch on the siren, why can't ours?

each time before u turn on the siren, u have to seek permission. and yes it's because of noise pollution and other ppl complaining of abuse.

nonsense......typical government servant or government management. Report Report and Report all scare to write report or wanna cover backside.

I remember a fire case many years ago where the causalty die of too much smoke inhalation.

Decease family question why ambulance dun go to the nearest hospital which is Eastshore hospital, Civil Defense mention that ambulance will only send to the 6 government hospital if you dial 995 thus not private hospital. (this happen around 98 to 2002 sometime either I was still in the NS or studying in Australia). Fair enough thus send causalty to Changi Hospital.

Decease's family than question while following the ambulance behind, family member notice that ambulance met around 9 red lights and question why ambulance never on siren and beat red light? reply from civil defense COL "OH that time traffic very dangerous to beat might caught in an accident!!!!!"

1st of all that COL wasnt even at the scene!! how he know cannot beat traffic light??? base on all Forumer experiences in driving do you think all 9 times ambulance TRIED to on SIREN can fail all 9 times??

Verdict, I feel driver and civil defense wanna cover backside, dun wanna take risk for casaulty as not thier friend or family member!!!! Government should look into this as sometimes in a matter of few mintues can make a different to lives and death!!!! Government should learn EMPOWERMENT and trust the lower rank servant to do thier jobs. Senior Servant cant do everything for the People and Country.

BTW I dunno decease and feel that compare to the emergency vehicles in Australia, there is less Urgency [whip] Do we really need some unpleasent event "terrorism eg." to wake up our FxxKing Idea? [rifle]

i seen before a number of times those private ambulance on the flashing but no siren, and then stop to alight workers..

they are being abused and used to ferry private sector workers as mini bus

i seen before a number of times those private ambulance on the flashing but no siren, and then stop to alight workers..

Some even road hog on lane 1.

Regards,

Do we give way to a flashing ambulance? It is on the first lane and its lights are flashing, but no sirens.

Just curious and dunno if anyone has encountered this before. What if the ambulance is on Lane 2 and not Lane 1? [confused]

Yes, we should. But I really hope they will switch on the siren for goodness sake. What's wrong with switching on the siren? Noise pollution? I feel it's better for them to switch it on....at least that will give drivers more time react and give way to them.

Agree whole heartedly. Esp when the traffic is heavy.

The flashing light is quite effective at night, but in the day time, only the car directly infront will notice. Not many drives check their rearview mirrors for cars that are afew cars back. Most only notice it when its flashing at your rear.

But the siren is very effective both day and night. It'll will alert all the cars within hearing distance (front/back/left/right) and allows motorist more time to react.

Edited by Fondue

Do we give way to a flashing ambulance? It is on the first lane and its lights are flashing, but no sirens.

For me as long as I see them with light on, I give way.

But sometime I also blur whether are they in the hurry or not since no siren [hur]

There are different priority for different cases of medical evacuations. With siren is code 1, which is life-threatening (Can speed all the way, chiong red-light too). With just lights on (may not speed or chiong red-light) means the patient in the ambulance is not in any danger, but wants to get to the hospital fast as not to delay any treatment.

I will still give way but there is something that really pissed me off about speeding ambulance, especially those non Civil Defence ones unimpressed.gifunimpressed.gifunimpressed.gif

It is during the time that they are being used for Hospital transfer and also non life threatening cases that they will turn on the lights and speed, my dad was using one of this Ambulance service to transfer from SGH to AMK Hospics, my sis was together with my dad and she wanted to vomit when they reach AMK. I have to speed in order to keep up with them. For my dad's case, there isn't a need to drive like that unsure.gifunsure.gifunsure.gif

ALWAY DO! PLEASE!

yes, but i saw some drivers switch back to the lane immediately after giving way and tailgate the ambulance like Mr Bean [shocked]

usually those pte ones are those who abuse the system. i sometimes encounter idiots who dun give way to police vehicle with blinker on, and even taxi drivers who had the cheek to stop and pick up passanger when the police vehicle is right behind with blinkers on. one of the reason why police/ambulance sometimes dun on the siren is not to cause unnecessary alarm to the public.

yes i also saw that before, the one i saw was flashing on the highway with heavy traffic all the way right up to the moment it was about to exit, then the driver off the flashing, i gave way to him earlier, so abit pissed off when i saw that, but if u want to be mean, can just take down the plate number and report lor....

definitely, i will giv way to flashing amb... even the amb is not flashing or siren, as long as it travels on the 1st lane i will definitely giv way...

ps: tat time saw 1 ah pek on espressway still driving quite slowly on the 1st lane when the amb behing sound siren... i travelled on the 2nd lane oso go fastest dan him, he still not tinking of giving way... [shakehead]

ah pek or even anyone, pls give way...

for sure give way for me. seconds mean a lot to those in critical danger. take it as i do my good deed for the day.

i will still give way regardless of life and death, critical situation of even an urge to have prata near by(j/k)... afterall its an ambulance