Droll Neutral Newbie May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 how strict is the TP in enforcing the 7pm rule? if someone comes out at 7pm according to their watch but TP watch shows 6.55pm, will they get fined? i'm not debating huge difference like 15 minutes or 30minutes but small like 5mins. besides, who officially keeps track of time in singapore? sorry, don't flame me...sometimes dunno the answer and dunno where else to ask. :( ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 (edited) not sure, but I guess there is prob more leeway if catch at 655pm, compared to catch at 705am when it is illegal for the next 12 hours~ Edited May 30, 2007 by Beachboys Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 Well, +/- 15 min sis really ok. Then again, this is MHO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dtvox Neutral Newbie May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 My time is in sync with the time shown on the ERP gantry... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Safetyleo Neutral Newbie May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 i don't think TP/ROV will catch you +/- few minutes of the official time. By the way, 1711 should be reference to. Call 1711 via yr phone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 I just saw one this morning driving around Yishun Ave 6 at 9am without a permit. I think people are quite daring nowadays, don't even need to argue about +/- 15mins. What I heard is that TP probably give a couple of minutes grace to prevent such argument. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 Dun try to take chances...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 already enjoyed OPC rebate, dun try to have ur cake & eat it too. u can argue till cows come home. the law don't buy such arguement. no such thing as free lunch. u want to drive cheap car, follow the rules. else, pay in full & drive till yor heart content. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vyap Clutched May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 bro, pls don't compare to those cheaters without coupon. There are so many discussions in car forum, it's a VERY SERIOUS offence if caught. Yes, u a try your try to drive even 100 times cheating, BUT just ONE time you are caught it's game over(fine up to $20,000 indicated in the coupon). Many ppl in forum got caught then cry mum & dad , beg for mercy! My bro hv been advising, DON"T cheat, it's just not worth it. Can afford to even maintain expenses of OPC, then, in the 1st place shld NOT even buy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bern_lancer Neutral Newbie May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 how strict is the TP in enforcing the 7pm rule? if someone comes out at 7pm according to their watch but TP watch shows 6.55pm, will they get fined? i'm not debating huge difference like 15 minutes or 30minutes but small like 5mins. besides, who officially keeps track of time in singapore? sorry, don't flame me...sometimes dunno the answer and dunno where else to ask. :( I guess +/- 5 mins should be ok, but don't take chances lor. $10,000 against $20 really not worth it lah. I always keep extra coupons in my car just in case, any time over shoot hours, just put on the coupon lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fatpenguin Neutral Newbie May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 I think they're charging 10c or something per call now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 Allow me to introduce you to http://www.singaporestandardtime.org.sg/ Install either program and your comp will be sync'ed to an atomic clock, you can't be more accurate than that... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vesfreq Neutral Newbie May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 I used to drive an opc. Honestly, just be paranoid with the timings. Technically, tp (or rov) can summon u if u drive outside the permitted times. Or just call lta to confirm. At one time, I was pulled over by a tp, who wanted to see whether my supplementary coupon was valid. Its.... quite mah fan. But, if you are compliant with the rules of the game, its pretty ok. afaik, the TPs are strict with the enforcement. Last I remember, someone asking if TPs still check OPCs during restricted hours (eg, during day time on weekdays) when there is a rain. Needless to say, if want to eat snake, be tactical and be prepared. No point trying to circumvent the rules and bite nails, when really kena for a few minutes. PS: I used drive my opc slowly down the mscp, so that I am out on the road just at 7pm exactly. Can be a nerve wrecking experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harper Neutral Newbie May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 well... talking of the OPC... i was wondering if during restricted hours we are to just drive in the MSCP or carpark without going to the road will it still be considered in voilation... sometimes might want to shift the car from one location to another within the carpark out of the sun... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vesfreq Neutral Newbie May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 Old topic leh. This was heavily discussed before. Someone asked if its ok to drive opc to washing bay within mscp, during restricted hours. Honestly, if want to be safe, then don't even move the vehicle during restricted hours. Whether going to wash or shift car, its technically an offense... unless you ve ur own house, opc drive around courtyard, tp also LL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 Better be safe than sorry.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iziz Clutched May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 Dun do it, the fine payable far outweights the benefits. 10k fine, how many times u gotta cheat to make tat justifiable, even if its a 1k fine (definitely not so low), u gotta try 50 times to "break even", but 50 times worth of nerve-wreaking agony is just aint worth it. All it takes is a TP with PMS and u r done. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 i saw a rov officer stop at opc at 655pm ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...