Road trip to Ipoh

Kelpie

It took me like 9 hours to get there from the causeway. (rest stops included and lunch in Ipoh). If going direct w/o detouring to Ipoh, it should take about 6 hours.

The mozzies come out mainly at night. The beach front restaurant is infested with them, so avoid eating there. If you must, do wear long think pants and covered sleeves to reduce their area of possible attacks. The other areas are not so bad during the day. Oh, there are wild monkeys that'll come to your balcony if you're facing the sea/jungle, so don't leave the door open or leave things outside. We left some empty food packaging & rubbish outside and they got their hands on it..... dirtied everywhere....

Hi

Oh forgot to ask..

How is the condition of the resort? It is looking nice in pictures but am always skeptical about the 'real' thingy. haha

I take it that you stayed at the hotel side and not the apartment? What about food, do we have to eat in-house always or there are places near enough ie 1/2 hour like seafood places outside the resort.

By the way, there is a low cost hotel that is adj to the Lost World, Sunyue or something like that. Is Tambun far from Ipoh city /town itself? Thinking that I can makan at the town/city areas while have good reach to other interesting places at Tambun.

Regards,

Besides the usual many cave temples, San Poh Tong, Perak Tong, and a few smaller ones that you can miss, do not forget to visit Gua Tempurung, easily acessible by car and not too far off. Go search google.com.my and there are quite a few websites on this place. It is not a bad idea to spend one night at Cameron Highlands at Equatorial Hotel. Plenty of makan places in Ipoh you should not miss. Good luck.

Resort is ok lah.... I still prefer the Swiss Garden Kuantan, which I though this was just as good.....

Food... either you eat in which is expensive.... or you can choose to drive to Lumut town to eat/pack back. The drive takes about half hour to 45 mins from the resort. On the way to Lumut, there is a scrap yard I think. It is at a junction and there are a couple of seafood restaurants around there. Never try out though.....

Thanks for introducing Gua Tempurung. I'm wondering whether it is going to be taxing for preschoolers and parents.

Regards,

Try the beansprout n chicken rice there too but beware of kenna carrot head. Maybe slightly more ex comparing to a local.

Nearby the chicken rice stalls, there's a chinese cake n cookie shop, quite nice too.

You can also visit those caves that's along the way to NSH.

What are the non-carrot head prices there? Any indicatives?

Thanks.

Regards,

Anyone tried the golf course at Damai Laut resort? How is condition of the course? Am taking a drive up to Ipoh and KL in June for golf and thinking of including Damai Laut (Lumut) and Clearwater Sanctuary (Batu Gajah) for the Ipoh leg. Thanks

There are 2 famous beansprout chicken rice stalls in Ipoh town. One is called "Lo Wong Ar Choi Gai" or "old Wong's beansprout chicken" in english. This is the most famous and oldest in town. Its normally packed, especially during the weekends. The price mah, can't really remember as I had my dinner there 1 year ago. But its not expensive, less than RM50 for a 4 person meal if I'm not wrong.

As for the other one, I can't remember the name. Its across the road, and its packed also. Didn't try the stall, so can't comment.

lumut to ipoh is pretty near. About 1 hour drive away? Or maybe lesser.

I stayed at the Swiss Garden last year too.. Not too bad. Pangkor is nice.. can take the yellow vans! [:p]

1. Some said 2-3 hours leh?

2. Anyway, Cameron Highlands is just nearby, about 1 hour or less away?. If the weather is good may be can drive up. Alternatively, stay in Ipoh for one night and another at Cameron Highlands. What do you think?

Regards,

Heh.. I realise that travelling time is also a function of speed. I reached Penang in 7 hours, so I guess maybe that's why I took only 1 hour to Lumut from Ipoh. I dun remember them being very far. [sweatdrop]

Cameron Highlands is nice.. Let hot, more nature but can be quite expensive! [:|]

Which hotel did you put up then? Do you remember the road name of those stalls? I'm still trying to settle for a hotel there. Right now either Sun Inns at Tambun or the newer Heritage. But then, the Heritage doesn't seem to have good comments about its service and ammenties in the web leh. Sun Inns is a small hotel but located adjacent to the Lost world.

Regards,

You mean Sun Inns at Tambun is not far from Ipoh town/city itself? I have 2 nights in Ipoh so I can switch between 2 hotels in Ipoh. Perhaps, I should try out 2 hotels instead of sticking to one.

Regards,

Hi Kelpie

Syuen Hotel would be a better hotel, infact, its considered one of the best hotel in Ipoh, especially since you have kids around. The rooms are reasonably clean and big. Good thing is, the lou wong ngar choy kai, the bean curd stalls, the famous hor hee noodles coffee shop all are within walking distance from Syuen. You can grab a copy of the free brochure at the hotel to find out the places of interest in Ipoh/Perak. Drive to Lumut around an hour, you can park there and take a ferry and half day tour to Pangkor Island. You can also try the Nasi Kandar at Lumut town, better than those in Penang.

If you want to go up to Cameron Highlands, I would suggest that you check out Equatorial @ RM170 a night. Spend 2 nights instead of one as you would be too tired to check in and out with no time to take in the sights. Regards.

1. Anyone here have visited Ipoh and stayed there before?

2. I would like to try out this place that I've not been to before. What can you do there and where should I stay to be near to shopping areas and places of interest?

Thank you.

Regards,

you may wish to book a room in either Casuarina or Syuen Hotel. I've stayed in both before and i think they're decent. Clean and big rooms.

both hotels have "Porch Parking" so you don't really have to worry much abt the safety of your car. At Syuen, you've got to pay the valet (subject to availability of lot) but at Casuarina, if there's a lot at the porch, you can just park there (FOC) but i tipped the doorman to ensure that i'll have a lot anytime of the day.