Konspire Neutral Newbie May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 juz went there last april. ipoh, however small, i find the town very nice n frenly. lots of thing ard. to visit, a must atleast: Tambun lost world, cheap, not much ppl n very nice place to play ard. smaller scale of sunway lagoon but the operators there r very frenly. nice touch. gua tempurung. take the smallest route if hv children. pretty educating n interesting. the guides r very informative n helpful. if u r in a small grp, the guides might just give u a tip off to see the wind tunnel even if it's not included in the package. kellie castle, eerie yet interesting n rich in history. emerge in the stories of the family who lived there b4 n all their stories. places to stay: for me, i stayed in Seri Malaysia hotel. not too bad. RM100 for a normal room n RM120 for a family room. breakfast is superb n it comes wif it too. i went to damai laut n the resort is very, very nice. the view of pangkor is just amazing and the tranquility is really a place to stay. from ipoh to damai laut takes ard 2-3hrs cos i tried to do that just to catch the sun set. do not miss the sun set if u like the view...simply amazing. things to buy: don't miss the pomelo. try it n buy it especially the red ones cos it's difficult to get it here n it tasted different too. now i'm thinking of going to stay at damai laut. wif a package they offering at RM699 for 2 nights with breakfast, a dinner n an hour of spa seems not a bad deal.... wish u a happy holidays.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 24, 2007 Share May 24, 2007 Hmmm... how come you say Genting fully booked.... I just booked today for next weeks 31st May & 1st June..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 24, 2007 Author Share May 24, 2007 Hmmm... how come you say Genting fully booked.... I just booked today for next weeks 31st May & 1st June..... Perhaps you're lucky? The period that I'm going is full house. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 24, 2007 Author Share May 24, 2007 Hi Kelpie Syuen Hotel would be a better hotel, infact, its considered one of the best hotel in Ipoh, especially since you have kids around. The rooms are reasonably clean and big. Good thing is, the lou wong ngar choy kai, the bean curd stalls, the famous hor hee noodles coffee shop all are within walking distance from Syuen. You can grab a copy of the free brochure at the hotel to find out the places of interest in Ipoh/Perak. Drive to Lumut around an hour, you can park there and take a ferry and half day tour to Pangkor Island. You can also try the Nasi Kandar at Lumut town, better than those in Penang. If you want to go up to Cameron Highlands, I would suggest that you check out Equatorial @ RM170 a night. Spend 2 nights instead of one as you would be too tired to check in and out with no time to take in the sights. Regards. 1. Thanks for the tips. Where did you park you car prior to taking a trip to PangKor island? I hope I can sign up for a packaged tour to PangKor at those Ipoh City hotels if parking is an hassle there. 2. I'm still thinking of the Sun Inns Hotel at Tambun, which is adj to the Lost World. Syuen and Park royal are in my mind too. Probably will give CH a miss this time. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 24, 2007 Author Share May 24, 2007 Thanks for the "Porch Parking" tip! Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 24, 2007 Author Share May 24, 2007 1. Thanks for the tips. Yes, I will be going for the Lost World and the Castle. Gua, is something that I'm not sure whether the 3 years-old kid can do it or not? 2. I read from somewhere that those pretty "Pomelo girls" will con you into buying expensive pomelo . 3. Is Seri Malaysia accessible to those mentioned places of interest? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 bro, 1. gua tempurung is accessible for 3 yrs old kid. i went in for the walk wif my 3 yr old daughter...although some steps u need to take care but it will be fun for the kids. take the 45 min walk which is the easiest walk they hv.. 2. u can chat wif the pomelo girls but dun get from them cos they r expensive..oops..the pomelo i mean. take from the aunties cos it's cheaper but some times got auntie bring their daughter which can be very sweet next door girl...it's an eye candy. 3. seri malaysia is the most accessible location for me. it has rooms wif car park view n security guard. the security oso quite tight cos there is a grand bungalow next door i believe owned by somebody important. best is if u hv GPS. it's easy to get ard after. either mapking or garmin maps, it will lead u to the correct place in no time....enjoy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yi-xuan Neutral Newbie May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 (edited) Try the beansprout n chicken rice there too but beware of kenna carrot head. Maybe slightly more ex comparing to a local. Nearby the chicken rice stalls, there's a chinese cake n cookie shop, quite nice too. You can also visit those caves that's along the way to NSH. What are the non-carrot head prices there? Any indicatives? Thanks. Regards, Only been to the 2 more famous stalls.. forgot the name. Anyway, not outrageously carrot head, just slightly higher than what they charged the locals, still affordable. The beansprouts was grown from black beans and watered using the mountain water, so its sweet and big. Can't find here. Go cameron can buy flowers for your wife/gf, RM5 for 3 stalks. But it won't last downhill. Felt that cameron is not as cool as Genting. Try the steamboat there, some use organic vegetables, very sweet. Edited May 25, 2007 by Clazsique Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 when u going har? how many days in total har? Damn this june sch holidays I havent planned any drive trip yet 1. Lightly to be somewhere mid June. I'm contemplating to hit out for 5 days 4 nights. 2. Childrens wanted to go Gentings but hotels fully booked, should have done so earlier. Regards, wah song leh how many hiadee going so far. sound like gud way to clean carbon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 Hi Kelpie Syuen Hotel would be a better hotel, infact, its considered one of the best hotel in Ipoh, especially since you have kids around. The rooms are reasonably clean and big. Good thing is, the lou wong ngar choy kai, the bean curd stalls, the famous hor hee noodles coffee shop all are within walking distance from Syuen. You can grab a copy of the free brochure at the hotel to find out the places of interest in Ipoh/Perak. Drive to Lumut around an hour, you can park there and take a ferry and half day tour to Pangkor Island. You can also try the Nasi Kandar at Lumut town, better than those in Penang. If you want to go up to Cameron Highlands, I would suggest that you check out Equatorial @ RM170 a night. Spend 2 nights instead of one as you would be too tired to check in and out with no time to take in the sights. Regards. 1. Thanks for the tips. Where did you park you car prior to taking a trip to PangKor island? I hope I can sign up for a packaged tour to PangKor at those Ipoh City hotels if parking is an hassle there. 2. I'm still thinking of the Sun Inns Hotel at Tambun, which is adj to the Lost World. Syuen and Park royal are in my mind too. Probably will give CH a miss this time. Regards, Car can be parked at several allocated carparks. I'd advsie you to park in those fenced up ones where there is a warden to guard and collect parking fees. I parked in the school compound where the grounds served as a parking lot. No need to go for uided tour as you'll pay a bomb just for their services. Just go to Lumut and the ferry terminal is smack in the middle of the town as you drive in. Can't miss it. Those pink vans on Pangkor which serves as taxis.... just tell them you want to see the entire islands' attractions and they'll bring you to temples, beaches, old dutch fort etc.... it'll take about 2- 3 hours which the cost is RM$60 for the 3 hour taxi booking. There's only one road going round the island just fyi.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lorrliew Neutral Newbie May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 You right! From Ipoh to Lumut is only about 1hr. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 Yo Bro, I used this map when I went to Damat Laut twice last year, hope you find it useful. There are a few place of interest shown in the map. [inline damat_laut.jpg] Some shots taken at Kellie's Castle. [inline P1010654-01.JPG] [inline P1010701-01.JPG] [inline P1010720-01.JPG] [inline P1010721-01.JPG] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lorrliew Neutral Newbie May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 (edited) Forget about Heritage, it is too run down due to poor maintenance. Don't stay in Tambum, it too far from the city centre; a day trip to the Lost World of Tambum is better. Other food I can recommend: 1) Try those shopshouse along 旧街场 Edited May 25, 2007 by Lorrliew Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lorrliew Neutral Newbie May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 (edited) Check out this Hotel in Pangkor, but damn expensive: http://www.pangkorlautresort.com/info.htm Edited May 25, 2007 by Lorrliew Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnut Clutched May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 Yup, the hotels in Pangkor Island are damn expensive. Damai Laut would the next best alternative. In fact, no point paying so much to stay in the island when you can cover the attractions in half a day or less. Bro Kelpie, Casuarina Hotel is also not exactly at the town centre, might as well stay in Syuen (almost same price) especially if you want to do some shopping (across the road you will find Ipoh Parade), healthy massages, or try out the various Ipoh specialities. The other hotels that you've mentioned may not be that convenient. You might as well drive to the places of interests since they are all within an hour's drive, making Ipoh town centre as your base. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 Damn...I want to go man! pls put time and place Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alf08 Neutral Newbie May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 Any bro know of a small kampong in ipoh call sungai siput, able to guide me how to go there?? eg from NS highway, exit at which toll,where to turn etc..... hope you can help cos i have been searching as how to go to this place cos is my mother hometown where i have not been there for almost 30 years!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 Ya, can cover the island in half a day with RM10 of petrol. Did you rent the vehicle from the jetty? Rented car. [inline 01-P1010824.JPG] Consider doing a drift while going down slope? [inline 01-P1010832.JPG] Dutch Fort at Pangkor. [inline 01-P1010860.JPG] [inline 01-P1010868.JPG] [inline 01-P1010870.JPG] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...