Milgram Neutral Newbie June 12, 2007 Author Share June 12, 2007 [reply]bigger TB means the same pressure to the accelerator, a bit more air is let into the intake manifold. thus the 'better' response (u get more air into the system given the same throttle pressure). that doesn't change the variables inside of the combustion chamber. for bigger combustion chamber, more air need and there for a bigger throttle body to cater for the increased flow rate. at highend, imagine the engine is drawing large amount of air into the chamber, bigger throttle body may help , but the question is, is the TB a bottleneck? most of the time, it is the cam action that is the bottleneck :) Final drive has a lot to do with the gears and engine. the factory setting was good for stock. i don't think it is necessary if u are not increasing the output of the engine. :) [reply] Dude, would you then recommend that I do the TB boring and the FD if I had done the following mods: (1) Lightened flywheel & crank pulley (2) Extractor and sports exhaust (3) Sports filter Is doing up CAI necessary? Bro Turbonetics - would appreciate your comments on this too... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Milgram Neutral Newbie June 12, 2007 Author Share June 12, 2007 Quote Ok. Found the Ratios liao. 1st (MT) (AT) 3.545 2.847 2nd 1.904 1.552 3rd 1.310 1.000 4th 0.969 0.700 5th 0.815 - Reverse 3.250 2.343 Final Gear Ratio 4.312 4.237 Btw there are 2 sets of TRD FDR rite? One with 4.0 and the other 3.7 Wah, great job bro! Not sure about the ratios for AT but apparently, the final ratios for MT are 4.3, 4.1 and 3.7... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched June 12, 2007 Share June 12, 2007 personally i have not done these items 1,2 and 3. can't recommend much. sorry about that. Quote Dude, would you then recommend that I do the TB boring and the FD if I had done the following mods: (1) Lightened flywheel & crank pulley (2) Extractor and sports exhaust (3) Sports filter Is doing up CAI necessary? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear June 19, 2007 Share June 19, 2007 Bro, take a look at this link. http://forum.vogs.net/viewtopic.php?t=4390...er=asc&start=60 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Milgram Neutral Newbie June 20, 2007 Author Share June 20, 2007 Dude, I can get the article. You mind replicating it here pls? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear June 20, 2007 Share June 20, 2007 huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Milgram Neutral Newbie June 20, 2007 Author Share June 20, 2007 I mean I CAN'T get the article pai seh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear June 21, 2007 Share June 21, 2007 u nt a member of VOGS? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Milgram Neutral Newbie June 22, 2007 Author Share June 22, 2007 Hahah...no dude, i'm not... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericx Neutral Newbie July 23, 2007 Share July 23, 2007 Any recommended workshop in SG to change my FD if I can manage to get a compatible one for my ride? I'm driving a CS3 (Lancer) here. What is the estimated labour cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Milgram Neutral Newbie July 24, 2007 Author Share July 24, 2007 Hey bro, I think if you go down to Paya Ubi there, there are a couple of shops that specialize in car performance (can't recall their names off-hand though) which will probably be able to help you change it. Alternatively, there's always Garage R at Tagore Lane Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericx Neutral Newbie July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 Alright, thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kalaplus Neutral Newbie July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 i dont think got fd for cs3 leh. just go jb, and change mivec gearbox with lsd! that gearbox is close ratio & with lsd, can corner much faster. if got more budget, get mivec engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericx Neutral Newbie July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 Actually I've already gotten the FD, need to experiment also, cos no gaurantee. Cheaper than mivec gearbox mah, including labour for FD change is abt half the price of the mivec gearbox... if can get the gearbox at $400 or lesser I wouldn't mind changing... haha Thanks for the advise anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kalaplus Neutral Newbie July 26, 2007 Share July 26, 2007 i use to drive lancer also =) all change mivec gearbox to get close ratio, never heard before got fd for lancer. it a new release? i scrape my cs2 in 2005. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericx Neutral Newbie August 3, 2007 Share August 3, 2007 Not a new release, just a FD from a mivec gearbox, using it for my CS3 gearbox. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshiki Neutral Newbie August 7, 2007 Share August 7, 2007 I replaced my stock throttle body wif bbtb, felt diff in better throttle response n slightly better pickup. Have carbon filter w CAI so bbtb works better than wif stock airbox but i tink FC suffer leh. Not sure abt f.d.r. Closer gearings better acceleration till second last gear? After tat final gear take longer to reach top speed? Sorry OT a bit, anyone installed bbtb? Is it normal for engine to be louder n more vibration coz mine can hear quite loud noise n vibration from 2.5k rpm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericang69 Neutral Newbie August 8, 2007 Share August 8, 2007 Wat is the dia of the TB u change to??? Wat is yr ride? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...