Marko Neutral Newbie May 20, 2007 Share May 20, 2007 Hi guys. Was visited by cops in the morning on this case. Apparently, that idiot gave up after few attempts as the glass refused to give way. He was aiming for the cashcard. The other lorry was not so lucky as the screen was totally smashed with a hole so as to gain access to the IU unit. Now I need to change this windscreen of mine. I cannot claim insurance as I am on Third Party Fire and Theft from China Insurance. Could anyone know where can i fix this problema and the cost? I am on Honda Jazz. Any other advice appreciated. Thank you. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 20, 2007 Share May 20, 2007 (edited) Dun tell insurance it's caused by theft lah. Since nothing is stolen. Is it theft? Just pay for the windscreen excess. It wun affect your NCD. Edited May 20, 2007 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dipstick Neutral Newbie May 20, 2007 Share May 20, 2007 Did you leave your cashcard in the IU? If you did, that's like an invitation to those desperadoes who are most likely to be teenage school kids. It's time for something to be done about this problem. I would suggest that the IUs be redesigned to do away with the need for the cashcard to be inserted when we pass thru the gantries. A better IU would be one where a chip is built in so that it allows the cash value to be transferred to the IU when we insert the cashcard. There would then be no need for us to leave the cashcard inserted in the IU for any deductions. Problem solved. A cheaper method would be the use of dedicated cahscard that can only be used in the particular IU and cannot be used in another IU or used to make purchases. If someone were to steal that cashcard, it would be useless to that person. This will also surely solve the problem of cashcard theft. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otsego Clutched May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 what kind of sick freak would do that i feel for ur lost Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djcoolmax 2nd Gear May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 seriously.. even if one puts the CashCard cover (which I do) I suspect the thieves would be just as inclined to smash the windscreen to get to the CashCard. Best of course would not to have those covers and not have the cashcard inside IU.. but how bother are we to do that? The design of the IT unit is so "out-dated".. there are SO many ways to make it safer and nicer... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 any workshop will b able to assist u, just a matter of cost. if theft cannot claim, what's there to cover? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fatpenguin Neutral Newbie May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 Glass refused to give way... Solar film installed? Good for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otsego Clutched May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 is the driver side glass right? if the thief stupid and smashed the front 1... smash till sunset and till sunrise also cannot smash down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sqxt Neutral Newbie May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 LOL. these days i think windscreens are rock solid and some times even smash resistant. after smashing you'll have to use something like a crowbar to hack in and pull away. and even then, it's like dead lifting 100 kg ++ of weights straight upwards. I tried before with a SLEDGE hammer. very difficult to crack passenger car windscreen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Symantec9 2nd Gear May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 Strange...doesn't gave way so easily with hammer...but when kena stone, can get easily chip... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chimp Clutched May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 Did you leave your cashcard in the IU? If you did, that's like an invitation to those desperadoes who are most likely to be teenage school kids. It's time for something to be done about this problem. I would suggest that the IUs be redesigned to do away with the need for the cashcard to be inserted when we pass thru the gantries. A better IU would be one where a chip is built in so that it allows the cash value to be transferred to the IU when we insert the cashcard. There would then be no need for us to leave the cashcard inserted in the IU for any deductions. Problem solved. A cheaper method would be the use of dedicated cahscard that can only be used in the particular IU and cannot be used in another IU or used to make purchases. If someone were to steal that cashcard, it would be useless to that person. This will also surely solve the problem of cashcard theft. Another method is to borrow those US 24-hours convenient stores use - they will put up a sign saying their cashier will only have change for $20 dollars. You can have a sticker put up next to the IU saying "cashcard amount inside always maintained at below $10 dollars" so it will not worth their effort. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 Dun tell insurance it's caused by theft lah. Since nothing is stolen. Is it theft? Just pay for the windscreen excess. It wun affect your NCD. what's the use? he already said his insurance is thrid-party. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 Did you leave your cashcard in the IU? If you did, that's like an invitation to those desperadoes who are most likely to be teenage school kids. It's time for something to be done about this problem. I would suggest that the IUs be redesigned to do away with the need for the cashcard to be inserted when we pass thru the gantries. A better IU would be one where a chip is built in so that it allows the cash value to be transferred to the IU when we insert the cashcard. There would then be no need for us to leave the cashcard inserted in the IU for any deductions. Problem solved. A cheaper method would be the use of dedicated cahscard that can only be used in the particular IU and cannot be used in another IU or used to make purchases. If someone were to steal that cashcard, it would be useless to that person. This will also surely solve the problem of cashcard theft. Actually the market for IUs is around 80 bucks each. So in fact the IU costs more than the cashcard inside. If i were the theif, i would steal the whole IU and go sell!!! IUs in vehicles are outdated. The govt shd just stick an IU in our ass hole and everytime we wanna go orchard or town or even the movies, all we need to do is stick something up our ass and we are set! Then again there will be problems of desperate pple with itchy fingers digging into our ass while we are asleep. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dlar2 Neutral Newbie May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 Dun tell insurance it's caused by theft lah. Since nothing is stolen. Is it theft? Just pay for the windscreen excess. It wun affect your NCD. He already visited by cops and you tell him to lie to insurance? Later if insurance check with police, then he will end up in deep sxxt! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...