Hi comp piston

Iforu

my stock CR is 11.5, if change to 12.5 or 13.1 but still using 98ron, will there be any diff?

i know 13.1 can increase around 20hp but must using racing fuel to get the result.

Can you stock cylinder head, & bolts take the increase in compression pressure? Modification should be carried out in total and not on pieces meal basis. Very unprofessional approach

yes they can take it, i only need to change valve & spring so that i can rev till 9k.

but u never ans my question leh [sweatdrop]

Edited by Iforu

for such high compression,its advisable to use racing fuel to prevent knocking.

i don't think Ron 98 is sufficient for 13:1.

but are you sure just increase the compression will give you so much gain on a SS2?

have you got a high cam to go with it as well?

using racing fuel will gain this much. this is wat they tell me.

but no 1 know abt 98 [:/]

You advance the timing as rpm build up. The is so because you are trying to predict peak cylinder pressure as the piston decends so that it is more mechanically efficient.

Why advance ? You advance because the pistons are now moving at a quicker rate but this also gives you less time for charge burning to take place. This is why the ignition timing needs to be increased.

To retard timing is the direct opposite of the above. You cannot advance timing if the cylinders haven't reach max volumetric efficiency. Thats where all your torque is gone. If you wish to advance your ignition timing at low rpm with hi comp pistons, be prepared for a new engine.

Read, read more and read even more on the technical aspect of an engine. Also spend hours on the dyno sitting next to my tuner observing how he tune and ask questions.

The above is only the scratching the surface about how ignition timing roughly works. However I am still learning.

You'll need to read up alot, do a bit of research and try to comprehend what book says. But at the end of the day you'll need hands on approach to gain experience.

For me I do not have that hands on experience. The mechanics I know have already started stripping engines to pieces since they were teenagers and are very highly knowledgable.

When it comes to ECU tuning, you'll need a dyno (AWD cost $130,000), be prepared to blow alot engines and appetite to take calculated risk.

Cannot compare lah bro. Stripping and rebuilding any engine is easy (tedious but def easy). Being able to tune for a large variety of engines and related components is very hard!

Easy to strip it but to have complete knowledge of what every component does and what their purpose is not exactly easy.

As for tuning, I never really believe a tuner can tune any type/brand of ECUs and be competent in all. Likewise for all types of engine. Most reputable tuners over here specialises in 1 or 2 types/Brand of ECUs and are good at it.

I know of a workshop that tune the following ECU. Motec, Autronic, Wolf 3D, E-Manage, Ecutek, Unichip, Chiptorque, Verso, etc. This sort of tuner, I don't bother going to. If you've compared an Autronic and Motec interface side by side, you'll see the vast differences. Some experienced tuners still need to refer to the help file from time to time.

what i meant was taking apart any engine and knowing the components is much easier than being able to tune different makes and models of cars with the same ecu as you have to have all the knowledge of the former in addition to tuning knowledge of the latter.

Heard the unichip Q version could tune the ign Timing now hor [gossip]

So does this PIG really BACKUP n Gain Performance [gossip]

Then tune here n There [sweatdrop]

1st of all what's the model of your car

how high u intend to boost

had u upgraded the conrod and fuel delivery

price vary between 1k to 1.8k

you can customize from je and wiseco