Snakeater Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 I'm getting my corolla in a couple of months and wish to change my rims to 15 inch. Went to Leong Seng and Yap Brothers, and they said they would only pay $200++ for toyota 14inch rims. Is that true? Anyway, I browsed trough a few brands, My father insisted that I get Japanese rims and wouldn't even consider Taiwanese. So we looked at Enkei and OZ, I only saw 1 or 2 enkeis in these shops, but plenty of OZs. However, the OZs weighted in at a hefty 7.9kgs!!! My budget is around $200 per rim. Preferably 5 spoke "star design". Light weight, and japan made. Can anyone help? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zombie Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 Oz Superleggra. 15".... just fit your budget.... I tried lifting one of the enkei.... lighter than superleggra... i am not sure what model is that.... becos i dun like the spokes... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snakeater Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Author Share May 5, 2003 I know, it must be the Enkei CPSII. I initially thought it was butt-ugly, but after looking at it longer, it seems nicer. Heard that its a very good rim also, just not my cup of tea. OZ Superleggras are quite common leh, and I prefer 5 spokes. I guess I'm leaning towards the OZ crono Evo. I saw at Yap Brothers that there's a new 5 spoke rim, but didn't ask abt it. The OZ's sold in singapore, where are they made in? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 Snake eater.. if you are using toyota cars.. Supperleggs are out of the questions. the PCD and offset does not suit. Yes it can fit... (which I experienced before), try chiong NS Highway, without performance nut, your RIM can throw away.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snakeater Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Author Share May 5, 2003 Aiyoh, how come so problemetic. OZ crono evo can fit G9? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie May 6, 2003 Share May 6, 2003 Check the PCD... of course who is selling to you says can.. Leggera PCD is not 100. For Crono, I do not know. Need to see the rim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snakeater Neutral Newbie May 6, 2003 Author Share May 6, 2003 I just called up YHI, and they told me that the Superleggra PCD is 4 x 100, and the Crono Evo has 2 PCDs, 4 x 100, and 4 x 108. I went to http://www.oz-japan.com/products/monobloc_...dex.html#toyota and noticed something interesting. It's that the same 15" rim comes in different PCDs and offsets for different cars. So I not sure if YHI brings in one kind of OZ SL and cronos or wat. Wah lau, damn confusing, I always thought just goto shop and point to rim and they do everything can already. Really learned a lot from this forum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super4 Clutched May 6, 2003 Share May 6, 2003 Well, all of us will learn something new in this forum..i'm very sure of that... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firefox Neutral Newbie May 6, 2003 Share May 6, 2003 try 5 zigen n yes, as log as you trade in you 4 wheels brand new, they do take in at a certain price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snakeater Neutral Newbie May 6, 2003 Author Share May 6, 2003 HAhahah... This reminds me. I was at Yap Brothers, and was served by this buy who speak hokkien. He was recommending me rims, then he asked me if I heard of "5 chicken" brand of rims. I was like "huh? 5 chicken?". So I said no, never heard of. HE was like " 5 chicken very popular you don't know meh?" Then he pointed to one of the rims, then I said, "Oh, 5Zigen! Yah I heard of" HEhehe....and before that OZ he pronounced as OG. But he's very helpful lah, next time I do more research then go and visit his "chickens" again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 6, 2003 Share May 6, 2003 Hi Snakeater, You can see how the CPS II looks on my car. It's the second lightest from Enkei 5kg+ if I remember correctly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Natas Neutral Newbie May 6, 2003 Share May 6, 2003 Errr OZ SL not made in Italy??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie May 6, 2003 Share May 6, 2003 Are you sure. you better see the inscription on the rims.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hktan Neutral Newbie May 6, 2003 Share May 6, 2003 I am also considering Enkei CPS2 and OZ Leg as well. Will listen more about this 2 rims from the forum before action. What I know is OZ Leg is difficult to clean internally. Have to clean from behind. Siong! CPS2 look nice on Vtim's. Wondering can both fix nicely on my Accent. Cool is referring to Toyota only, right? I think mine also with PCD 4x100 as well but with offset +38mm. Hope I am right. Hehe! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muddie Neutral Newbie May 6, 2003 Share May 6, 2003 fren, i think when it comes to rims, the weight of the rims doesn't really matter, IMHO. what's the difference if the rims are 1kg lighter each, it just come up to about 4kg in total!!! and as a percentage of the total weight of the car, what difference does it make. if you think it will affect performance or petrol consumption because of the heavier rims, then think again. i used to own the same car as a fren of mine and both of have exactly the same set of rims. and you know what, his petrol consumption is at least 1.5km/litre lower than me. the main difference is that he's got a heavy right foot whereas i'm more controlled. btw, i just bought 4 BBS RK rims. take a look at this brand, you won't regret. but it's a bit heavy on the pocket. hope this helps... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snakeater Neutral Newbie May 6, 2003 Author Share May 6, 2003 Thanks for the input guys. Like I said, I'm only interested in those 5-spokes star type designs. I'm in love with the Crono Evo, so I'm really hoping that it will fit snugly on my Corolla. The OZ Hydra(new) is also very tempting, but its heavier than the crono. BTW, which other brand of Japan/European brands should I look for, that are less than $200? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie May 6, 2003 Share May 6, 2003 BBS Rk... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie May 6, 2003 Share May 6, 2003 wah....BBS RK on a mondeo? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...