Kelpie 2nd Gear May 18, 2007 Share May 18, 2007 1. Planning a solo trip with family to Terengganu in mid June. Would like to tap on those who have driven and had a holiday there. 2. Bascially, looking at 4 days 3 nights at most. Bringing preschoolers along so wonder if it is going to be boring for them. My only impression on Terengganu is to see turtle lay eggs and lake Kenyir(kuantan?). So, any recommendation of good hotels that are children friendly (nice playground and child care service)? 3. For driving, may plan to go Gentings 1st then go straight to Terengganu then back to SG. How long does it takes from Gentings to Terengganu? Thank you very much. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear May 18, 2007 Share May 18, 2007 Terengganu (I take it that you mean Rantau Abang) still can see turtles lay eggs meh? I had to fly all the way to Borneo to see that! I used to drive up Terengganu quite often via JB->Mersing or Segamat->Kuantan->Cherating->KT. I can perhaps give some advice on that but have not done the full Temerloh Highway, which should be your Genting->Kuantan->KT route. For kids, they'd probably enjoy some of the beaches and islands or waterfalls. If you can spare a bit more time can even drive up to Kota Bahru for some malay culture tour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 18, 2007 Author Share May 18, 2007 Terengganu (I take it that you mean Rantau Abang) still can see turtles lay eggs meh? I had to fly all the way to Borneo to see that! I used to drive up Terengganu quite often via JB->Mersing or Segamat->Kuantan->Cherating->KT. I can perhaps give some advice on that but have not done the full Temerloh Highway, which should be your Genting->Kuantan->KT route. For kids, they'd probably enjoy some of the beaches and islands or waterfalls. If you can spare a bit more time can even drive up to Kota Bahru for some malay culture tour. 1. , I thought Terengganu is a famous place to see turtles lay eggs. It looks like the kids will not get to see it afterall. 2. I heard Temerloh Highway is very straight and is often spyed by the TP for speeding. Actually, My family doesn't like "water" especially the wife. Well, seeing beaches is one thing but I doubt we like the idea of sea sports or activites. At most, build sand castle at the beach. Yeh, tell me more about this Kota Bahru and Malay Culture tour. Thank you. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 18, 2007 Share May 18, 2007 Turtles no longer laying eggs on the coastline of Terengannu anymore. More can be seen in Redang. Very few on mainland Malaysia now. Terengannu I recommend Awana Kijal. Easy to find. Not too far away from Cukai for the stuffed crabs, Kedai Kopi Hai Peng and even Cherating actually. Any further up north, there is nothing except more deserted beaches which the preschoolers will find boring or if they like running around on them, exciting. Check my VT page on Terengannu. http://members.virtualtourist.com/m/97dde/6be/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 18, 2007 Share May 18, 2007 U wana see turtle lay egg, have to go to Cherating there. They have a turtle santury n they conduct night tours to see turtle lay eggs. The season is July - August for turtle to lay eggs. Maybe u wana wait till end july then go to confirm see turtle lay eggs, so else u'll be disappointed. Do check on my write up of Cherating : http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi?do=post_view_flat;post=1648161;page=1;sb=post_latest_reply;so=ASC;mh=-1; ://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...;so=ASC;mh=-1; ://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...;so=ASC;mh=-1; ://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...;so=ASC;mh=-1; ://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...;so=ASC;mh=-1; ://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...;so=ASC;mh=-1; ://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...;so=ASC;mh=-1; Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sickscientist Clutched May 18, 2007 Share May 18, 2007 Ahh yes... Terengganu... Such a nice place.... U said that u do not want to bore those preschoolers out... Advice to u is drive in the wee hours of the morning.... That way, they'll sleep thru out the journey..... I'd recommend u to take resorts instead of hotels.... Better for me... Or if u wanna do some dry shopping for ''Keropok'' etc, accomodate at the hotel in Kuala Terengganu near to the market... What I suggest is, go for 1st T'ganu and then drive down to Cherating on ur remaining days there.... Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 18, 2007 Share May 18, 2007 Genting to Trengganu travel time estimated... 5-6 hours Its a very nice place. The long stretch of beach is almost deserted at many locations. I'll be good just to bring the wife or gf there for some quality time. Star gazing at night. Retire to bed for a 2 hour exercise and etc. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...