Chewbacca80 Neutral Newbie May 17, 2007 Share May 17, 2007 HI anyone? will u get a garmin, tom tom stand alone gps or will you get a gps phone like dopod 810 or N95 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged May 17, 2007 Share May 17, 2007 if i have no PDA, i will get those standalone type. If have PDA, will get GPS receiver and use bluetooth to use GPS on PDA. Dun think i will get a PDA HP with GPS. imagine wanna make calls while using GPS?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear May 17, 2007 Share May 17, 2007 dopod 810 does not include map software. have to buy say mapking at $99. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D_syahmi Clutched May 17, 2007 Share May 17, 2007 For me,i prefer standalone gps unit.Use PDa phone might hang up.I'm looking for gps unit.Anybody can recommend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged May 17, 2007 Share May 17, 2007 GARMIN! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca80 Neutral Newbie May 17, 2007 Author Share May 17, 2007 Garmin Nuvi 310 or if u prefer bigger screen then 610 lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lau_mathew Clutched May 17, 2007 Share May 17, 2007 i am using a dopod 818pro. i do not have any map, but when i bought my gps receiver, my vendor actually install for me free. to the TS, i am using dopod+gps receiver, but i would still prefer a standalone gps if i have the extra cash. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mactrek Neutral Newbie May 17, 2007 Share May 17, 2007 I'm using a D810 and have used a bluetooh Holux GPS adaptor before with my old O2 atom. A bit distracting if you need to make a call while the GPS is on but no need to charge so many things the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie May 17, 2007 Share May 17, 2007 Definitely Garmin Nuvi set, not to mention PDA phone or even the N95, if you thinking between PDA phone or N95 then it is better to get the PDA phone cos it is more stable than Nokia symbian phone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 17, 2007 Share May 17, 2007 Hi, I'm using Palm Treo 750v with GPS receiver(Holux Slim236). Using Mapking 2007. I've been using it for more than a month now. Price wise I try to get cheap ones of course. Total damage: Treo($698-M1) + GPS receiver cum sg map ($159) I got other accessories like a stereo plug($6) to connect to Treo plus a double sided stereo audio jack($10) to plug into my Civic's AUX in. This way I can listen to the navigation whether to turn left or right loud and clear. The Treo was a steal to me cos it came with the premium pack which contains extra charger, extra batt, cradle which can charge phone and extra batt at the same time, car charger, extra styluses. Oh I also have to get a car cradle which cost $16. I must say it's fun, Navigation and street directory at the palm of your hands. Stand alone I find it very ex and u have to hide it from prying eyes after u leave your car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lengendcf 1st Gear May 17, 2007 Share May 17, 2007 HI anyone? will u get a garmin, tom tom stand alone gps or will you get a gps phone like dopod 810 or N95 I would prefer a Garmin as it will have at least a 3.5" screen. ie, Nuvi 3xx. Those bundled with phone features, normally the screen size is roughly about 2.7" max..ie. Mio A70x, Dopod.. At least get the Nuvi 310, with Bluetooth so can pair up with your phone.. Can use the Garmin to call/pick the call. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxkhoo Neutral Newbie May 17, 2007 Share May 17, 2007 i have a O2 atom life, is there any GPS receiver for this model too?? if yes i will just get the receiver rather than the whole gadget for Garmin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djcoolmax 2nd Gear May 17, 2007 Share May 17, 2007 Here's another tot. Get a PDA GPS (none phone). This way, you can still use your current phone and use the PDA as a GPS when you are driving. Yes, you have to carry another device but I think this is better as I look at it as, if I just want my phone, I don't have to carry this huge thing with me all the time. not to mention, the PDA/GPS devices are a little cheaper as well. dedicated GPS is the best if you have the money and really need to use GPS all the time, if not, then a PPC device is a good consideration. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 17, 2007 Share May 17, 2007 U can get any bluetooth GPS receiver + software and map. U'll be good to go. As for software, as long as it's any Windows OS it'll work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 17, 2007 Share May 17, 2007 You can still make calls and receive calls (with BT headset) even when the GPS is working. If the HP 6828 can do it...I believe most other PDA phone would be able to do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca80 Neutral Newbie May 17, 2007 Author Share May 17, 2007 vote vote! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca80 Neutral Newbie May 19, 2007 Author Share May 19, 2007 haa anymore vote.. duh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lengendcf 1st Gear May 19, 2007 Share May 19, 2007 Try searching the net for this. P550. Newly listed. Looks chio. Gps cum Pda. With bluetooth, wifi. Think selling at $699. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...