User12343 Clutched May 13, 2007 Share May 13, 2007 May the Mazda driver rest in peace. ST 14/5 EARLY yesterday, as women across the world celebrated motherhood, Mr Alex Lim's mother watched her son die. The 30-year-old financial adviser had been in hospital since he was allegedly thrown off a taxi on April 9. Despite multiple operations, he never regained consciousness. Even if he had pulled through, he would probably have had to live with major disabilities. The tragedy was the result of what started out as a minor traffic dispute on the night of April 9. Mr Lim was driving his girlfriend home for dinner, but along Paterson Road, his red Mazda was involved in a minor collision with a taxi. Both drivers then parked along Scotts Road and got out of their vehicles. An argument ensued. Before it was resolved, cabby Lee Yuet Kong, who was carrying a passenger at the time, allegedly got back into his taxi and tried to drive off. Mr Lim, wanting to get Lee's particulars, stood in front of the cab, but Lee reportedly drove away, throwing him onto the bonnet. He later allegedly braked abruptly, causing Mr Lim to fall backwards and hit his head on the road. Lee, a 68-year-old relief driver, has been charged with causing grievous hurt with a rash act. As a result of the accident, Mr Lim's brain swelled so much that the pressure on his skull was believed to be more than six times that of a normal person. After he was warded, doctors operated on the right side of his head and cut out part of his brain. In a second operation, blood clots were removed from the left side. After doctors told the family Mr Lim's vital signs were weakening on Saturday night, about 60 to 70 friends rushed to Tan Tock Seng Hospital. He died two minutes after midnight, his girlfriend, 24-year-old Ms Yvonne Lin, said. At the wake yesterday, a 24-year-old cousin of Mr Lim said: 'Deep down in our heart, he's won the battle, fighting for more than a month. 'He fought all the way until past midnight on Mother's Day. That's the best present he could give,' she said. It is not known whether the charge Lee faces will be changed as a result of Mr Lim's death. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear May 13, 2007 Share May 13, 2007 That's painful for the mother... to see her son pass away on Mother's Day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mage Clutched May 13, 2007 Share May 13, 2007 Taxi driver jialat liao ... worse still if he has a conscious .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jovi25 Neutral Newbie May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 May him rest in peace.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hades Neutral Newbie May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 Sigh ... always sad to c another life gone ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 No Parent should ever have to bury their child... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched May 14, 2007 Author Share May 14, 2007 yeah, its the black-haired sending the white-haired, not the other way round. as part of the funeral ritual, the mother is supposed to "cane" the coffin when it's due to cremation. the very thought of it is farking heart-wrenching.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces7 Neutral Newbie May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 (edited) Such road thugs, shd never go unpunished. Such acts, shd require coresponidng actions against him to send a message - a strong one - to the rest of the rash-action type drivers. His actions driving forward, knock and brake, causing serious harm, shd be considered intentional (and nothing less), and motive shd never be questioned. My condolences to his mom. And yes, no parents shd mourn for his children. This is indeed a very sad day. Edited May 14, 2007 by Pisces7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teoky Clutched May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 I am sure the taxi driver has a conscience just that during the heat of things, people do lose awareness of what they are really doing. I think living in Singapore is too stressful and probably too fast for many people. Our society is also not very gracious. For those who have driven oversea before, you know what I mean. There was a big jam at CTE y'day and I was trying to filter left because I need to get onto the next exit, well what do you know, the minute I signal, the pick up truck on the left lane immediately accelerate to close up the gap ! I tried to filter left further up and again another pick up did the same thing ! Anyway, once I saw a gap further up front, I just speed up and cut in, so ultimately I end up in front of both pick up anyway. I was very angry but I knew no point to be angry and get into trouble. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 i feel beri sad for this guy...and the knn taxi drive is 60 year old man...really NB Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 My deepest condolences to his family & girlfriend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 Condolence to his family. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wilb Clutched May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 Deepest condolences. This taught us a real lesson. Never try to be gung ho, it is not worth doing that. That young guy chose the wrong action, he should have calmed down a bit. NOT WORTH IT LAH, END UP HURTING EVERYBODY. FIERY TEMPER KILLS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 it is sad. but have u ever tot that the actual road thug may not be the taxi driver? after all he was just trying to avoid a confrontation. and the poor guy tot he may be doing a heroic act in front of his gf to stop the taxi driver from leaving? isnt it much better if he had use his own vehicle to block the cab. I am not siding with anyone. but just because 1 party dies does not make the other party the road bully. Guilty yes but how guilty? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces7 Neutral Newbie May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 yeap, i m reading the report on face value. Assuming all that fact is correct. may hv look stupid to stand in front of the taxi, yet the taxi shd not hv knock him down. Just my impression and interpretation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 (edited) Just an advice, as same with forum take what the papers say with a pinch of salt especially when it comes to sensationalising a story. would it be better if the taxi driver had got into a fight with the deceased instead? Edited May 14, 2007 by Galantspeedz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reng Neutral Newbie May 14, 2007 Share May 14, 2007 Sad to see this happening. The Mazda guy had paid up for his inexperience and foolish action,hope we learn a lesson from here. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...