Help needed for vertical parking

Joanne76

Thks for the diagram. I never tried 45 degree for right lots, so when shld i start to turn my car to 45 ? Upon reaching my desire lot?

Practice makes perfect.

i used to have lousy parking skills but after several years later i'm glad tat i'm more confident now. try winding down yr window while reversing into the lot or use a blind spot mirror to guide u. it may help

a rough estimation would be umm. when your seat is in line with the parking lot, start steering towards the left. your boot should be slanted but in line to the lot. then reverse slowly in.

(notice the transition from left to right lane) it kinda gives you the space to turn and positions your boot nicely just in front of the desired lot after you complete the 45 deg slant. you'll be rather close to the lot as you reverse so you wouldn't veer off too much. and also you can ensure that you 'clear' the car on your right by simply looking out of the driver's window.

i don't think you have to be that particular about which exact point to start steering.

post-1-1179066723_thumb.jpg

Edited by Karebu

As what many others has mentioned, dun worry, practicing will help :)

My personal opinion:

1) Dun bother about what you learnt during driving lessons theory.

2) Imagine that the car is a part of you. ie. You and the car becomes one entity. Imagine that you are the car, and the car is you. Imagine that one day you have grown so hugh that you became the size of a car.

3) After you have perfected step 2, now go ahead and reverse into a parallel lot. Whenever you are reversing into something, the first thing you need to worry about is whether your back will hit something right? So which part of your back is most likely to hit something? if you are reversing right into a lot - your back-right corner. if you are reversing left into a lot - your back-left corner. Let's imagine that you are going to reverse right into a lot. So the first thing to look out for is your back-right corner. Look into your side mirror and ensure that you back-right corner does not hit anything. if it does, adjust your car. if ok then reverse a bit and now focus on your back-left corner, as that will be the next danger zone. if the back-left corner is free from any obstruction, then continue reversing, and keep alternating your views between the left and right corner of your back and make sure they are clear of any obstruction. Keep practicing this and one day parking will become something very natural.

[sweatdrop] WT...

If u mah loo pass u should be able to recall what u had learned. I dun mean the poles and whatever.

I suggest u dun do the 45 degree thing. Stick to what u had learned as in line up your car perpendicular to the lot and reverse in.

If the 45 degree thing that most driver do is better. Driving schools should haf taught u.

When u'r more confident then u can do any pattern.

Look back on what u had learned during training. Once ppl have pass they throw whatever they had learned out the window.

Use the method your instructor taught u.

I once had parallel parking problems. Then when I look back at the theory and followed the steps. F@#k! The steps are actually more effective than my own stupid one.

Funny how we simply discard what we've learned once we passed. [laugh]

Actually I also find that lining up your car perpendicular to the lot and reverse in is easier to attempt rather than the 45 degree thing which can cause u to become disorientated.

For this method, less likely u need to adjust.

Hi guys, i am some problems with my vertical parking, my car always tend to more on the left side of the car lot and sometimes in between of two lots. I always need to do adjustments to get it right. I really don't know why it always like that. I am so afraid of doing any parking now. Can anyone here give me the steps of doing vertical parking?I am driving a Mit Lancer. Thanks

Just turn earlier can liao..... [nod][nod]

I always do that. Before doing so, I always aim at the red latio in my mscp. [:p]

Honestly, the aiming at the parking lines help. Plus adjust the side mirrors downwards for better view. If still cannot, then must employ professional valet man. [laugh]

Any angle will do actually.

Its the way you reverse into your slot. Just reverse beside the car on the right.. use it as a referance.

well.. if done the wrong way, instead of hitting poles, one might hit (and run?) another's car. [sweatdrop]

Aiyo, it's so easy to do a vertical parking fast and furious way, Sis. You need to overcome the fear of hitting an object or car behind first and not be afraid to do adjustment in the expense of other drivers' frustration.

To do a left reverse parking(with vehicle)

1)It's better to practice with a stationary car on the left of your intended lot.

2)Before reversing, you can position your car anyway you like, ie straight or slant.

3)In the school, you've poles to guide you along while reversing, so on the streets you'll need to replace them with other objects which are none other than the head lamps of every car make.

4)As headlamps are situated much lower so you've to view it from your back left passenger

window instead of rear windscreen.

5) Position your car till the right headlamp of the stationary vehicle just disappear from your view thru passenger window)

6) Reverse full lock left, it should go in nicely. If cannot, see from side mirror(rear going to touch headlamp)return wheel 1/4 for 1 sec and back to full lock again.

7) Rest just follow your instinct.

8)For every full lock moving or reversing, return the wheel to normal before come to a halt. This will greatly enhance your handling skill

9) Wheel full lock pace is normal to fast hor not slow or too slow wait your car end up in holland.

Without cars how? Even better!!! Headlamp becomes the line. Before approaching the empty lot, have a sneak preview of the line of interest cos you won't be able to see the line later on. So you've to imprint the line in your head and gauge your ETA time to hit your sweetspot(rear passenger window).

Now you're in the lot but afraid it's not in line. So look to the front, got car follow his alignment if his parking is good else don't follow, no car just assume you're the pilot reaching the airport with 2 white lines infront. You'll know whether your plane is slanted.

Many thks a lot, guys and esp to those whom have given me details and diagrams. Many thanks. :) I will certainly heed those advises and more practices, hopefully, there is one day my parking will be as good as those seasoned drivers. Thanks.

I always do that. Before doing so, I always aim at the red latio in my mscp. [:p]

Honestly, the aiming at the parking lines help. Plus adjust the side mirrors downwards for better view. If still cannot, then must employ professional valet man. [laugh]

No Red Latio....U Dn Know How to Park..... [laugh][laugh]

VERTICAL ? to the sky ah ?

That was exactly what I thought too!!!

I think it is PERPENDICULAR PARKING (vs PARALLEL PARKING).