Hitman Neutral Newbie May 3, 2003 Share May 3, 2003 Was at McWell today and was suprised to see that NOS is available for installation. Anyway, I am just wondering having seen its extensive use in the movie "The Fast and The Furious" ..... what would it take to use NOS on your NA car. Specifically, if I wanna use NOS on my 323, what modifications would have to be made ? Cause logically, I dun think its just an add-on system .... What are the ill-effects on the engine in the long run besides piston wear ? But quite shiok hor ..... with NOS can really ZOOM ZOOM Advice needed. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Selespeed156 Neutral Newbie May 3, 2003 Share May 3, 2003 Hi, Your engine is not made to take the kind of stress from the power that the NOS generated. Do consult the shop for more info. It is also illegal to install such system. Did you also see the car exploded when shot at during the "Fast and Furious" movie..... the part when he shouted NOSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!! and the boom, the car exploded? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie May 3, 2003 Author Share May 3, 2003 (edited) Yeah , I was kinda kiddin when I kinda hinted at installing NOS. And yes , I do remember the explosion part. But, if its illegal, why is it being sold ? Its kinda having heroin up for sale and its illegal ? Is there any changes made to the ruling for NOS in Singapore that I didn;t know about. If a 323 cant get NOSsed ..... which car can ? From what I saw at McWell, it seems the Honda cars can be NOSsed ..... I am still wondering about the modifications that is required though ..... and if the curiosity gets the better of me, I'll go down again and ask the shop about it, and maybe post their answers here. Edited May 3, 2003 by Hitman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie May 3, 2003 Share May 3, 2003 Any car can be NOSed but the lifespan of most engine parts will be reduce drastically... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie May 3, 2003 Share May 3, 2003 piston pickup time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie May 3, 2003 Share May 3, 2003 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baccarat156 Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Share May 4, 2003 I fitted the Nos from Don at McWell in my previous SiR. The outburst of power was really fantastic but it caused too much stress on the engine till I need to sell it. Was at McWell today and was suprised to see that NOS is available for installation. Anyway, I am just wondering having seen its extensive use in the movie "The Fast and The Furious" ..... what would it take to use NOS on your NA car. Specifically, if I wanna use NOS on my 323, what modifications would have to be made ? Cause logically, I dun think its just an add-on system .... What are the ill-effects on the engine in the long run besides piston wear ? But quite shiok hor ..... with NOS can really ZOOM ZOOM Advice needed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Share May 4, 2003 SO, what car are you driving now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Share May 4, 2003 Wah NOS ! Din know there actually are people with that in SG, even though I saw it at McWell. Really can blow you away ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Author Share May 4, 2003 Oh WOW !!! You got NOSsed ..... Too much stress eh ? Did any modifications need to be made ? What about inspections ? Please share the problems that came with it .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Share May 4, 2003 i was thinking i put a fire extinguisher in the boot, then dress it up look like NOS... how does it look like? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Author Share May 4, 2003 Wah Low eh .... you joking or what ?? Like that ..... better drive a Suzuki and put a Ferrari Logo .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baccarat156 Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Share May 4, 2003 Driving 156 lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baccarat156 Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Share May 4, 2003 There was a few of us fitted the NOS couple of years ago. Mostly fitted on the ESI coming to COE maturity. Trust me, with the outburst of power, it really blow u away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baccarat156 Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Share May 4, 2003 When I installed it like 3 years ago when McWell was still at Autobach, not much mods are done. Just install the container fill with the "laughing gas" and some kind of wiring to the engine plus a switch on the dashboard. The installation process took almost a day. Nos gives u plenty of satisfaction with the tremendous outburst so you will go back for more. I remember per refill cost me something like $50. The more you use it, the more money u spent and the worst part of all is the engine will get overheated very easily with frequent use. I was stranded for 4 hours at NSH on the way back to Singapore cos the engine overheated after one outburst of Nos. Inspection wise, send to McWell and they will settle for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Author Share May 4, 2003 I was searching the web on this subject and lo and behold .... any car can be NOSsed .... without much modification to the engine. However, the limits of the NOS must be made known to the owner, most US and UK car sites recommend. In most cases, the owner must not NOS the car for more than 15 secs. If on a 1.6, 3 second bursts are enough ..... but again only at full throttle at 1st or 2nd gear only. Were you advised on this requirement ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baccarat156 Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Share May 4, 2003 Yup, any car can be NOSed. I agree with the recommendations from the website, no burst exceeding 15 seconds cos the engine may not be able to take it. The car may just collasp if you pushed it too hard. I remember my burst of NOS always last around 5 seconds but I could do it at 3rd gear at full throttle. Anyway, when u burst the NOS even its only 3 seconds. The outburst is already enough to overtake a Audi TT coupe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Author Share May 4, 2003 Holy Macro !! Enough to overtake an Audi TT .... thats what I call a truly Zoom Zoom experience. Maybe I can get Super 7 (Foo) to work a NOS system on his 1970 Celica. Then he would have the Airtrek and an awfully SUPER CELICA. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...