Component speaker

Les548

hi , just went down to autotrend tis afternoon and they claim yay my driver side compomemt speaker gone liao. so recommend me to change. they change for me helix fr german which i have never heard b4m any bro heard of this brand ? it cost me $280

Hi bro

For that price range Helix is not bad.. is it H136? Also, you can try rainbow SLX 265 (If i remember correctly the model no) which is also around that price range.

Btw, what component speaker are you currently using? Did the installer tell you why the speaker was spoilt? the voice coil got burnt? the crossover got fried? loose wiring? You may want to find out the reason before getting a new speaker. Coz either 1) your current speaker may not be spoilt at all or 2) if you change to new speaker, you would not want the same thing to happen to your new set of speakers.

cheers

Yes, i also believe the Helix you bought is in the same range as the Rainbow SLX series...pretty decent speakers..nothing high end but good none the less..

Ans yes, as Clarence says, you should've found out from the installer what went wrong...if it's a wiring problem, doesn't matter what speaker you use, it's gonna spoil again in the future...better to solve the problem then just go around it...

that guy told me it is short circuit, that why the sound is very soft. he did ask me to hear it. So, I' m not so good in this aspect, no choice got to believe him but he claim that all speaker got not warrantly, that's i was quite suprise. Is that true?

The installer is probably right about no warranty. How long did you sue your 1st set of speaker? Is it original or you have bought it from another installer?

Soft? If you are going to buy from him, I suggest you check with him what is the root cause of failure (i.e how come it was short circuit). Was it wrong wiring? Could it due to the amp's (do you have an amp?) setting? If not, even you buy the best speakers, you may end up spoiling the speaker again if the root problem is not identified and rectified.

cheers

You guys are really good, yes, it is made in SG. I also cannot remember which model, bcos tat guy did not mention. anyway, idid not feel much diff from my previous taiwan brand.

Made in SG? Don't remember coming across any speakers made in SG. Most likely China or Taiwan if it's not the high end series.

Just wondering.. why did you decide to change to this brand if you have not heard of it before?

I usually don't trust what salesman tell me unless I have already done some research. i'm usually quite sceptical and will be worried that the shop might be trying to clear off old stocks stocked up for many years, or speakers returned from another user, or the profit margin for the particular brand of speakers is especially high. Did you inspect the speakers out of the box and make sure it is new? Did the box indicate year of manufacture, place speaker is made in, etc? Warranty of how many years? Speakers got serial number?

Anyway I am still a noob when it come to ICE, and is currently still making research on what to install to replace my stock :P so dun take my word seriously :) just some general comments when it comes to buying electrical appliances. :) Any, from this forum postings, seems like autotread you went to is a reputable shop so you need not worry so much :)

I really don't know which brand is good but i saw that guys took it out from a box and is well seal and pack when he show it to me. anyway, i find it a bit expensive. Seem like someone know the brand helix, than should be fine loh!

Helix is a good brand. I'm using the highest end x36 series, HSX636 Advantgarde.

that guy told me it is short circuit, that why the sound is very soft. he did ask me to hear it. So, I' m not so good in this aspect, no choice got to believe him but he claim that all speaker got not warrantly, that's i was quite suprise. Is that true?

According to the manual here, your speaker is supposed to come with 2 years warranty?

Not sure whether it is applicable to singapore though, since i dun think there is a service centre here.

http://www.audiotec-fischer.com/pdfs/blue2006_eng.pdf

http://www.audiotec-fischer.com/pdfs/BA_esp_eng.pdf

(not sure which is your model)

Edited by Spherex

hi , just went down to autotrend tis afternoon and they claim yay my driver side compomemt speaker gone liao. so recommend me to change. they change for me helix fr german which i have never heard b4m any bro heard of this brand ? it cost me $280

Helix is a german brand but they used to sell at 360 n now 280?? SIM LIM selling same model and guess how much it is?

There is no canton agent in Singapore and there are lots of fake stuff flooding here. I found out this after i email to canton HQ. Can visit their site to verify your product, they will response to your query.

Edited by Africatwin

Yea, there's so many fake stuff in the market these days it's hard to tell real from fake.

Best is to buy direct from an authorized dealer, stick with well known and trusted brands and resellers...or if you have a particular brand you can't find, import from overseas lor...

This way, confirm original

import from overseas oso might be fake. Once it reaches our shores den u discover abit too late liao. [sweatdrop]