Better Tires put in Front or Behind?

Tkseah

1st Gear

New tyres put at home.. coz you don't need new tyres to drift [laugh]

1st Gear

like that hor.. put one new and one old at both the rear and front respectively.

the new one at the right side if the driver turn right more often [:p]

I've got around 20 pieces of 2nd hand tires at Teo Hin Tires (Eunos Technolink outlet). Some I got hold of FOC from tire shops, some I bought from MCF'ers when they were due to change their tires.

Most of the 2nd hand tire I have usually have around 30 to 40% thread still left, which is usually after 40,000km of normal saloon car driving.

May I ask,

New tyres goes to the rear if want to prevent over and under steering.

However due to our climate and driving pattern, it's more towards dry, straight and hot.

So should we put the new tyres in front for better braking and stopping?

  On 5/17/2017 at 1:07 PM, Kurty said:

May I ask,

However due to our climate and driving pattern, it's more towards dry, straight and hot.

I agree on hot, not too sure about dry and straight tho.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

I read that having the newer tyres behind is for safety, because for FWD, we only have control over the 2 front wheels, anything happen at least you know and can still control the wheels. If the rear wheels are bad and you have no control, its bad bad idea. 

Edited by Tianmo

May I ask,

Sounds like you are on a race track bro.. Thought the usual 10k km rotate tyres can liao?? Sorry ah.. noob about tyre performance..

Best is to always change all four , then rotate for even wear . Unless your tyres are staggered .

But if for some reason you only change two , then all the videos is youtube will advise you to put new ones at the REAR , irrespective of whether your car is FWD , RWD or AWD . This is for reasons of traction during slippery condition and safety.

However , in our local context , since the majority of our cars here are FWD , tyre shops will always recommend to put the new ones at the front as the front tends to wear out much faster ; hence you have a more even wear rate . 

Conclusion : Put new ones at the front if your ride is FWD , and you want even wear rate of your tyres.

Put new ones at the rear  if you want better stability during slippery conditions.

Case closed ? 

Edited by F355

  On 5/18/2017 at 3:21 AM, Buadongdong said:

Sounds like you are on a race track bro.. Thought the usual 10k km rotate tyres can liao?? Sorry ah.. noob about tyre performance..

nah. normal driving..

I very kia si..

I used to rotate every 10 years but stop doing that..

lazy..

tyres not expensive, 3-4 years time to change..

just curious where to place them

On 5/18/2017 at 3:34 AM, F355 said:

Best is to always change all four , then rotate for even wear . Unless your tyres are staggered .

But if for some reason you only change two , then all the videos is youtube will advise you to put new ones at the REAR , irrespective of whether your car is FWD , RWD or AWD . This is for reasons of traction during slippery condition and safety.

However , in our local context , since the majority of our cars here are FWD , tyre shops will always recommend to put the new ones at the front as the front tends to wear out much faster ; hence you have a more even wear rate . 

Conclusion : Put new ones at the front if your ride is FWD , and you want even wear rate of your tyres.

Put new ones at the rear  if you want better stability during slippery conditions.

Case closed ? 

maybe it may not be that applicable in our land.

I actually got confused by reading all the tyre makers' finding:

Michelin North America - ALWAYS on the rear.

http://www.michelinman.com/US/en/saf...ing-tires.html

Tirerack, largest web tire seller also says rear.

https://www.tirerack.com/wheels/tech....jsp?techid=52

Kumho says on the rear as well, with explanation

http://kumhotyre.co.uk/kumho-news/sh...front-or-rear/

May I ask,

saw on line a test tested by Michelin tire company , is better/safer to place the  new tire behind .

but do remember they are some constrain like staggered size , old mindset , cost more money, 2 old tire has irregular wear cant place in front etc 

So best replace all 4 tire instead of 2 or 1 or 3

  On 5/18/2017 at 5:54 AM, Fcw75 said:

Always put new tyres at the rear. 

any reason for so?

how do you find it?

just curious.

  On 5/18/2017 at 6:17 AM, Kurty said:

any reason for so?

how do you find it?

just curious.

You posted so many links leh.  [laugh]

For me, it's because if the rear tyres lose grip in wet weather, it is more jialat than the front tyres losing grip as your car will fish tail. 

If front tyres lose grip, you still can control your car. 

Just my opinion, if anyone think it's wrong please correct me. 

Edited by Fcw75

  On 5/18/2017 at 6:21 AM, Fcw75 said:

You posted so many links leh.  [laugh]

For me, it's because if the rear tyres lose grip in wet weather, it is more jialat than the front tyres losing grip as your car will fish tail. 

If front tyres lose grip, you still can control your car. 

Just my opinion, if anyone think it's wrong please correct me. 

curious, when something caught my attention.

I will attempt to know the truth.

personally, I felt it is a good knowledge and piece of information to share.

cited from kumho's comment which I quite agrees:

"As for front wheel drive cars, I think you are totally wrong! You totally focus on turning through corners at too high a speed. In everyday motoring, how common is this?

When accelerating with a front wheel drive, where is the grip required? When braking, especially in an emergency, where is the grip required for either front or rear wheel drive cars required? I’ll help you, the front wheels!

In everyday normal driving, the grip is required essentially for reduced stopping distances. In slippery conditions it’s more common to lose grip when setting off or accelerating.

The rear wheel grip that you talk about is more commonly required for the race track!"

hence, new tyres on the rear may not applies in our local context.

Everytime when I change tyre, the workshop will place the new tyres in front rather than the rear.

They ought to know better than me.

*unless they wanna sabo me ..* [laugh]

  On 5/18/2017 at 6:54 AM, Kurty said:

Everytime when I change tyre, the workshop will place the new tyres in front rather than the rear.

They ought to know better than me.

*unless they wanna sabo me ..* [laugh]

Does this apply even if you are replacing the 2 rear tyres?

Else, the shop is simply too lazy to do 4 tyres of work  :XD:

If I had an option I think I would prefer understeer to oversteer, so I will say rear tyres.

  On 5/18/2017 at 12:21 PM, flashbang said:

Does this apply even if you are replacing the 2 rear tyres?

Else, the shop is simply too lazy to do 4 tyres of work  :XD:

ermm, I never replace my rear tyres before..

you mean they need to be replaced? [:p]

I always transfer the front to the rear

why no one say put the pair of new tires on one side? either left or right.

it will probably creates another new topic I guess, discussing which side is safer.

or

diagonal, front right and rear left better or front left and rear right better?

Edited by Phang