Jho0001 Neutral Newbie May 4, 2007 Share May 4, 2007 Hi, Has anyone imported HU/ICE equipment from the U.S? I'm thinking of ordering online as the unit I'm after is considerably cheaper over there. Is there any difference in wiring etc between US Toyota cars and Singapore cars? Advice appreciated. Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic May 4, 2007 Share May 4, 2007 I ordered online from Amazon, but handcarry it back. Amps and speakers have no problem as they are the same electrically. I heard HU must offset for radio tuning, but I'm not sure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched May 4, 2007 Share May 4, 2007 ICE from US is fine. However, their HU are all US standard so the radio frequencies are only for ODD numbers and no EVEN numbers so in SG, alot of stations like Class95 and Power98 won't work. Other than that, everything else is the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jho0001 Neutral Newbie May 4, 2007 Author Share May 4, 2007 Is there no way I can get Class 95 or Power 98 to work? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear May 4, 2007 Share May 4, 2007 hahhaa i kena same thing as u. but i don listen radio so nmind. no way man. haha. anywsay. here's a warning if ur carrying back from the US. if its popular brands like Rockford and wat. hope there is nothin wrong as the local agent will not be very 'pleased' to help u fixed and u will end up paying more. for example, pioneer charges 3 times the rate for repairing sets that are not from them. if ur bringing in some exotic brand which is not avaliable in singapore, then hope u have some sort of back up from the manufacturer, or else if anything goes wrong, u heart pain. just my 2 cents. personally, my stuff mostly not avaliable locally, got from the US, but i've got backing from manufacturer, so not much issue. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clarence07 Neutral Newbie May 4, 2007 Share May 4, 2007 hey bro I agree. I guess we have to weigh the risks and rewards of importing directly from another country. Was reading the Crimestopper Thread earlier and it seemed some of them had some bad experiences too. As for radio, I guess can listen using HandPhone or mini receiver if the person is really 'hardcore' for Class 95 and Power 98. But then, what is the original objective for getting HU from USA? A value for money HU which can produce good SQ or having the relevant radio stations ? My 2 cents Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear May 4, 2007 Share May 4, 2007 haha.. true true.. u get good HU to listen to good CD so that can have good SQ. everytime my gf sit my car, die die want to listen radio, say my cd suxs. knn, next time i tell her i disc connect the dam antenna wire or get some weird export set from overseas that die die cannot receive sg radio.. hahahahaha bro, i see ur setup, i steam liao lor.. hahaha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clarence07 Neutral Newbie May 4, 2007 Share May 4, 2007 Hi bro, My wifey also loves radio and hates my CD. But luckily (or unlikely ?)mine is local set. Mai anyhow steam.. Just hope your input can help the thread starter to decide. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jho0001 Neutral Newbie May 4, 2007 Author Share May 4, 2007 Thanks for the input! Well, I've ordered a Toyota and the HU is like s$2.8k ...it's and Eclipse AVX5000 but I've found it on the net for s$1.6k but they only deliver in the states, which aint a problem as I have a friend there who can ship it over. So the only downside is warranty and radio frequency but convertor can be bought for that? Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched May 4, 2007 Share May 4, 2007 steam go pcc lah, knn.... actually your gf is rite, your cd SUXS! BIG TIME!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched May 4, 2007 Share May 4, 2007 there are convertors for JDM radio sets but guess you hv to check if there are any for US sets. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...