Wt_know Supersonic April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 56 minutes ago, Kopites said: Spore to Genting it is only 400km plus distance. Full tank can surely get you from home to Genting back to seremban at least? On the hill top there is a service station with tyre repair. Get it check if there is a need. Never tried so don't know the pricing. Rest stop. Hmmm with son we will stop every hour for a toilet break. I will choose those with service station/fork and spoon. if EV climb mountain 1/2 way cui liao if got massive traffic jam … LOL ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 17 hours ago, Cosmicclaw said: When driving on Malaysian highways, my advice is don't wait your tank is near empty before you top up. I tried that once and was along the NS Highway when I saw on GPS there was a petrol station not too far away. Indeed there was a station there but it was Closed 🤯. I had to drive carefully and nervously for the next 40 km or so before I saw an operating petrol station Yeah don't play it too close... last time I also did the same driving my friend's Jazz... the needle hit the last mark on the gauge but the next 3 petrol kiosks along the highway all got no petrol... and sometimes only got RON95 which we cannot pump and so you have drive until you find a station with RON97... Very stressful one... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 (edited) can always take a quick pitstop pee break and pump petrol msia is the best liao … the petrol pump price is FIXED from JB to Penang unlike AMDK country even OZ every pump station price differ and sekali kena higher price when you need to pump Edited April 10, 2022 by Wt_know 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 14 minutes ago, Wt_know said: can always take a quick pitstop pee break and pump petrol msia is the best liao … the petrol pump price is FIXED from JB to Penang unlike AMDK country even OZ every pump station price differ and sekali kena higher price when you need to pump Diff time diff price 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 2 hours ago, inlinesix said: Diff time diff price Unless the pricing very volatile or your holiday in Malaysia very long, would the price move that much? In Ringgit, still ok right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 Just now, teomingern said: Unless the pricing very volatile or your holiday in Malaysia very long, would the price move that much? In Ringgit, still ok right? What I meant in AMDKLand. Malaysia Petrol price is revised once a week 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 (edited) 8 minutes ago, teomingern said: Unless the pricing very volatile or your holiday in Malaysia very long, would the price move that much? In Ringgit, still ok right? what he meant is AMDK land la .... in msia ... from jb to melaka petrol station (same price) ... melaka to kl (same price) ... kl to ipoh (same price) no matter it's a big city, town or kampong ... same price in OZ ... let's say Perth, Sydney and Melbourne ... different town different price .... same province also many different price liao Edited April 10, 2022 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 5 hours ago, Wt_know said: what he meant is AMDK land la .... in msia ... from jb to melaka petrol station (same price) ... melaka to kl (same price) ... kl to ipoh (same price) no matter it's a big city, town or kampong ... same price in OZ ... let's say Perth, Sydney and Melbourne ... different town different price .... same province also many different price liao Oooo... I see... yes yes... I found that out the really hard way too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 5 hours ago, inlinesix said: What I meant in AMDKLand. Malaysia Petrol price is revised once a week Oh I didn't know Malaysian petrol price is revised once a week... does Singapore petrol price get revised so frequently? Or is once a week considered frequent? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 17 minutes ago, teomingern said: Oh I didn't know Malaysian petrol price is revised once a week... does Singapore petrol price get revised so frequently? Or is once a week considered frequent? It is revised based on oil price just like here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 On 4/9/2022 at 5:32 PM, Cosmicclaw said: When driving on Malaysian highways, my advice is don't wait your tank is near empty before you top up. I tried that once and was along the NS Highway when I saw on GPS there was a petrol station not too far away. Indeed there was a station there but it was Closed 🤯. I had to drive carefully and nervously for the next 40 km or so before I saw an operating petrol station Some years ago I was in this situation. I drive a diesel but can only use Euro 5. The station up there was only Euro 2 😅 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 On 4/9/2022 at 8:19 AM, kwongmengfoo said: I am planning a road trip to Genting Highlands - KL then back to SG in end May. As this is my 1st drive to Genting/KL, just want to ask for advise on the followings: a) Is google maps or WAZE good enough for navigation to Genting/KL? b) What's the recommended rest stops area to Genting and back? c) Is there any recommended petrol kiosks just before i drive up to Genting? d) I have already installed my VEP tag 3 years ago, is there anything i need to take note? Just download the TouchnGo App and does it mean that I can drive and it will auto-deduct the fees? How much will it costs to go to Genting? e) Anyone got any recommended breakdown services for tyre puncture/battery/etc along the trip that I can call if i need help? Thanks! Waze will bring you there. JB - breakfast. Melaka R&R - kopi break KL or Klang - lunch I usually stop and eat every 2 hours if not in hurry. Otherwise just cheong to KL straight for late breakfast or lunch. You can buy petrol at Genting highlands but just pump at KL before heading up. For toll payment, make sure you find the RFID toll lane. https://www.malaymail.com/amp/news/malaysia/2022/01/13/plus-all-toll-plazas-along-north-south-expressway-to-get-rfid-lanes-startin/2034856 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 On 4/9/2022 at 12:58 PM, inlinesix said: b) I usually stop every 2 hours. Even just for 5 minutes toilet break. Along NSH, i recommend following R&R: https://goo.gl/maps/YiNPZgat4bs1pZjv6 https://goo.gl/maps/giJsdAfVDfRAH54s9 Yah i recommend ayer keroh too. Just nice the location is halfway to KL/Genting also can consider machap r&r 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 On 4/9/2022 at 8:19 AM, kwongmengfoo said: I am planning a road trip to Genting Highlands - KL then back to SG in end May. As this is my 1st drive to Genting/KL, just want to ask for advise on the followings: a) Is google maps or WAZE good enough for navigation to Genting/KL? b) What's the recommended rest stops area to Genting and back? c) Is there any recommended petrol kiosks just before i drive up to Genting? d) I have already installed my VEP tag 3 years ago, is there anything i need to take note? Just download the TouchnGo App and does it mean that I can drive and it will auto-deduct the fees? How much will it costs to go to Genting? e) Anyone got any recommended breakdown services for tyre puncture/battery/etc along the trip that I can call if i need help? Thanks! Actually i go KL/Genting will stop once for pee or small meal most important if u feel tired just go for a 5-10 mins break in R&R. Do some stretching and drink some coffee. Get other drivers to replace If you feel sleepy. If don’t have other driver, get ur passenger to keep talking to u. If no feel tired, just stop at larger R&R like ayer keroh or machap. I personally feel more safe in those R&R compared to ulu R&R and waze work the best 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 8 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said: Yah i recommend ayer keroh too. Just nice the location is halfway to KL/Genting also can consider machap r&r I will skip Machap R&R. Go to Yong Peng for fishball noodles 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 10, 2022 Share April 10, 2022 7 hours ago, Wt_know said: what he meant is AMDK land la .... in msia ... from jb to melaka petrol station (same price) ... melaka to kl (same price) ... kl to ipoh (same price) no matter it's a big city, town or kampong ... same price in OZ ... let's say Perth, Sydney and Melbourne ... different town different price .... same province also many different price liao Very simple for them. Just pump in town or straight after getting your car. Always cheapest in the city. No doubt. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear April 12, 2022 Share April 12, 2022 On 4/10/2022 at 9:17 PM, Solar said: Some years ago I was in this situation. I drive a diesel but can only use Euro 5. The station up there was only Euro 2 😅 My mechanic told me if in a bind just pump a bit... won't kill the engine... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stewart_ng Neutral Newbie April 12, 2022 Share April 12, 2022 Just sharing my experience. I will normally stop at the A&W restaurant after Malacca town which is about halfway of the journey, have a small toilet break, get a small bite then proceed northward. After exiting the Sungei Besi toll, get your car fuel up and be prepared to cheong uphill. You will find many makan place at Gohtong Jaya before reaching the hill top. The zhi char stalls there is quite decent and price wise also affordable. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...