Remember to change aircon filter regularly

Garlic

i wash my air con filter, no soaking just use tap water run through and the dirt all wash off and dry it next [laugh] surprisingly still as good...its been 1 yr liao with same filter [:p]

Edited by Hulk

i wash my air con filter, no soaking just use tap water run through and the dirt all wash off and dry it next [laugh] surprisingly still as good...its been 1 yr liao with same filter [:p]

Doing your part to save the environment [thumbsup] .

I thought of doing that but afraid that once washed, the filtering capability would be reduced especially so for those carbo type.

Regards,

You have to decide whether you wanna spend S$15 to S$20 per pc and change at every 10,000km plus or would you rather spend S$40 to $50 to change the filter at every 10,000km or 20,000km?

A expensive filter does not mean it will last longer. Still need to change every 10,000km to 13,000km.

I would rather change the ac filter at every 10,000km to 13,000 km. Nothing beats a regular pc of clean filter at regular interval change.

thats wat i thought of too.coz my friend keep saying that with the better filtration of the Hepa aircon filter,i will reduce the cost of aircon maintainance in long run...as the aircon filter prevent the dust, and ther particles from going thru to the cooling coil way better than using the normal $15 filter. theoretically,its quite right..but feel like waste of money to be forking out something extra which lasts the same as the cheap normal one.

Nah...Too many things already. Gauges....Then I want GPS....Plus ioniser.....Too much on the dashboard.... [dizzy]

============

Ioniser I plug into ciggy lighter socket. Very small size now. Dont take up much space & very inconspicuous.

Keeps the air fresh. Especially good for long drives. U wont feel sleepy.

Apparently,during my first meeting with him, he changed my aircon filter at his place in Teck Whye.

No additional charges were incurred.

===========

If u going to get the AC filter from him, can u pick up 1 for my Optra also?

As long as price is <$15 sud b fine. Maybe I need to change mine already.

ac filters are not like food

no expiry date

the filters are sealed and locked in clear plastic bag, with a carton box.

u keep for 10 years also no issue, as long as u dont remove the packaging

hmm...

bro

take one expensive hepa, take one cheap one

use for 10,000km for both filters

at 10,000km, when its time to change...ask ur fren

do u want to change to a new cheap affordable one and let the air circulate thru the ac filter (ur change will cost u maybe, 15$)

or

do u want to change to a hepa one costing $40 over to $50 per pc?

ur fren might NOT even want to change to a new pc. His thinking might be,

this hepa grade one, so good filtration, still can tahan for another 10,000km...cos it costs almost 50$, so just close one eye and use lah

by the time the filter is choked with dirt, then he may change to a new pc (another $40 to $50 gone)...say, at 30,000km

he would have spend $40 to $50 on one change of ac filter

u would have spend $45 on 3 changes of ac filters....

then during this time when the ac filter is filled up with more dirt, lesser air flow passes thru the filter, the cabin should not be as cooled as when u changed to a new pc of ac filter, so what does the driver do?

increase fan speed to next level, speed 2 at 10,000km usage....

then when reaches 20,000 km usage, what does he do again when the filter becomes more choked?

increase speed to level 3 at 30,000km usage

he is just working the nuts out of the air con compresser and air con blower...

more wear and tear at the expenses of a S$15.00...

when the compressor fails, it dont cost u S$15, it dont cost u $150,

the repair costs falls in the region of 500$ to 1000$...

no joke leh...

there is a saying,

prevention is always better than cure...

another thing to note :

air always recirculate thru the used ac filter at 10,000km, 20,000km and 30,000km mileage before changing

u really think hepa filter can filter off so much dust? filter once choked, is considered choked..

not much ways to remove the dust and dirt..

u really think the recirculated air at 30,000km is fresher than air that recirculates thru a newly changed ac filter at every 10,000km?

think of the logics...

if u take out ur ac filter after 20,000km, u will notice there is a layer of dust and dirt forming on the filter

it means the pores of the filters are already filled up...no more space for the dust and dirt to be trapped already, which is why it is choked

then only way to push in more air flow is by increasing the fan speed...

u are just working the compressor and blower harder, more rpm means more wear and tear..

its a logical thing

if the filter pores still got allowance to trap more dirt and dust, they would be inside the filter already, and not forming a layer of dust on top of the dirty filter.....

think about it..

Edited by Byond

huh?

ur filter will not stink?

u sure?

yes very sure, no stink occurred. But 1 year already, time to change a new one also ^_^

Edited by Hulk

ac filter are a BATA thing

buy and throw away

unlike engine filters which can last u a life time lol

NOT recommended to wash...

the pores of the filters are filled up already

how to wash?

mine already 32k haven't change once

omg, like tat mine nearing 50k oso haven change before confirm charcoal color liao...

ac filters are not like food

no expiry date

the filters are sealed and locked in clear plastic bag, with a carton box.

u keep for 10 years also no issue, as long as u dont remove the packaging

Thx fi=or the info

Best combination, Carbon Cabin filter plus ioniser !

Don't ever use those perfume staff.

Edited by GoodCar

============

Ioniser I plug into ciggy lighter socket. Very small size now. Dont take up much space & very inconspicuous.

Keeps the air fresh. Especially good for long drives. U wont feel sleepy.

Need to repair my siggy socket. Shorted.....

Anyway, I just go for the primitive aircon filter for the moment.