Alleycat Neutral Newbie April 30, 2003 Share April 30, 2003 my new car got dented and scratched cos my wife bang the car into the pillar in the car park. I went cycle and carriage for the repair. didn't claim insurance. didn't went other workshop cos if i do that, warranty might be void. the dent is abt 2 fist big. The scratched park about one palm size. paint came off. Cycle and carriage quote me abt $700 bukcs for the repair. I LPPL agreeded although i know i confirm kanna KA CHA TAO. But inorder to prevent my warranty void for my 1 mth old car i go on with the repair. AM I STOOPID???? Or there should be a better solution??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sins Neutral Newbie April 30, 2003 Share April 30, 2003 If it involves a whole new body panel and respray, then $700-00 sounds fair. If it is a bang and respray job, you will of course be able to do it cheaper than $700.00. But even then, for a few hundreds more at $700-00, you are buying a peace of mind with the continued warranty. Imagine if later you indeed have a problem with the car (touch wood) and send to the agent who discovers that car had body work repairs, they may say that the accident caused the problem because it was not properly repaired by the outside workshop. Then how? As things are, you have no worries. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dome Neutral Newbie April 30, 2003 Share April 30, 2003 For that kind of repair, $700 is a bit too much my friend Well... Car Agents always try to use the word "Warranty Void" to threaten car owners. If you really think about it, "Sparying & panel beating" on metal panels won't harm your engine rite?? The only thing they can void is not to hold responsibility for paint peeling off from the same metal panel that you repaired from an outside workshop. In which case, you could have gone back to this outside workshop and ask for a respray. Most outside workshop give warranty for up to 12mths for this kind of job (depend on case by case basis), and best of all , they will be able to quote you at a lower price. Cheers, "Live life to the Max." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alleycat Neutral Newbie April 30, 2003 Author Share April 30, 2003 ya. i know. with that type of damage... maybe $200 can done all liao..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie April 30, 2003 Share April 30, 2003 Anyway, you have agreed to it so let it be and move on.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie May 1, 2003 Share May 1, 2003 you are right that 200 can salvage the damage......and they may not know abt the repairs since its cosmetics.......but then, you agree liao so forget it lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie May 1, 2003 Share May 1, 2003 SIDETRACK : Wrong avatar lah....yours should be black mollester Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dome Neutral Newbie May 1, 2003 Share May 1, 2003 I agreed with the rest of the bros ... since the repair have been done, then let it be. We just have to move on... Cheers, "Live life to the Max." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie May 1, 2003 Share May 1, 2003 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sins Neutral Newbie May 1, 2003 Share May 1, 2003 Haven't got it yet leh. Earliest will be mid May. I will then take picture and change my avatar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie May 1, 2003 Share May 1, 2003 coming for our meetup tomorrow? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wahlao Neutral Newbie May 1, 2003 Share May 1, 2003 my new car got dented and scratched cos my wife bang the car into the pillar in the car park... sorry to side track a bit but maybe you should help your wifey to orientate & familiarise herself with parking the new car the parking lots in MSCP nowadays are so damn narrow even I myself find it a challenge to park there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sins Neutral Newbie May 2, 2003 Share May 2, 2003 Sorry just came back home and very tired. Next week perhaps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Virus 2nd Gear May 3, 2003 Share May 3, 2003 the parking lots in MSCP nowadays are so damn narrow even I myself find it a challenge to park there You should try MSCP at Punggol 21, you'll love it. Very spacious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wahlao Neutral Newbie May 3, 2003 Share May 3, 2003 which ones in particular? Punggol Field Rd? I know a lot of those MSCP even got roof garden!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alleycat Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Author Share May 4, 2003 i get the car back already. Now my question is: should i send the car for respray of tuff kote????????????????? As i read from the insurance slip or recepit by tuff kote, i can go free respray after bang or dent. etc. and should do it promptly after dent or accident. the dent is 2 fist big plus some scratches. Anyway, where does tuff kote applied to? surface of the metal? or issit applied only under the carriage??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ricky_doodle 4th Gear May 4, 2003 Share May 4, 2003 Haven't got it yet leh. Earliest will be mid May. I will then take picture and change my avatar Oh...so it's confirmed that you'll be getting the Forrester after all? Rick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sins Neutral Newbie May 4, 2003 Share May 4, 2003 Yes bro with black leather seats. The waiting is killing me! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...