My CNG conversion

Genie47

Queue getting longer at Jln Buroh. I've defected over there.

Genie47 bro

based on ur analysis,

will having more up and coming CNG stations create competitions and drive down the gas prices?

More like the other way around. Now LNG is selling at oil parity prices in Asia.... I tell you, the players just want people to believe that Nat gas will be cheaper... Once enough people switch over...

I think (not too sure) Singapore is buying gas from West Natuna at some previously fixed contract prices... When they renegotiate... You bet Pertamina will want more out of us...

BUT BUT BUT, I still think it's good for the world that more drivers switch over to CNG, so that will lower the demand of Crude, and then bring down prices of Nat gas as well...

That's what the Saudis fear most IMO...

Word of advice to potential users calculating whether to swtich over to CNG or not... Use a higher long term CNG price to get your IRR... sigh... what a world we live in...:(

For me, it's LL. Mandai nearer to where we normally go. Jln buroh really out of the way leh unless I go IMM. Recently my bro renovating this place, so he kept going to IMM....but the pump pressure really lower.

Understand ..... well I have already plan for future transportation. in 5 years time I will fall back to motorbike again from where I started 10 years ago. Adjust anyway kid is growing up liao ... so car is just a luxury item. first I ROI what I can and seems to be in Jln buroh for me no doubt lower. The time wasted is what I cannot recover!

your kids how big? For me, my kids still young. Very hard to move around without car from the place I stay.

Luckily I didn't buy a van. Thought it was also the way to go with petrol prices rising. Diesel prices also went up....infact faster than petrol.

I drove a diesel Renault Kangoo for 2 years. I think that car's mileage is reasonably ok. 1L diesel gives about 17-18KM. So it's probably about 50% better than petrol cars?

With diesel price about the same price as petrol....the savings in diesel cars is no longer that attractive.

Furthermore, with a diesel car, the maintenance cost is higher. And you can't drive to msia to service (without legally obtaining permit).

There might be a day whereby the price of CNG is the same as petrol.

Based on the same quantity of fuel, CNG vs petrol, of course CNG is much cheaper. At the rate that the price of CNG is being increase, it is no longer a cheap alternative. Moreover you must went thru the hassle to convert, pump CNG more frequently.

Of course, feeling very buay song. The company profiting on the situation. Moreover that station still requires to use credit to pump. [smash]

Ya lor. But how come jln buroh also pay cash only? there must be a reason unknown to us why they haven't got the NETS or credit card facility up.....

From what i see that at Jln Buroh, the CNG dispenser is link to a separate Point Of Sales (POS) system. SembGas and SPC are seperate entities, and the existing NETS and CC facilities are originally meant for SPC fuel sales. Unless SembGas can implement new NETS and CC facilities to the separate POS or work out with SPC on how to account for the transactions if using the existing NETS and CC facilities. Moreover cost are involved to implement new NETS and CC facilities, merchant charges will be incur as well.

Anyway so far i am quite ok to pump CNG at Jln Buroh using cash, but maybe they can look into implementing ATM facilities at the station.

Just my 2 cents worth.

1. 40% OMV rebate for new car registered as CNG. Road tax same.

2. say 1 typical full tank = can put 10kg of gas... 1 kg about 1.1litres of petrol (energy equivalence). so based on ur current petrol per litre consumption, u multiply by 1.1 then multiply by 10. that is the mileage for a CNG full tank. Expect 160 - 180km

3. Yes. But u have to pay for labor. And btw.. CNG tank only recommended for 5 years after which u have to go for overhaul/servicing.

Sorry, must make correction to the above post. Point 3 is wrong. The question was:

3. Is the CNG tank transferable? Meaning that if i buy a CNG car and sold it later, can i take out the CNG tank and install it into my new car?

Now the correct answer: The CNG cyliinder is NOT transferrable. You must apply to LTA to request a transfer and seek their approval. CNG cylinder has a warranty for 20 (!) years. Every 5 years it needs to be re-tested. You only have to repalce it if there is a defect or after 20 years.

One more thing guys.

Recently some pictures did the email rounds with an CNG station explosion where a guys hands were blown off. A bit of information on this.

This explosion happened in Brasil a few years ago. The driver had his approved kit installed, but wanted more mileage and added an illegal 2nd cylidner which was untested.

When you look at the pictures, you will see people holding a split cylinder and another pciture where a undamaged cylidner in lying in the boot. I am not posting the pictures here since I don't want people to spread useless rumours.

Just for those that have seen the pictures, you know what is going on.

A final note. Because of these "untested" and "illegal" cylinders it is imperative that you make sure what you are installing in your car. Most reputable cylinder manufacturers have certificates bearing the serial number of their installed cylidners endorsed by third partied. Your installation workshop should have a copy of this. If not, insist on it. If you are planning on converting your car and the installer cannot show you the certificate with your car's serial number on there, don't convert.

This is one of the reasons why LTA does not allow local cars to be converted in Malaysia. Many cylidners used there are from India and China. Some are ok, but others don't have the certificates necessary.

Your petrol tank nowadays are made of plastic. If that is damaged it will spill to the ground - also quite dangerous.

CNG steel cylinders are very robust and even in an event of the lines being broken, they have automatic shut off valves on them and should something like a leak occur, it will either burn in a controlled manner or, without any flames will very quickly vent to the atmosphere since it is lighter than air.

Oh and one more point: Mazda RX8 cannot convert - even with the seq kit.

any idea why rx8 cannot ah

Starting from 14 July 0700hrs, the CNG price at Mandai is going up to $1.73. However, price at Jln Buroh remains at $1.35. Argh.........

Edited by Stog95