Jwho Neutral Newbie December 29, 2007 Share December 29, 2007 hi, I do agree that the decision I made about selling my car based on 3 and 5 years milestone is based on the current system. I am not after the rebate for CNG as it is really not much of a rebate at all. I am more worried about the resale of my ride should I convert it to CNG. Can anyone enlighten my on these doubts and worries I have: 1. When I sell my car and there is no demand for CNG car, my only option is to scrape my car and get the paper value + scrape body value? 2. For what I know, once we convert to CNG, there is no way we can do the reversal and dekit and convert car back to normal passenger car. so if there are not export market for CNG cars then, I will go back to scrap yard? 3. If there is resale market for CNG car, when we sell the car, most prob we will have to sell at market price for normal car plus rebate of the CNG rebate we got? Still waiting for good news from PI and CNG itself..... left with a week before I make the final decision. thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched December 29, 2007 Share December 29, 2007 Are you driving an Optra sedan or Estate? Interested to do the conversion, but read somewhere that the biggest tank you could put in was 65L? hey genie I am hitting 255km on full tank of gas .... but sad i am replacing my thermostat housing on my own it has ROI.... leaking ... so chun man .... haiii then after fixing i will go and pump gas i ran out of gas liao.....ran on petrol for 1/4 i miss the pertol power .... zoom zoom ... LOL wasting $ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtrider_ak Neutral Newbie December 29, 2007 Share December 29, 2007 (edited) Sedan it is an Optra. The height is an issue in the boot .... Edited December 29, 2007 by Dirtrider_ak Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Age1298 Neutral Newbie December 29, 2007 Share December 29, 2007 Yo Bro, went for the inspection today and was told that only a 58L cylinder will fit in my ride. Anyway, was told that for EFI, several settings can be put in place. Most common is to Start on Gas, Run on Gas, Idle on Gas and only when Gas runs out, switch to petrol. However, understand that Genie47 has a different setting which Starts and Idles on Gas. Was wondering if this poses a problem on city traveling and at what Speed/RPM will the ECU switch from Gas to Petrol and vice versa? Anyone can advise? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtrider_ak Neutral Newbie December 30, 2007 Share December 30, 2007 Mine start on petrol then switch to gas when running until run out of gas or shutdown the engine then it will switch back to petrol. I guess this is default setting. I can maually start on gas in case of emergency. I do not have overheating problems on idling in fact mine runs cooler don't know why. I also cannot explain. Ok my tank is 66L it depends on the space you have. If the car model same as mine Chevy Optra then it should be the same. For me this setting is good for me because I dun want to keep petrol for more than 3 mths and burning it on startup is good to clear the injector and make sure it is working ...LOL petrol will age so a bit of using it is good to keep them fresh. I normally have 1/4 of petrol to keep the fuel pump soak to extend it's life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear December 30, 2007 Author Share December 30, 2007 (edited) My thermostat housing also BER. Replaced it with the aluminium one from RDY. Good thing I keep coolant at 50/50. The source of the leak is so obvious. The plastic housing CMI. Edited December 30, 2007 by Genie47 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear December 30, 2007 Author Share December 30, 2007 Dunno yet. Haven't renew insurance yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Double_delight Neutral Newbie December 30, 2007 Share December 30, 2007 Hi bro Will CNG conversion has different effects on manual and auto cars? If hesitation is felt on manual cars, then I suppose it will be worse for auto cars right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear December 30, 2007 Author Share December 30, 2007 It all boils down to tuning. Auto cars will be more smooth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtrider_ak Neutral Newbie December 30, 2007 Share December 30, 2007 Shucks I bought for $30 bucks sia and it is still plastic. GM is coming out with a aluminium one but no dates yet. I know what cause the failure .... the thermostat inside expanded and contract because it is metal the plastic cannot withstand and causes a hairline crack and driping on my power steering pump and I spoted it. I changed myself save $70 labour cost from SA ...LOL Actually I lazy to change but they as usual have to put there whoke day I told them nvm I DIY ... it turns out to be fun man .... EASY... as for coolant I am running the green stuff cheap and good ...LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtrider_ak Neutral Newbie December 30, 2007 Share December 30, 2007 insurance the same lahh I renewed it ... no diff it is based on the OMV mahh or how much you owe the bank ...LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Double_delight Neutral Newbie December 30, 2007 Share December 30, 2007 You mentioned that you regapped your plugs for the cng conversion. Does it affect the performance of the car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtrider_ak Neutral Newbie December 30, 2007 Share December 30, 2007 I regapped smaller on my irridiums. Nothing much more stable idle ... I gap too wide the idle hop ard ... I got vaccum gauge so I know the ecu is adjusting to get it idle up and down.... dun ask me y only my findings .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched December 30, 2007 Share December 30, 2007 Just curious, do you need to inform your insurer that you have converted to CNG? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtrider_ak Neutral Newbie December 30, 2007 Share December 30, 2007 (edited) I did they say whats that ...LOL I din bother liao I am in a hurry got to work you know. anyway I think it is not relevant. If you change your seat need to inform insurance? Makes no sense.... so dun bother as long LTA is in charge shld be ok. Edited December 30, 2007 by Dirtrider_ak Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luvknowmore Neutral Newbie December 30, 2007 Share December 30, 2007 Hi Genie47, I am interested in the CNG conversion. I am driving Kia Carens II, which is well known for high petrol consumption. My FC is about 6.5 - 7 l/km. Need your advice whether I should go for the conversion, and do you think Caren has enough space for the tank. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steady Neutral Newbie December 30, 2007 Share December 30, 2007 Hi all. Is melcher the only company that does conversion? I heard that scantruck (or something) also does it. Anyone knows the price difference, or technology difference? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 31, 2007 Share December 31, 2007 erh, no one selling doesn't mean resale prices is high hor.....resale price is effectively a function or demand and supply....but i do agree if petrol prices climb it may trigger a higher demand to offset the worry/suspicion of people on non-mainstream cars. u think KM is interested in protecting customers? i don't think so, the way they price their car is just how they react to market conditions to maximise their profits. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...