My CNG conversion

Genie47

no leh.. emailed twice over a span of a month, no respond..

called last week but got transferred. but nobody picked up the phone..

perhaps one day i just pop in and grab anyone and ask [laugh]

Where do we do the transfer of the kit? When I checked with the local shop, they said it must be "custom made". Cannot transplant. This is the main obstacle for me to get CNG right now as my current 323 only left 4yrs to go. 4yrs not sure can break even the cost or not. Furthermore future is uncertain with CNG yet.

1 other thing is, they also mentioned regarding a $2K CNG kit and a $3K CNG kit. Saying that the 2K one is for older car and performance is 30% worse.

Actually me thinking of going upnorth to do it leh. Actually over there, they got more experience than over here right.....

Look for Marc Das. If can find Gilbert, it would be alright too. With all the publicity, I think they are swamped by now. laugh.gif

Last time workshop and office very quiet. Now must be like stock market already.

The electronics can transfer. 4 cylinder kit must transfer to 4 cylinder car. You upgrade to IL6 or V6 confirm cannot do. Must buy new ones.

Best buy new car and install lor or get COE car. Confirm good enough. There is a Mr Loke whom I met driving SG registered B14 Sunny with mixer/fumigation kit. So far so good for him. Don't speed and don't race. Lives in JB.

No can do. Your installation must be approved by LTA. Go for inspection. STA or Vicom say OK, take paper to LTA and tell them to change the status to bifuel. Installer will change your vehicle's VITAS.

Because you will be asking for trouble. It is like kenna illegal mod. Ok lah, this mod you lose some power not like SC or TC but still illegal unapproved mod.

Hey I just tightened my engine mount ... the engine is vibrating when pick up man ... I took off the airfilter box and oh yeah it is loose .... wahh all DIY if not go workshop ketuk again ....LOL .... our chevy really need attention after 4th year ...

1. Thermostat housing

2. Engine mount ( tightening )

3. Gear shift skirt ( looks like it needs renewal soon ) worn (Next project)

Now need to keep an eye on

1. Coolant hoses

2. battery (now 9 mths old MF type)

3. clutch pad ... signs of wearing down.

4. Gear box oil level .... MT

5. Fuel regulator ( Looks like very used ) Monitoring

Hahaha next car will be an Aveo .... 6 years latter ... same concept easy to maintain and cheap ... Plus CNG certified .....LOL

Edited by Dirtrider_ak

Yo bro, thanks, i think i will go with the setting to start the car on petrol and thereafter run on gas. Think this combi should be good as i am afraid that in city driving with the frequent start stops, this might affect the performance of the veh in the long run.

By the way, my ride is a toyota picnic and was wondering if the servicing of the car will be an issue especially when the need arises to check the diagnostics of the car via the ECU. Any bros out there with contacts who can service a toyota picnic besides borneo?

Could i clarify that the process following the installation is

1. Send veh to vicom for inspection

2. Get veh registered as bifuel with LTA

3. No requirement to update insurance

Any other items that i should note?

Thanks a bunch.

My gear stick linkages came out of place just before Christmas. Like a flaccid penis after sex. Reverse gear become 1st, 1st become 3rd, 2nd become 4th and 5th uh is still 5th. Took 45 bucks to fix.

Gearbox fluid changed at 100k. Horn changed as well. Heavy rains destroyed it.

Edited by Genie47

I was told to wait for the letter to go for LTA inspection. All the paper works are taken care by the installer. Still waiting. I have renewed my insurance and roadtax .. no issues so far.

ECU like the same when running on CNG when I plug in to the OBD2. I have a ELIM OBD reader.

No s^it! You broke your stick! I tot our rev gear have to pull up the lever that also can go wrong ahh ... You call me sia .... I come help you with tools nia .... which is my hands .... LOL

Edited by Dirtrider_ak

But...isn't the msians more experienced in this field? Their CNG stations also so many more....

Sigh.

Oh btw, you mentioned "Mixer". Is this Mixer system the cheaper installation compared to the other one? According to cng.com they say the cheaper one will give 30% less power. But my question is, will it also use the CNG 30% slower? If so, then not much loss.

Edited by Kianbeng

There are a lot of hackshop CNG installers. Some people don't send their cars to Puspakom for inspection.

Mixer is like carburetor. Gas is mixed with the intake air and drawn into the combustion chamber.

The response is poorer. Needs a lot of fine tuning.

Ok so if I go for the SGI kit, I assume thats the more efficient way and will give better response.

But this SGI kit, is it also transferrable? As long as it's a 4 cylinder engine like what you said earlier?