Typhoon125 3rd Gear April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 I hope that one day a programme would be impremented to educate car drivers whom have never ridden a bike on how to respect bikers safety. Was knock down by a truck whom was in the left lane and me was on the right in a two lane road. Driver just turn right suddenly to enter a right building's carpark. Gave him a crash course on road safety and sent him off. Bikers are at the mercy of such drivers everyday, and I hope our Traffic pollice or government would help create a long term awareness policy on bikers safety. What suggestions do you have as I would like to share my ideas and yours with them. Just to give you an idea, the attached is the smallest road worthy bike in town now and it's gaining interest from bikers here..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chemz Clutched April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 ooh the ksr, single seater mini motard. hope you're doing okay now man, rest well. actually the only best way to educate drivers about the dangers bikers face is to make them ride, perhaps as pillion, to get a biker's POV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 (edited) I'm sorry to hear about your accident. There are errant motorists just as there are errant motorbikers. I've also been waiting for a thread like this (to air my grievances against bikers). Note that in all cases I am not talking about bikers as condemning the whole group, just those I am talking about. I am sure you are not condemning all motorists, just those who are careless. Motorbikers need to ride like they respect themselves as a road user. You get motorbikers weaving across the roads, you see them creating their own lanes, riding between cars in congested roads, at times, squeezing in between me and the stationary car in front. Some like to ride in a car's blind spot (simple rule of thumb, if you can see the driver's face in any of his mirrors, he can see you). Of course, there are drivers that change lanes without checking their mirrors. Some motorbikers wear dark clothing for riding at night, on bikes that have dirt crusting their lights so much so they're nearly invisible in the shadows. Is lane-straddling a Traffic Police accepted riding strategy for beating traffic jams? Is charging in between cars at 80kph while cars are stuck in a jam creeping at 50kph safe? Is pulling up in between two cars at the traffic light, and then wobbling as you move off a safe practice? If you wanted to make a U-turn, is it right to do it right as the traffic lights turn green, and try to squeeze out ahead of the oncoming traffic from across the road? The fact of the matter is, as far as I am concerned, I do not mind a motorbike taking up one whole lane with him riding in the middle. He respects himself as an entity on the road. I give him room and I would treat him like I would a car, bus, van or anything else. Those that try to take advantage of their size and do the aforementioned things I say, I have no respect for. I check my blind spot, simply because I don't want an accident breaking the flow of my day. Edited April 21, 2007 by Macrosszero Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 Hope you are orite bro. Yep, the KSR110 is a nice bike, saw it at Looi's Motor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 Frankly, I have seen TP bikes lane-straddling at traffic jams themselves...and no, the siren is not on. You are a good guy who dun mind motorcycle taking up 1 whole lane but there are a lot of car owners who would not hesitate to flash the bike in front or overtake them recklessly with juz a little clearance space. I am a biker and driver and I can vouch for that. I really feel scared riding sometimes here in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bieffe 2nd Gear April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 I also bike and drive. I also very scared. Well is a never ending story. Anyway give biker the benefit of the doubt. If car hit bike who have more to loose? I too ok with bike taking one lane. But he should siam once on the move so as not to irritate the driver behind. Also some of these ass....so near also squeeze. If genna my car...I will not settle for just a word of sorry. Squeeze nevermind if u end up miles ahead. But then this biker moves off even slower than me! Then squeeze for what! Is a mentality of these riders. I never do that. If i squeeze...i will also be 1st off. Too tight also don't sqeeze...once on the move most bikes can go way ahead. Actually I dunno why LTA don't allow bikers to use bus lane. After all they are small...will no block the buses I'm sure. Better than squeezing between cars. POOR cars stitting there waiting for the biker to hit ur car and test their skill. SOmetimes really bloody sxxt even i a biker. M'sia registered even worst. Maybe for them live is cheap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 another ex-biker here. agree that some drivers dun show emphathy to bikers cuz they dun know the hazards that we're facing. however there're some jialat bikers out there too. just praying for their safety. rest well and be safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smurfy76 Neutral Newbie April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 You are a good guy who dun mind motorcycle taking up 1 whole lane but there are a lot of car owners who would not hesitate to flash the bike in front or overtake them recklessly with juz a little clearance space. I am a biker and driver and I can vouch for that. I really feel scared riding sometimes here in Singapore. Yalor... me ride n drive too.. alot of cars prohibit me to occupy a lane too... and Im actually riding a Class 2 bike, let alone to say for those small scooters.. As a thumb of rule for bikers is "Defensive riding". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 take one lane ok, cos they pay road tax too. but don't hog the lane can liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smurfy76 Neutral Newbie April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 but most car take the opportunity to change lane when they see bike taking one lane.. happen alot of time liao... so im back to the bike culture of travel in between lanes and I think it work well compare to me trying to be the "special one" riding in a lane... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ls430 Clutched April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 I hope that one day a programme would be impremented to educate car drivers whom have never ridden a bike on how to respect bikers safety. Was knock down by a truck whom was in the left lane and me was on the right in a two lane road. Driver just turn right suddenly to enter a right building's carpark. Gave him a crash course on road safety and sent him off. Bikers are at the mercy of such drivers everyday, and I hope our Traffic pollice or government would help create a long term awareness policy on bikers safety. What suggestions do you have as I would like to share my ideas and yours with them. Just to give you an idea, the attached is the smallest road worthy bike in town now and it's gaining interest from bikers here..... my believe it that we have to respect ALL types of the vehicleon the road it goes both ways i had a bad accident in JB when a honda cub came out from the plantation ... i had to hard brake and some car with multiple colours (welded) kiss my arse and I had a $4000 repair bill the joker behind got no insurance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 i believe there are signs on the expressways which says "Motorcycles and slow moving traffic keep left" but then, i still see bikes hogging the 1st lane at 80-90kmh.. worse is those travelling at the same speed with cars, in the middle of 2 lanes..gives us very diff life..coz we dunno whether to overtake or not..scared overtake suddenly the bike swerve into our lane.. c'mon lah, wanna ride on the 1st/2nd lane..please do so in the middle of the lane..and don't hog the lane.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 I agree with you. I sometimes don't really know if the bike is riding in my lane of the other lane. That apply to TP too. I also don't mind the bike take 1 lane. But I guess it's easier said than done. Likewise, I don't think most car drivers will give the bike a lane and treat it like a car eg. give enough room, don't force them out of the lane, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 You are right, Defensive Riding is the keyword. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 sorry to hear about your accident, hope that you are well. i dont feel any problem is a bike is taking up a lane when moving, however not road hogging as many have mentioned. in fact, riding in between lanes cause more problems to cars as drivers will not know how to overtake in such situations. earlier, i encounter a biker riding on my lane ( lane 1) but nearing the line to lane 2. he was hogging the road and tapping on the brakes occasionally when there is no traffic ahead of him. on lane 2, there was a matrix just beside me and the driver is also worried whether to move up after seeing the biker's strange reaction. in the end, the matrix fall back and i have to over take from the left... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear April 21, 2007 Share April 21, 2007 IMHO, has it occurred to you that maybe the truck driver didn't see you for whatever reasons? Your bike varying speed and position might be such that it is not possible for the truck driver to see you? Of course it could be the truck driver's fault but I don't think he/she wants the complications involved knocking down a biker. Not sure whether you have been in a truck or van before.. would suggest you do so. Probably you can find out what really happened on that day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhyone 4th Gear April 22, 2007 Share April 22, 2007 (edited) but most car take the opportunity to change lane when they see bike taking one lane.. happen alot of time liao... so im back to the bike culture of travel in between lanes That's an invalid excuse. I ride in the middle of the lane all the time and only a handful of cars change lane dangerously in my two years experience. Edited April 22, 2007 by nhyone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 22, 2007 Share April 22, 2007 The fact of the matter is, as far as I am concerned, I do not mind a motorbike taking up one whole lane with him riding in the middle. He respects himself as an entity on the road. I give him room and I would treat him like I would a car, bus, van or anything else. Those that try to take advantage of their size and do the aforementioned things I say, I have no respect for. I check my blind spot, simply because I don't want an accident breaking the flow of my day. 1. Same here, I will take the whole lane and the 3rd lane. That is because I'm a causal rider. For someone who is rushing like mad dog, try asking them to do so. Some will tell you, they feels safer to ride in between lanes and stop right infront of traffic junction. 2. The problem here is there is no concrete laws to support your idea and even the TPs are doing that. So who is to blame? Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...